Virtual Studio Visit New Forms of Togetherness - Virtual studio visit

New Forms of Togetherness © studio Nüssli+Nuessli

Wed, 28.04.2021

Online

with visual artist Marion Carré.

Marion Carré is one of the three artists selected for our digital residency programme 'New Forms of Togetherness', in partnership with the Alliance Française Glasgow and the Institut Français d'Ecosse.

During the virtual studio visit Marion Carré will introduce her artistic practice and processes. She will give an insight about the digital residency 'New Forms of Togetherness'.

The digital studio visit will be featured on the Goethe-Institut Glasgow Facebook page and the Alliance Française Glasgow Instagram channel.


'New Forms of Togetherness' is a digital residency which will contribute to the interdisciplinary discourse between artists and partners around the topic of Artificial Intelligence. The remote residency will allow the artists to continue to work from their own space with the digital support of our partners: the National Library of Scotland, the Social Brain in Action Lab, the Centre for Contemporary Arts in Glasgow and the NEoN Festival of Digital Arts. A dialogue will be created around artificial intelligence, between the artists, the partners and an online audience.

The aim of the project is to contribute to the discussion around the use of Artificial Intelligence from an interdisciplinary perspective and to make the discourse around AI technology accessible to a wider public. Artists will be working collaboratively and they are asked to deliver their final outcome within the year 2021.

Marion Carré Marion Carré

Marion Carré carries out several activities in parallel: entrepreneur, teacher, speaker, author and artist. All of these approaches allow her to explore the relationships between art and artificial intelligence from different angles. She started working on this subject when she co-founded Ask Mona in 2017. Ask Mona is a startup that mobilizes artificial intelligence to bring audiences and cultural institutions together and to help make culture more accessible. 

Gradually, she led in parallel a more theoretical exploration of the subject which she shared through talks, teaching and a book entitled ‘Art and Artificial intelligence. Artist in the making?' published in March 2020. She also explores this art / artificial intelligence dialectic from the angle of creation. After learning how to code by herself, she added a new tool to her artistic practice: machine learning. 

She believes that art is a formidable counterweight to artificial intelligence. She explores through her work the sum of subjectivities that make up our relationship to reality. As artificial intelligence encodes our knowledge by learning from it to reproduce our reasoning on a larger scale, it reveals our perception of the world around us.  

This project is funded and supported by our partners and the Franco-German Cultural Fund.

Back

Virtueller Atelierbesuch New Forms of Togetherness - Virtueller Atelierbesuch

New Forms of Togetherness © studio Nüssli+Nuessli

Mi, 28.04.2021

18:00 Uhr - 19:00 Uhr
GMT

Online

mit der Künstlerin Marion Carré.

Marion Carré ist eine der drei Künstlerinnen, die für unser digitales Residenzprogramm "New Forms of Togetherness" ausgewählt wurden und welches in Partnerschaft mit der Alliance Française Glasgow und dem Institut Français d'Ecosse stattfindet. 

Während des virtuellen Atelierbesuchs wird Marion Carré ihre künstlerische Praxis und Prozesse vorstellen und einen Einblick in die digitale Residenz "New Forms of Togetherness" geben.

Der digitale Atelierbesuch wird auf der Facebookseite des Goethe-Instituts Glasgow und dem Instagramklanal der Alliance Française Glasgow gezeigt. 


"New Forms of Togetherness" ist eine digitale Residenz, die zu einem interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen den ausgewählten Künstler*innen, Partnern und einem größeren Publikum beiträgt – rund um das Thema Künstliche Intelligenz. Die Fernresidenz wird Künstler*innen ermöglichen, von ihrem eigenen Zuhause oder Atelier aus zu arbeiten. Digitale Unterstützung erhalten sie dabei von den Partnern des Projekts: Der National Library of Scotland, dem Social Brain in Action Lab, dem Centre for Contemporary Arts in Glasgow und dem NEoN Festival of Digital Arts. Das Ziel ist einen Austausch über Künstliche Intelligenz zwischen den Künstler*innen, den Projektpartnern und dem Publikum anzuregen.

Ziel des Projekts ist es, zur Diskussion über den Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz beizutragen, dieses Thema aus einer interdisziplinären Perspektive zu betrachten und den Diskurs über KI-Technologie einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Die Künstler*innen werden gemeinsam arbeiten und sind gebeten das Ergebnis der Residenz innerhalb des Jahres 2021 zu veröffentlichen.

Marrion Carré Marrion Carré

Marion Carré übt mehrere Tätigkeiten parallel aus: Sie ist Unternehmerin, Tutorin, Autorin und Künstlerin. All diese Ansätze ermöglichen es ihr, die Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und künstlicher Intelligenz aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu erforschen. Sie begann, an diesem Thema zu arbeiten, als sie 2017 Ask Mona mitbegründete. Ask Mona ist ein Startup, das Publikum und Kultureinrichtungen mit dem Thema künstliche Intelligenz zusammenbringt und dabei hilft, Kultur besser zugänglich zu machen. 

Parallel dazu führte sie eine eher theoretische Erforschung des Themas durch, die sie in Vorträgen, Lehrveranstaltungen und einem Buch mit dem Titel "Art and Artificial intelligence. Artist in the making?", das im März 2020 veröffentlicht wurde. Sie erforscht die Dialektik zwischen Kunst und künstliche Intelligenz  aus dem Blickwinkel des Schaffens. Nachdem sie selbst gelernt hatte, wie man programmiert, fügte sie ihrer künstlerischen Praxis ein neues Werkzeug hinzu: Maschinelles Lernen. 

Sie glaubt, dass die Kunst ein formidables Gegengewicht zur künstlichen Intelligenz ist. Dabei erforscht sie in ihrer Arbeit die Summe der Subjektivitäten, die unsere Beziehung zur Realität ausmachen. Da künstliche Intelligenz unser Wissen kodiert, um unser Denken in einem größeren Maßstab zu reproduzieren, enthüllt sie die Wahrnehmung der Welt um uns herum.  

Dieses Projekt wird von unseren Partnern und dem Deutsch-Französischen Kulturfonds gefördert und unterstützt.

Zurück