Exhibition Emeka Ogboh: Song of the Union

Burns Monument Photo: Sally Jubb © Courtesy Talbot Rice Gallery, University of Edinburgh

Thu, 29.07.2021 -
Sun, 29.08.2021

Burns Monument

Regent Road
EH7 5BL Edinburgh

Emeka Ogboh’s (b. 1975, Nigeria) newly commissioned sound installation sited in Edinburgh’s Burns Monument is a response to the ongoing theatre surrounding the U.K.’s departure from the European Union.
 
The sound installation features the recorded voices of citizens from each nation state of the European Union, singing Auld Lang Syne – a song which has come to represent solidarity, friendship and open doors – in their mother tongue. The resulting polyphonic choir affects a complex interweaving of language, syntax, cadence and rhythm.
 
Auld Lang Syne was chosen by what German MEP Terry Reintke calls a “EU-UK friendship group” to be sung in the European Parliament on the 29th January 2020, after members voted on the final withdrawal agreement and bid farewell to the U.K. Moved by this experience, Ogboh has created the work at a time when the post-Brexit reality is still far from resolved – the contradictions, hopes and harmonies that underscore the political concerns of the process are played out by Ogboh in the work. The participating singers are EU citizens living in the UK who, unable to vote in the 2016 Brexit referendum, were effectively silenced on the day that the UK chose to leave the EU.
 
Co-commissioned by Edinburgh Art Festival and Talbot Rice Gallery, as part of Edinburgh College of Art. Supported by the PLACE Programme, a partnership between Edinburgh Festivals, Scottish Government, City of Edinburgh Council and Creative Scotland. With additional support from Goethe-Institut Glasgow, ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen), Edinburgh College of Art and Museums and Galleries Edinburgh.

Exhibition site
Burns Monument
Regent Road
Edinburgh, EH7 5BL

Tickets will be available soon to book via Edinburgh Art Festival.

A webinar with the artist Emeka Ogboh on the 25th of August is taking place as part of this exhibition.

Back

Ausstellung Emeka Ogboh: Song of the Union

Burns Monument Foto: Sally Jubb © Courtesy Talbot Rice Gallery, University of Edinburgh

Do, 29.07.2021 -
So, 29.08.2021

Burns Monument

Regent Road
EH7 5BL Edinburgh

Emeka Ogbohs (*1975, Nigeria) neu in Auftrag gegebene Klanginstallation im Burns Monument in Edinburgh ist eine Reaktion auf das anhaltende Theater um den Austritt Großbritanniens aus der Europäischen Union.
 
Die Klanginstallation zeigt die aufgenommenen Stimmen von Bürgern aus jedem Nationalstaat der Europäischen Union, die Auld Lang Syne - ein Lied, das für Solidarität, Freundschaft und offene Türen steht - in ihrer Muttersprache singen. Der daraus resultierende mehrstimmige Chor wirkt wie eine komplexe Verflechtung von Sprache, Syntax, Kadenz und Rhythmus.
 
Auld Lang Syne wurde von einer, wie es der deutsche Europaabgeordnete Terry Reintke nennt, "EU-UK-Freundschaftsgruppe" ausgewählt, um am 29. Januar 2020 im Europäischen Parlament gesungen zu werden, nachdem die Abgeordneten über das endgültige Austrittsabkommen abgestimmt und sich von Großbritannien verabschiedet haben. Bewegt von dieser Erfahrung hat Ogboh das Werk zu einer Zeit geschaffen, in der die Post-Brexit-Realität noch lange nicht gelöst ist - die Widersprüche, Hoffnungen und Harmonien, die die politischen Bedenken des Prozesses unterstreichen, werden von Ogboh in dem Werk durchgespielt. Die teilnehmenden Sänger sind in Großbritannien lebende EU-Bürger, die beim Brexit-Referendum 2016 nicht abstimmen konnten und an dem Tag, an dem sich Großbritannien für den Austritt aus der EU entschied, effektiv zum Schweigen gebracht wurden.
 
Im gemeinsamen Auftrag des Edinburgh Art Festivals und der Talbot Rice Gallery, Teil des Edinburgh College of Art. Unterstützt durch das PLACE-Programm, eine Partnerschaft zwischen Edinburgh Festivals, der schottischen Regierung, dem City of Edinburgh Council und Creative Scotland. Mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung von Goethe-Institut Glasgow, ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen), Edinburgh College of Art und Museums and Galleries Edinburgh.

Ausstellungsort
Burns Monument
Regent Road
Edinburgh, EH7 5BL

Tickets können in Kürze über Edinburgh Art Festival gebucht werden.

Im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung findet am 25. August ein Webinar mit Emekah Ogboh statt. 

Zurück