Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

​Peripheral Vision

Peripheral Vision
© Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK

The Syros International Film Festival runs a programme titled “Peripheral Vision” that presents new works by artists based on materials they have found in the Historical Archive of Syros. Jacob Moe, the Festival’s co-founder, talks with Angeliki Psilopoulou, who heads the Archive about how this process developed and why archives like the Rigopoulos Film Collection have an importance that goes far beyond their narrower regional context.

Jacob Moe
[In Peripheral Vision] we’ve been thinking a lot about the notion of the archive, and how it serves as a resource for repurposing and creating narratives. I wonder if you could tell us a few words about this based on your experience here at the Historical Archive of Syros.
 
Angeliki Psilopoulou

An “archive” is a broad term. It’s not only a service, or something that is produced, something that has some relation with the broader and administrative history of this place; it can also be something found in someone’s house. It may well be a family archive, which also comprises a part of social history. We ourselves are social beings, and the things we accumulate in our houses are part of a cumulative total.
 
I believe deeply in the notion of the archive; photographs, documents that a family might keep, such as the Rigopoulos archive of photo negatives and films… [he himself] was an obsessive photographer. Today, these things take on another dimension, and depict a particular era. You never know where and when these materials may be used, because we cannot predict the needs of future researchers. Archives are important in that they illuminate aspects of the past.
Peripheral Vision 2 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK JM
Yes—that’s precisely what has happened in this workshop, where we’ve provided the Rigopoulos film collection, a sonic archive from Syros Sound Meetings and film archives from the Cairo Cimatheque to the nine participating artists/teams. Each of them came away with an entirely different take.
 
 
AP

That’s how it is. That’s the attraction of it, and the difference. The different approaches people bring based on their backgrounds, and their aims. It’s about context, but also about purpose, about what someone wants to do with it. That’s where the beauty lies.
 
JM

Taking the Rigopoulos collection as an example, how did it come to be a part of the Historical Archive here?
 
AP
One summer, his nephew, Thanopoulos the dentist, showed up and told me that they’d decided with his cousin, who was Rigopoulos’s daughter, to give it to us. He must be a member of the Syriot Association in Athens, and probably heard about us from various members that have contributed to our effort, or come here for research. In any case he clearly valued the archive, and came here with his mind made up to give us the films […] I knew Mr. Rigopoulos himself, we knew one another from all the way back in high school. A very dear man.
Peripheral Vision 3 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK JM
The Rigopoulos films constitute an intimate portrait of a family, but also a historical snapshot of Syros. The parades, the building facades, the styles of dress—they all convey a certain context […] Although this is primarily a historical, document-based collection, I can see you also have experience with the audiovisual realm, as well as with oral history.
 
AP

During an exhibition we’d organized on the occasion of the eighty year anniversary of the Greco-Turkish war of 1919-1922 […] we interviewed first and second generation immigrants. The first generation was really getting up there in age, and sometimes we didn’t manage to get to them in time, which was truly unfortunate […] After, this material was digitized and uploaded to a platform dedicated to the immigrants of the entire Mediterranean region. Syros was a huge center for immigration; Hermoupolis is a city of refugees. There was a first wave in 1822 made up of islanders from Chios and Psara, then in 1824 from Kasos. Then came a second wave from Asia Minor, 100 years later.
 
JM
Can you also tell us a bit about how you go about incorporating new materials into the archive? What is that process like?
 
AP
The Historical Archive reports to the Ministry of Education, and is tasked with identifying archives and visiting them in order to appraise their value. If they don’t have value – if they already exist as duplicates in some form, for example, we issue a directive to destroy them. If not, we accept the archive, document it, register it in our archival register, and then include it in our electronic inventory. Then we begin to organize and process it. The origin of the archive usually dictates the organizational structure we use: for example, in the case of the Municipal Archive, it is organized according to the categories of administrative service, civil registry, etc. So we follow that structure, inserting numbered folders into it, assigning descriptions […] and now, with our electronic archival platform, we also upload it there.
 
Apart from that, we field requests from individuals, government services, etc. […] It’s really splendid work, you never get weary of it. It’s a journey through time, but at the same time an introspective journey. We’ve seen it all over the years: people from all around the world coming here and finding information about their long lost relatives… that’s the social dimension of this all. But there’s of course the scientific dimension, and the personal dimension too, at least in my experience.
Peripheral Vision 4 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK The above text is an edited, condensed version of a conversation held at the Historical Archive of Syros – GAK, between Jacob Moe, co-founder of SIFF and Angeliki Psilopoulou, head of the Archive. In the context of SIFF’s Peripheral Vision workshop supported by the Goethe Institut-Athen and led by filmmaker Tamer El Said, the Historical Archive of Syros has provided three discs of digitized super 8 film footage shot between 1966-1972 by G. Rigopoulos, for use by the workshop’s selected filmmakers/creative teams. The workshop began in September 2020 and will conclude at the ninth edition of SIFF, held from July 22-26 2021, where the final projects will be presented.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

SIFF
​Peripheral Vision

Peripheral Vision
Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK

Unter dem Motto Peripheral Vision präsentiert das Syros International Film Festival neue Arbeiten von Künstler*innen, die dabei aus Archiv-Fundstücken schöpfen. Wie dieser Prozess vonstatten ging und warum die Bedeutung von Archiven, wie zum Beispiel die Rigoupoulos-Filmsammlung weit über ihren engeren regionalen Bezug hinausweist – darüber spricht Jacob Moe, der Mitbegründer des Filmfestivals, mit Angeliki Psilopoulou, die diesem Archiv vorsteht.

