Film Screening Andreas Goldstein: The Communist

Andreas Goldstein: The Communist Andreas Goldstein: The Communist © A. Goldstein

Tue, 26.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Andreas Goldstein's deeply personal portrait of his father Klaus Gysi, a high-ranking GDR political functionary is a multi-layered reflection on the tension between political ideals and ideological opportunism and on the GDR’s ruling mechanisms and their failure.

Followed by conversation between Andreas Goldstein and historian and author Udo Grashoff, University College London.

Andreas Goldstein will also be at the Goethe-Institut for a Q&A following the screening of his film Adam & Evelyn the following day.
 

In this essayistic film, director Andreas Goldstein draws a complex portrait of his father Klaus Gysi (1912-1999), who was a high ranking functionary in the East German political system. A member of the German Communist Party (KPD) from 1931, he was active in oppositional activities against the Nazis from 1940 to1945 in Berlin, where he became a local mayor after the war and joined the SED (Socialist Unity Party of Germany). An eloquent, cultured intellectual with a bourgeois family background, he did not embody the typical party functionary, but in the following decades he rose up in the political hierarchy to hold a range of important positions, including that of director of the state-owned Aufbau Publishing House (1957-1966), of Cultural Minister (1966-1973), ambassador to Italy and Malta (1973-1978), and State Secretary of Church Affairs (1979-1988). Taking a decidedly subjective approach and employing a multi-layered montage of TV interviews with his father, family photos and newly filmed footage, Goldstein explores how political ideals, opportunism and self-deception played together in shaping of his father’s life. In doing so, he also explores how the GDR functioned and why it failed.
 
The Communist (Der Funktionär), Germany 2018, b/w & colour, DCP, 72 mins. With English subtitles. Directed by Andreas Goldstein. Script: Andreas Goldstein, Camera: Jakobine Motz, Editor: Chris Wright, Producers: Andreas Goldstein, Heino Deckert.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

Andreas Goldstein feature film Adam & Evelyn will be shown as part of our Goethe-Kino series “Love Divided” on Wednesday, 27 November. More information here.

Andreas Goldstein is a director and producer based in Berlin. After studying directing at the Film and Television Academy in Potsdam-Babelsberg "Konrad Wolf" (now: Film University Babelsberg) and being a master student at the Berlin Academy of Arts, he made several short films and worked as a production manager and producer. In 2008 he founded the production company Oktoberfilm together with director and producer Susanne Binninger. In addition, he has been writing film-theoretical and film-critical texts. His debut as feature film director Adam and Evelyn premiered at the International Film Festival in Venice in 2018, the same year his film The Communist (Der Funktionär) had its premiere at DOK Leipzig.

Udo Grashoff is DAAD Francis L. Carsten Lecturer at the History Department of the School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SSEES) at University College London, where he teaches modern German and Central European History. His work mostly covers 20th-century Germany with a focus on the history of the two German dictatorships and a special interest in taboo subjects. He examines resistance, opposition, political violence and individual agency in borderline situations. He has carried out pioneering research on suicide in the GDR, informal housing (Schwarzwohnen), and 'betrayal' within the Communist Party of Germany. He has also published two collections of his own poetry. He lives in London and in Leipzig.

Back

Film Andreas Goldstein: Der Funktionär

Andreas Goldstein: Der Funktionär Andreas Goldstein: Der Funktionär © A. Goldstein

Di, 26.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Andreas Goldsteins zutiefst persönliches Porträt seines Vaters Klaus Gysi, ein hochrangiger politischer Funktionär der DDR, ist eine vielschichtige Reflexion über das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen politischen Idealen und ideologischem Opportunismus und darüber, wie das politische System der DDR funktionierte und warum es scheiterte.

Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführung folgt ein Gespräch mit Andreas Goldstein, der auch am folgenden Abend für ein Q & A nach seinem Film Adam & Evelyn bei uns zu Gast sein wird.

 
In diesem essayistischen Film zeichnet Regisseur Andreas Goldstein ein komplexes Porträt seines Vaters Klaus Gysi (1912-1999), einem prominenten Funktionär im politischen System der DDR. Schon mit neunzehn Mitglied der KPD und für diese von 1940 bis 1945 in der Opposition gegen die Nazis in Berlin engagiert, wurde er nach dem Krieg Stadtteil-Bürgermeister in Berlin und trat der SED bei. Als eloquenter, kultivierter Intellektueller mit bürgerlichem Familienhintergrund verkörperte er nicht den typischen Parteifunktionär, stieg jedoch in den folgenden Jahrzehnten in der politischen Hierarchie auf und bekleidete eine Reihe wichtiger Positionen, darunter die des Direktors des staatlichen Aufbau-Verlag (1957-1966), des Kulturministers (1966-1973), als Botschafter in Italien und Malta (1973-1978) und als Staatssekretär für kirchliche Angelegenheiten (1979-1988). Goldstein wählt einen explizit subjektiven Ansatz und untersucht mittels einer vielschichtigen Montage aus Fernsehinterviews, Familienfotos, neu aufgenommener Bilder und persönlichen Gedanken, wie politische Ideale, Opportunismus und Selbsttäuschung das Leben seines Vaters gestaltet haben. Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Biographie des Vaters wird dabei zugleich zur Reflektion über die Funktionsmechanismen der DDR und über die Gründe für ihr Scheitern.

Der Funktionär, Deutschland 2018, s/w & Farbe, DCP, 72 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie und Buch: Andreas Goldstein, Kamera: Jakobine Motz, Schnitt: Chris Wright, Produzenten: Andreas Goldstein, Heino Deckert.


Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
Andreas Goldsteins Spielfilm Adam & Evelyn läuft in unserer Reihe Goethe-Kino mit dem Thema „Love Divided“ am 27. November 2019. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Andreas Goldstein ist Regisseur und Produzent. Nach einem Regie-Studium an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen 'Konrad Wolf' in Potsdam-Babelsberg (jetzt: Filmuniversität Babelsberg) war er Meisterschüler an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin und machte mehrere Kurzfilme. Auch arbeitete er als Produktionsleiter und Produzent, bis er 2008 schließlich zusammen mit der Regisseurin und Produzentin Susanne Binninger die Produktionsfirma Oktoberfilm gründete. Darüber hinaus hat er filmtheoretische und -kritische Texte geschrieben. Sein Spielfilmdebut Adam und Evelyn hatte beim Film Festival in Venedig 2018, sein Essayfilm Der Funktionär wenige Monate später bei DOK Leipzig Premiere. Er lebt in Berlin.

Udo Grashoff ist DAAD Francis L. Carsten Lecturer im History Department of the School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SSEES) am University College London. In seiner Arbeit befasst er sich hauptsächlich mit der deutschen Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts mit dem Schwerpunkt auf die Geschichte der zwei deutschen Diktaturen und mit besonderen Interesse an Tabuthemen. Er untersucht Widerstand, Opposition, politische Gewalt und individuelles Handel in Grenzsituationen. Er hat bahnbrechende Forschungsarbeiten zu Selbstmord in der DDR, Schwarzwohnen und "Verrat" in der Deutschen Kommunistischen Partei durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus hat er zwei Bände mit eigenen Gedichten veröffentlicht. Er lebt in London und Leipzig.


 

Zurück