Discussion Tell Me About Europe

Erzähle mit von Europa - Großbritannien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Wed, 02.12.2020

Online

The project Tell me about Europe is presented by the Goethe-Institut and the German Federal Foreign Office during the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union from July until December 2020.

As part of the project, citizens of twelve different cities have come together for discussions over the last few months. The topic -  the constitution of Europe, about its past, present and future. The discussions are based on interviews with well-known Europeans, which are collected in the European Archive of Voices. In these interviews, contemporary witnesses who were born before 1945, tell young people about their lives and touch on topics such as wars and conflicts, the gap between town and country, gender (in)justice, freedom of religion or the return of nationalism.

We will end the series with an evening in the United Kingdom, shortly before the end of its European exit transition phase. Five citizens of this country will share their very personal thoughts on Europe with us. For a brief moment they will look at the continent and reflect what they are feeling during this time, especially in the midst of the Covid 19 crisis which makes us feel boundaries and distances more acutely again. The discussion will be moderated by journalist Rosie Goldsmith.

Register via Eventbrite for this online event


Panellists

Rosie Goldsmith is a British journalist with specialist knowledge of arts and international affairs. She has worked across the world on some of BBC Radio’s flagship programmes, speaks several languages and chairs and presents public events. She is founder and director of the European Literature Network, Editor-in-Chief of The Riveter magazine and on the board of several European cultural festivals. She is a proud champion of international literature, translation and language learning.

AL Kennedy ©Robin Niedojadlo A.L. Kennedy was born in Dundee. She lived for almost 30 years in Glasgow and now stays in North Essex. She has won a variety of UK and international book awards, including a Lannan Award, the Costa Prize, the Heinrich Heine Preis, the Somerset Maugham Award and the John Llewellyn Rees Prize. She has twice been included on the Granta Best of Young British Novelists list. She has written 9 novels, 6 short story collections, 3 books of non fiction and 3 books for children. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a member of the Akademie der Kunst. She also writes for the stage, screen, TV and has created an extensive body of radio work including documentaries, monologues, dramas and essays. She also performs occasionally in one person shows and as a stand up comic.

Edmund de Waal is an internationally acclaimed artist and writer, best known for his large-scale installations of porcelain vessels, often created in response to collections and archives or the history of a particular place. His interventions have been made for diverse spaces and museums worldwide, including The British Museum, London; The Frick Collection, New York; Ateneo Veneto, Venice; Schindler House, Los Angeles; Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna and V&A Museum, London. De Waal is also renowned for his bestselling family memoir, The Hare with Amber Eyes (2010), and The White Road (2015). He was made an OBE for his services to art in 2011 and awarded the Windham-Campbell Prize for non-fiction by Yale University in 2015. 

Baroness Mary Goudie is a senior member of the British House of Lords and a global advocate for the rights of women and children. In the UK she is a founding member of The 30% Club which aims to influence chairman to bring more women onto corporate boards. She is an emeritus of the Board of Directors of Vital Voices Global Partnership. Goudie is a trustee of the El-Hibri Charitable Foundation, based in the US, whose aims are to foster interfaith dialogue to establish solutions to global challenges affecting mankind. She is a member of the UK Board of Directors for the Center for Talent Innovation, a nonprofit think tank that focuses on challenges and issues pertaining to the workplace.  Goudie is an ambassador for ICRW, and a board member the Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace, and Security.  She is also a member of the board for the Center of Women, Peace and Security at the LSE.

Niloo Sharifi is a multidisciplinary artist from Liverpool, making collaborative works that facilitate polyphony.  Her most recent work is the-magic-tree.co.uk, a digital piece that transforms by merging with pictures uploaded by visitors. The idea is to see what emerges when you let everyone speak; the same ethos informed the curation of the Liverpool chapter of the Goethe-Institut’s Arrival City.

Sharmaine Lovegrove ©Suki Dhanda Sharmaine Lovegrove is the Publisher of Dialogue Books, an inclusive imprint, part of Little, Brown Book Group and Hachette UK. Dialogue Books is a home for a variety of stories from illuminating voices often missing from the mainstream. Sharmaine was the recipient of the Future Book Publishing Person of the Year 2018 and is inspired by innovative storytelling, and has worked in public relations, bookselling, events management and TV scouting. She was the literary editor of ELLE and set up her own bookshop and creative agency when living in Berlin. Sharmaine serves on the boards of The Black Cultural Archives, The Watershed and is a founding organiser of The Black Writers Guild. Home is London, she lives in Berlin and her roots are Jamaican - Sharmaine is proud to be part of the African diaspora and books make her feel part of the world.

Back

Diskussion Erzähle mir von Europa

Erzähle mit von Europa - Großbritannien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Mi, 02.12.2020

Online

Mit dem Projekt Erzähle mir von Europa begleitet das Goethe-Institut zusammen mit dem Auswärtigen Amt die deutsche Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union von Juli bis Dezember 2020.

Im Rahmen des Projektes haben in den letzten Monaten Bürger*innen zwölf verschiedener Städte über die Verfasstheit Europas gesprochen, über Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Grundlage der Diskussionen waren Interviews mit bekannten Europäer*innen, die im Europäischen Archiv der Stimmen gesammelt wurden. Darin erzählen Zeitzeug*innen, die vor 1945 geboren wurden, jungen Menschen von ihren Lebenswegen und berühren in den Gesprächen Themen wie Kriege und Konflikte, das Gefälle zwischen Stadt und Land, Geschlechter(un)gerechtigkeit, Religionsfreiheit oder die Rückkehr von Nationalismus. 

