Competition Young Europeans Award

Competition for School Classes

Calling all pupils interested in European issues! Take part in the Young Europeans Award and win a trip to Warsaw!

What is the Young Europeans Award?
This initiative aims to encourage dialogue and exchange between young people. Teams of young people from within schools in Germany, France, Poland and the UK are invited to enter the competition (with support from their school) in groups of 6+ by sending in a collaborative creative project of their choice addressing the statement: 'To be or not to be...a European'.

'To be or not to be...a European'
How this theme is approached is up to the team. The angle might be tackled from a geographical, cultural, artistic or societal perspective and can involve different curriculum areas. Projects could tie in with a project already happening at school and can be created and presented in any form, whether it's text, audio, visual, video or any other medium.

Who can take part?
To take part, pupils must be aged under 21 and should enter together with another pupil or pupils from their school. There is no limit to the size of a group. However, teams should include a minimum of 6-8 young people in total with at least two participants from France, Germany and Poland as well as two people from the UK. Taking part is free of charge. UK schools with an existing partner school in one of the countries involved are particularly encouraged to take part in collaboration with new project partners in the remaining countries.

How do we find partners from the other countries?
To find a school, class or group to partner with, teachers and pupils can use the online partner-finding services provided by the German-French (DFJW) and the German-Polish Youth Office (DPJW).
To find German and/or French partners click here.
To find German and/or Polish partners click here.

The Award – a unique European experience
The team will have the opportunity to visit the Polish capital, Warsaw, and present their project to the jury members and politicians during the award ceremony.
Find out more and apply via this website.

Applications should be submitted no later than 1 March 2018.