Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Tillmans multi-facetted photos at Science Museum

Fragile Exhibition
© Goethe-Institut Ghana

Works by the Internationally acclaimed German photographer on show in the Ghanaian capital, Accra


 

by John Owoo

An exhibition of pictures by the renowned German photographer that showcase the simplicity and complexity of his style will on Sunday November 14, close at the Museum of Science and Technology in Accra.

Titled “Fragile”, the show which has equally been extended into the city of Accra through billboards – has caught the attention of motorists and pedestrians – who ply these busy intersections on a daily basis.

Noted for his constant re-definition of photography, Tillmans work, which comprise diaristic photography, large-scale abstraction, landscapes, still lifes, video projections, portraits and book installations among others, subtly convey the perspicacity of a comprehensive documentation.

Indeed, the exhibition hall, which has been completely transformed with support from Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (Germany) and the Goethe-Institut in Accra, is awash with dozens of photos of varying sizes that singularly and collectively provide a wide-ranging overview of his work.

Undeniably, the viewer will notice how anthropological and non-anthropological elements appear to co-habit as one explores the photographs in this rather large space while observing his subtle commentary on extremism, populism, ideology, negativism, sexuality, parochialism and isolationism.

His portraits reveal more than the naked eye will immediately appreciate – but at the same time viewers can easily relate them to their personal lives – and this he does by not necessarily following art historical patterns, thereby providing the opportunity to see people in an intimate manner.
 

  • Fragile Exhibition © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Fragile Exhibition © Goethe-Institut Ghana


Indeed, the richness, penetration and variety of his images enable people outside typical art audiences and circles to equally appreciate his work and actually identify with their balances, contradictions, tensions and juxtapositions.

A close analysis of his works equally reveal the fact that size (large or small scale) of his pictures does not indicate its value or importance – but rather how the viewer engages and interacts with them alongside his or her fascination with the photographer’s images on club culture in the 1990s among others.

Born in Germany, Tillmans spent the early part of his career in London (UK) after graduating from the Bournemouth and Poole College of Art and Design. In 2000, he was awarded the prestigious Turner Prize, marking the first time the prize had been awarded to a photographer or non-British artist.

Currently, he lives and works between Berlin and London. His works are presently held in the collections of the Art Institute of Chicago, The Museum of Modern Art in New York (USA), the Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin (Germany) and the Kunstmuseum Basel (Switzerland) among others.

In 2006, he established “Between Bridges”, a non-profit exhibition space located in Berlin (Germany) while setting up a survey show titled “Wolfgang Tillmans: 2017”, which opened at the Tate Modern in London to critical acclaim.

“Fragile”, which has been shown in Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of Congo), Nairobi (Kenya), Johannesburg (South Africa), Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) and Yaounde (Cameroon), is being organized and supported by Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (Germany) in collaboration with Goethe-Institut Ghana and the Museum of Science and Technology in Accra.  

The exhibition is set to open in the Ivorian capital, Abidjan later this month.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Tillmans facettenreiche Fotografien im Wissenschaftsmuseum Accra

Fragile Exhibition
© Goethe-Institut Ghana

Die Werke des international anerkannten deutschen Fotografen reisen in die ghanaische Hauptstadt
 

von John Owoo

Die Austellung des renommierten deutschen Fotografen, welche die Einfachheit und gleichzeitige Komplexität seines unverkennbaren Stils zeigen, feierte am Sonntag den 14. November ihre Finissage im Musuem für Wissenschaft und Technologie.

Die Ausstellung trägt den Titel "Fragile" (zerbrechlich) und ist auf Plakatwänden in der ganzen Stadt zu sehen. Sie zogen die Aufmerksamkeit von Autofahrer*innen und Fußgänger*innen auf sich, die sich täglich an diesen belebten Kreuzungen bewegen.

Tillmans Arbeiten, die für seine ständige Neudefinition der Fotografie bekannt sind, umfassen unter anderem tagebuchartige Fotografien, großformatige Abstraktionen, Landschaften, Stillleben, Videoprojektionen, Porträts und Buchinstallationen, und vermitteln auf subtile Weise den Scharfsinn einer ganzheitlich verwobenen Dokumentation des Fragilen.

In der Tat ist die Ausstellungshalle, die mit Unterstützung des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen (Deutschland) und des Goethe-Instituts in Accra vollständig umgestaltet wurde, mit Dutzenden von Fotos unterschiedlicher Größe übersät, die einzeln für sich stehend, aber auch in ihrer Gesamtheit einen umfassenden Überblick über sein Werk darbieten.

Der Betrachter wird unweigerlich feststellen, wie anthropologische und nicht-anthropologische Elemente zusammenzuleben scheinen, wenn Tillman die Fotografien in diesem großen Raum erkundet und dabei seinen subtilen Kommentar zu Extremismus, Populismus, Ideologie, Negativismus, Sexualität, Parochialismus und Isolationismus beobachtet.

 

  • Fragile Exhibition © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Fragile Exhibition © Goethe-Institut Ghana


Seine Porträts offenbaren mehr, als das bloße Auge auf Anhieb wahrnimmt -  sie drängen sich dem Betrachter*in nahezu auf, sie mit dem persönlichen Leben in Verbindung zu bringen. Tillman schafft das, indemer nicht unbedingt kunsthistorischen Mustern folgt. Damit schafft er sicht die Möglichkeit, die Menschen auf eine intime Weiße zu sehen, und auch über seine Fotografien zu zeigen.

Der Reichtum, die Prägnanz und die Vielfalt seiner Bilder ermöglichen es auch Menschen außerhalb des typischen Kunstpublikums seine Werke zu schätzen und sich mit ihren Widersprüchen, Spannungen und Gegensätzen zu identifizieren.

Eine genaue Analyse seiner Werke zeigt auch, dass die Größe seiner Bilder (welche von sehr klein bis sehr groß stark variieren) nicht ihren Wert oder ihre Bedeutung angeben. Vielmehr bestimmt dies die Art und Weise, wie der oder die Betrachter*in sich auf Tillmans Faszinationen für die Facetten dieser Welt einlässt und interagiert.

Der in Deutschland geborene Tillman verbrachte nach seinem Abschluss am Bournemouth and Poole College of Art and Design den frühen Teil seiner Karriere in London (UK). 2000 wurde er mit dem renommierten Turner-Preis ausgezeichnet, der zum ersten Mal an einen Fotografen sowie einem nicht-britischen Künstler vergeben wurde.


Derzeit lebt und arbeitet er zwischen Berlin und London. Seine Werke befinden sich unter anderem in den Sammlungen des Art Institute of Chicago, des Museum of Modern Art in New York (USA), des Hamburger Bahnhofs in Berlin (Deutschland) und des Kunstmuseums Basel (Schweiz).

2006 gründete er "Between Bridges", einen gemeinnützigen Ausstellungsraum in Berlin (Deutschland), und richtete eine Übersichtsausstellung mit dem Titel "Wolfgang Tillmans: 2017" ein, die in der Tate Modern in London unter großem Beifall der Kritiker eröffnet wurde.

"Fragile", die bereits in Kinshasa (Demokratische Republik Kongo), Nairobi (Kenia), Johannesburg (Südafrika), Addis Abeba (Äthiopien) und Yaounde (Kamerun) gezeigt wurde, wird vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (Deutschland) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Ghana und dem Museum of Science and Technology in Accra organisiert und unterstützt. 

Die Ausstellung soll noch in diesem Monat in der ivorischen Hauptstadt Abidjan eröffnet werden.
 

Top