Wir schließen die Reihe mit einem Abend in dem Vereinigten Königreich ab: Kurz vor dem Ende der Übergangsphase teilen fünf Bürger*innen dieses Landes ihre sehr persönlichen Gedanken zu Europa mit uns. Für einen kurzen Moment blicken sie auf den Kontinent und reflektieren, was sie in diesen Wochen empfinden, auch inmitten der Covid-19-Krise, die uns Grenzen und Distanzen wieder deutlicher spüren lassen. Die Diskussion wird von der Journalistin Rosie Goldsmith moderiert. 

Registrieren Sie sich auf Eventbrite für dieses Online-Event

TeilnehmerInnen

Rosie Goldsmith ©BBC - Rosie Goldsmith Rosie Goldsmith ist eine britische Journalistin. Sie ist im Bereich der Kunst und Internationalen Angelegenheiten spezialisiert und hat auf der ganzen Welt an führenden Sendungen von BBC Radio gearbeitet. Außerdem spricht sie mehrere Sprachen, präsentiert und sitzt diversen öffentlichen Veranstaltungen vor und ist Gründerin und Vorstandsmitglied des European Literatur Networks, Chefredakteurin des The Riveter Magazins und Ausschussmitglied verschiedener europäischer Kulturfestivals. Sie ist stolze Verfechterin der internationalen Literatur, Übersetzungsarbeit und des Erlernens von Sprachen.

AL Kennedy ©Robin Niedojadlo A.L. Kennedy wurde in Dundee geboren. Sie lebte fast 30 Jahre in Glasgow und ist nun nach North Essex gezogen. Sie hat verschiedene britische und internationale Buchpreise gewonnen, darunter einen Lannan Award, den Costa Prize, den Heinrich Heine Preis, den Somerset Maugham Award und den John Llewellyn Rees Prize. Sie wurde zweimal in die Liste der Granta Best of Young British Novelists aufgenommen. Sie hat 9 Romane, 6 Kurzgeschichtensammlungen, 3 Sachbücher und 3 Kinderbücher geschrieben. Sie ist Fellow der Royal Society of Arts, Fellow der Royal Society of Literature und Mitglied der Akademie der Kunst. Sie schreibt auch für die Bühne, Leinwand, das Fernsehen und hat umfangreiche Radioarbeiten geschaffen, darunter Dokumentationen, Monologe, Dramen und Essays. Sie tritt auch gelegentlich in Einzelausstellungen und als Stand-Up-Comedian auf.

Edmund de Waal ist ein international anerkannter Künstler und Schriftsteller, der vor allem für seine großformatigen Installationen von Porzellangefäßen bekannt ist, die häufig als Reaktion auf Sammlungen und Archive oder die Geschichte eines bestimmten Ortes entstanden sind. Seine Werke wurden für verschiedene Ausstellungsräume und Museen weltweit konzipiert, darunter The British Museum, London; Die Frick-Sammlung, New York; Ateneo Veneto, Venedig; Schindler House, Los Angeles; Kunsthistorisches Museum, Wien und V & A Museum, London. De Waal ist auch bekannt für seine Bestseller-Familienmemoiren The Hare with Amber Eyes (2010) und The White Road (2015). Für seine Verdienste um die Kunst wurde er 2011 zum OBE ernannt und 2015 von der Yale University mit dem Windham-Campbell-Preis für Sachbücher ausgezeichnet.

Baronin Mary Goudie ist ein Mitglied des britischen Oberhauses und eine weltweite Verfechterin der Rechte von Frauen und Kindern. In Großbritannien ist sie Gründungsmitglied des 30% Clubs, dessen Ziel es ist, Vorsitzende zu beeinflussen, mehr Frauen in Unternehmensvorstände zu erheben. Sie ist ein emeritiertes Mitglied im Board of Directors of Vital Voices Global Partnership sowie des britischen Verwaltungsrates des Centre for Talent Innovation, einer gemeinnützigen Denkfabrik, die sich mit Herausforderungen und Problemen am Arbeitsplatz befasst. Goudie ist Botschafterin des ICRW und Vorstandsmitglied des Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security. Zudem ist sie  Vorstandsmitglied des Zentrums für Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit an der LSE.

Niloo Sharifi ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin aus Liverpool, die kollaborative Werke entwickelt und sich für eine Förderung der Polyphonie interessiert. Ihre jüngste Arbeit ist the-magic-tree.co.uk, ein digitales Kunstwerk, das sich durch die von Besucher*innen hochgeladenen Bilder fortlaufend verändert. Der Kerngedanke des Werks ist zu beobachten, was entsteht, wenn zu sehen, wenn alle eine Stimme bekommen; das gleiche Ethos prägte die Kuration des Liverpooler Kapitels Arrival City Projekts des Goethe-Instituts.

Sharmaine Lovegrove ©Suki Dhanda Sharmaine Lovegrove ist Herausgeberin von Dialogue Books, einem inklusiven Verlag, der Teil von Little, Brown Book Group und Hachette UK ist. Dialogue Books ist ein Zuhause für eine Vielzahl von Geschichten aus aufschlussreichen Perspektiven, die in der Mainstream-Öffentlichkeit oft fehlen. Sharmaine erhielt die Auszeichnung der Future Book Publishing Person des Jahres 2018 und ist von innovativem Storytelling inspiriert. Sie hat in den Bereichen Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Buchhandel, Eventmanagement und TV-Scouting gearbeitet. Sie war Literaturredakteurin von ELLE und gründete in Berlin eine eigene Buchhandlung und Kreativagentur. Sharmaine ist Vorstandsmitglied des Black Cultural Archives, The Watershed, und Gründungsorganisator der Black Writers Guild. Ihr Zuhause ist London, sie lebt in Berlin und ihre Wurzeln sind jamaikanisch - Sharmaine ist stolz darauf, Teil der afrikanischen Diaspora zu sein, und Bücher geben ihr das Gefühl, Teil der Welt zu sein.

Zurück