Exhibition Exhibition at Tate St Ives – Haegue Yang: Strange Attractors

Exhibition Tate St. Ives - Haegue Yang © Tate (Matt Greenwood)

Sun, 04.10.2020 -
Mon, 03.05.2021

Tate St. Ives

Porthmeor Beach
TR26 1TG Saint Ives

Find up to date visting guidance for Tate St Ives here.

This exhibition brings together new and existing works spanning installation, sculpture, drawing, collage and painting. Haegue Yang is renowned for creating immersive environments from a diverse range of materials. Her sculptures and installations often use industrially made objects, interwoven with labour-intensive and craft-based processes. These processes reflect pagan cultures and their deep connection with various seasonal rituals in relation to natural phenomena.

The context of St Ives, and the Cornish landscape and its ancient archaeological heritage are important points of inspiration.

Haegue Yang: Strange Attractors is the first exhibition at Tate St Ives to take place across both the award-winning top-lit gallery in the new building and the spectacular sea-facing gallery in the original building.

 
Born in South Korea in 1971, Haegue Yang is based in Berlin and Seoul and teaches at the Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main. Recipient of the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize, she held a survey exhibition at the Museum Ludwig in Cologne in the same year. Further solo exhibitions include South London Gallery, UK (2019); La Panacée-MoCo, Montpellier (2018); La Triennale di Milano (2018); and Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016). Her work has been displayed in major international exhibitions including Liverpool Biennial, UK (2018); the 21st Biennale of Sydney, Australia (2018); Sharjah Biennial 12, United Arab Emirates (2015); dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel (2012); and the 53rd Venice Biennale (2009). Her work is included in permanent collections such as the Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA; M+, Hong Kong, China; National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, South Korea; Tate, London, UK; The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, USA; and The Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, USA.
©Tate


Supported by Henry Moore Foundation and Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen. With additional support from Kvadrat, Tate Members and Tate St Ives Members. With thanks to the Li Yuan-chia Foundation and Studio Haegue Yang in Berlin and Seoul.

The Goethe-Institut London is supporting the public programme, details to be announced.
 

Back

Ausstellung Ausstellung Tate St Ives – Haegue Yang: Strange Attractors

Exhibition Tate St. Ives - Haegue Yang © Tate (Matt Greenwood)

So, 04.10.2020 -
So, 26.09.2021

Tate St. Ives

Porthmeor Beach
TR26 1TG Saint Ives

Aktuelle Infromationen zum Besuch von Tate St Ives finden Sie hier.
Diese Ausstellung vereint neue und bestehende Werke aus den Bereichen Installation, Skulptur, Zeichnung, Collage und Malerei. Haegue Yang erschafft immersive Umgebungen aus einer Vielzahl von Materialien. Ihre Skulpturen und Installationen verwenden oft industriell hergestellte Objekte, die mit arbeitsintensiven und handwerklichen Prozessen verwoben sind. Diese Prozesse spiegeln heidnische Kulturen und ihre tiefe Verbindung mit verschiedenen saisonalen Ritualen in Bezug auf Naturphänomene wider.

Der Kontext von St. Ives, die kornische Landschaft und ihr altes archäologisches Erbe sind wichtige Inspirationspunkte.

Haegue Yang: Strange Attractors ist die erste Ausstellung in der Tate St. Ives, die sowohl in der Galerie des neuen Gebäudes als auch in der Galerie mit Meerblick im ursprünglichen Gebäude stattfindet.

 
Haegue Yang wurde 1971 in Südkorea geboren, lebt in Berlin und Seoul und unterrichtet an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main. 2018 wurde sie mit dem Wolfgang-Hahn-Preis ausgezeichnet und veranstaltete im selben Jahr eine Übersichtsausstellung im Museum Ludwig in Köln. Weitere Einzelausstellungsorte sind South London Gallery, UK (2019); La Panacée-MoCo, Montpellier (2018); La Triennale di Milano (2018); und Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016). Ihre Arbeiten wurden in großen internationalen Ausstellungen gezeigt, darunter Liverpool Biennial, UK (2018); die 21. Biennale von Sydney, Australien (2018); Sharjah Biennale 12, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate (2015); DOKUMENTA (13) in Kassel (2012); und die 53. Biennale von Venedig (2009). Ihre Arbeiten befinden sich unter anderen in Sammlungen des Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA; M +, Hongkong, China; Nationalmuseum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, Südkorea; Tate, London, Großbritannien; im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, USA; und im Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, USA.

 

 
©Tate


Unterstützt von der Henry Moore Foundation und dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen. Mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung von Kvadrat, Tate Members und Tate St Ives Members. Dank an die Li Yuan-chia Stiftung und das Studio Haegue Yang in Berlin und Seoul.

Das Goethe-Institut London unterstützt das Ausstellungsbegleitende Programm, weitere Informationen folgen. 
 

Zurück