Film Screening + Q&A Ulrike Ottinger: The image of Dorian Gray in the Yellow Press

Dorian Gray im Spiegel der Boulevardpresse © Ulrike Ottinger

Sat, 25.01.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Ulrike Ottinger’s ironic and operatic reflection on power, the manipulation of the media and identity starring Delphine Seyrig as the scheming Dr Mabuse and star model Veruschka von Lerndorf as the eponymous dandy and Dr Mabuse’s enigmatic victim.
 
Following the screening Ulrike Ottinger will be in conversation with Angela McRobbie, Professor of Communications, Goldsmiths, University of London.
 
The boss of an international media conglomerate, the scheming Dr Mabuse played by a deliciously malicious Delphine Seyrig thinks up a plan to increase the sales of her newspapers. Her strategy is to create and build up a character that everyone will adore only to later destroy this artificial figure and feed the story of the downfall to her readers. Dorian Gray is her star / victim of choice, who is played by the androgynous star model Veruschka von Lehndorff known for her appearance in Antonioni’s Blow Up. Dr Mabuse takes the narcissistic dandy to the opera, where he falls in love with the singer Andamana, to the press ball and she also introduces him to the underworld. The money is rolling in, but Dorian Gray starts to rebel. In order to stage her futuristic media critique, Ottinger irreverently mixes elements of avant garde art, pop and underground as well as different world cultures creating a wildly imaginative and pleasure-loving piece of low tech sci-fi. Costumes and make-up are fantastic and beautifully underscore Ottinger’s play with gender roles.

West Germany 1984, colour, DCP (35mm), 151 mins, in German and French with English subtitles. Written, directed and produced by Ulrike Ottinger. With Delphine Seyrig, Veruschka von Lehndorff, Tabea Blumenschein, Toyo Tanaka, Irm Hermann, Magdalena Montezuma, Barbara Valentin, and many others. 
 
Ulrike Ottinger will also be present for a conversation following a screening of her film Johanna d’Arc of Mongolia on Sunday 26 January at Ciné Lumière at 2pm. Both screenings are part of a ‘Tribute to Delphine Seyrig – Actress, Director and Activist’ taking place at Ciné Lumière from Sunday 1 December 2019 until Tuesday 4 February 2020.

Book tickets through Eventbrite  

Ulrike Ottinger (b. 1942) is one of Germany’s most prominent avant-garde artists known for her paintings, photographs and, above all, her fictional and documentary films. Through a surrealist lens, her art work addresses the role of power and its ability to suppress and marginalize difference. Her works are admired for their radical treatment of sexuality and gender and the challenge of traditional role patterns, manifesting itself in strong and exceptional female characters. Acting as writer, director and producer, Ulrike Ottinger has been a strong voice within the Women’s movement for decades.
 
Angela McRobbie is Professor of Communications at Goldsmiths, University of London. Her most recent books are Be Creative: Making a Living in the New Culture Industries (Polity 2015) and Feminism and the Politics of Resilience (Polity 2020).
 

Back

Filmvorführung + Q&A Ulrike Ottinger: Dorian Gray im Spiegel der Boulevardpresse

Dorian Gray in the Mirror of the Yellow Press © Ulrike Ottinger

Sa, 25.01.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Ulrike Ottingers ironische und opernhafte Reflexion über Macht, Manipulation von Medien und Identität mit Delphine Seyrig als intrigante Frau Dr. Mabuse und Model Veruschka von Lerndorf in der Rolle des dandyhaften Titelhelden.
 

Im Anschluss an den Film folgt ein Gespräch zwischen Ulrike Ottinger und Angela McRobbie, Professor of Communication, Goldsmiths University of London.
 
Die Direktorin eines internationalen Medienkonzerns, die gerissene Dr. Mabuse, gespielt von einer wunderbar böswilligen Delphine Seyrig, entwickelt einen Plan, um den Absatz ihrer Zeitungen zu steigern. Ihre Strategie ist es, eine Kunstfigur zu erschaffen und aufzubauen, die alle lieben, um diese dann wieder zu zerstören und die Geschichte ihres Untergangs an ihre LeserInnen zu ‚verfüttern‘. Dorian Gray ist der Star, bzw. das Opfer ihrer Wahl. Gespielt wird er von dem androgynen Starmodel Veruschka von Lehndorff, die u.a. durch ihren Auftritt in Antonionis Blow Up bekannt wurde. Dr. Mabuse nimmt den narzisstischen Dandy mit in die Oper, wo er sich in die Sängerin Andamana verliebt, stellt ihn auf einem Presseball vor, ., und führt ihn in die Unterwelt ein. Die Zeitungsauflangen steigen, aber Dorian Gray beginnt zu rebellieren. Um ihre futuristische Medienkritik in Szene zu setzen, mischt Ottinger respektlos Elemente von Avantgarde-Kunst, Pop und Underground sowie aus verschiedenen Weltkulturen zu einem phantasievollen Stück low-tech Science-Fiction. Kostüme und Make-up sind fantastisch und unterstreichen Ottingers lustvolles Spiel mit den Geschlechterrollen auf wunderbare Weise.

BRD 1984, Farbe, DCP (35mm), 151 Min, Deutsch und Französisch mit englischen Untertiteln. Buch, Regie und Produktion: Ulrike Ottinger. Mit Delphine Seyrig, Veruschka von Lehndorff, Tabea Blumenschein, Toyo Tanaka, Irm Hermann, Magdalena Montezuma, Barbara Valentin, und vielen anderen.
 
Ulrike Ottinger wird am Sonntag, den 26. Januar, um 14 Uhr im Ciné Lumière anwesend sein, um über ihren Film Johanna d'Arc of Monglia zu sprechen. Beide Vorführungen sind Teil von Tribute to Delphine Seyrig – Actress, Director and Activist. Die Reihe läuft vom 1. Dezember 2019 bis zum 4. Februar 2020 im Ciné Lumière.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 
Ulrike Ottinger (geb. 1942) ist eine der bekanntesten deutschen Avantgarde-Künstlerinnen, die für ihre Malerei, Fotografien und vor allem ihre Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme bekannt ist. Durch eine surrealistische Linse thematisiert ihre Arbeit die Rolle der Macht und ihre Fähigkeit, Unterschiede zu unterdrücken und Menschen auszugrenzen. Ihre Arbeiten zeichnen sich dur eine radikale Auseinandersetzung mit Sexualität und Geschlecht sowie das Hinterfragen traditioneller Rollenmuster aus, die sich in starken und außergewöhnlichen weiblichen Charakteren manifestieren. Als Autorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin leistet Ulrike Ottinger mit ihren Filmen seit Jahrzehnten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Frauenbewegung.
 
Angela McRobbie ist Professor of Communications bei Goldsmiths, University of London. Ihre aktuellen Buchveröffentlichungen sind Be Creative: Making a Living in the New Culture Industries (Polity 2015) und Feminism and the Politics of Resilience (Polity 2020).
 

Zurück