Jacob Moe
Bei Peripheral Vision haben wir intensiv über den Begriff des Archivs nachgedacht. Die Frage war, wie es als Ressource bei der Wiederverwendung und Neuschaffung von Erzählungen dienen könne. Möchten Sie uns, ausgehend von Ihren Erfahrungen hier im Historischen Archiv von Syros, ein paar Worte dazu sagen?
 
Angeliki Psilopoulou
Der Begriff „Archiv“ ist weit gefasst. Es handelt sich dabei nicht nur um eine Handreichung oder etwas, das produziert wird, auch nicht um etwas, das in irgendeiner Weise mit der Geschichte dieses Ortes zu tun hat, sei es im weiter gefassten oder im  administrativen Sinn; das Archiv kann auch etwas sein, das im Haus von jemandem gefunden wird. Es kann ein Familienarchiv sein, das auch einen Teil der Sozialgeschichte umfasst. Wir sind soziale Wesen, und die Dinge, die wir in unseren Häusern ansammeln, sind Teile eines zusammengesetzten Ganzen.
 
Ich glaube fest an den Begriff des Archivs; an die Fotos, Dokumente, die eine Familie vielleicht aufbewahrt hat, wie zum Beispiel die Negative und Filme im Rigopoulos-Archiv, der ja selbst ein obsessiver Fotograf gewesen ist. Heute haben diese Dinge eine andere Dimension. Sie stehen für eine bestimmte Epoche. Man weiß nie, wo und wann diese Materialien verwendet werden, schließlich können wir die Bedürfnisse zukünftiger Forscher*innen nicht vorhersehen. Archive sind wichtig, weil sie Aspekte der Vergangenheit beleuchten.
Peripheral Vision 2 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK JM
Genau das ist in diesem Workshop geschehen, bei dem wir den neun teilnehmenden Künstler*innen bzw. Teams die Rigopoulos-Filmsammlung, ein Klangarchiv von Syros Sound Meetings und Filmarchive aus der Kairoer Cimatheque zur Verfügung gestellt haben. Jede*r von ihnen hat sich dabei etwas ganz anderes daraus vorgenommen.
 
AP
So ist es. Das ist der Reiz daran und zugleich der Unterschied. Die unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen, die die Leute aufgrund ihres Hintergrunds und ihrer Ziele mitbringen. Es geht um den Kontext, aber auch um den Zweck, um das, was jemand damit erreichen will. Das ist auch das Schöne daran.
 
JM
Nehmen wir zum Beispiel die Rigopoulos-Sammlung: Wie kam es, dass sie Teil des Historischen Archivs hier wurde?
 
AP
Eines Sommers tauchte sein Neffe, der Zahnarzt Thanopoulos, auf und erzählte mir, dass er und seine Cousine, also die Tochter von Rigopoulos, beschlossen hätten, uns die Sammlung zu vermachen. Thanopoulos muss Mitglied der Syriot Association in Athen sein, und wahrscheinlich hat er von verschiedenen Mitgliedern, die uns unterstützen, von uns gehört. Vielleicht ist er auch zu Forschungszwecken hierhergekommen. Auf jeden Fall schätzte er das Archiv sehr und kam mit dem festen Entschluss, uns die Filme zu geben [...] Ich selbst kannte Herrn Rigopoulos persönlich und zwar schon aus der Schulzeit. Wirklich ein sehr lieber Mann.
Peripheral Vision 3 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK JM
Die Rigopoulos-Filme sind ein intimes Familienporträt und zugleich eine historische Momentaufnahme von Syros. Die Paraden, die Gebäudefassaden, die Kleidungsstile – sie alle vermitteln einen bestimmten Kontext [...] Obwohl es sich in erster Linie um eine historische, dokumentenorientierte Sammlung handelt, stelle ich fest, dass Sie auch Erfahrung mit audiovisuellen Medien und mit Oral History haben.
 
AP
Im Rahmen einer Ausstellung, die anlässlich des 80-jährigen Jahrestags des griechisch-türkischen Krieges von 1919-1922 stattfand [...], haben wir Einwanderer der ersten und zweiten Generation interviewt. Die Angehörigen der ersten Generation waren wirklich schon im vorgerückten Alter, und manchmal schafften wir es nicht einmal, sie rechtzeitig zu erreichen, was wirklich bedauerlich war [...]. Danach wurde dieses Material digitalisiert und auf eine Plattform hochgeladen, die den Einwanderern der gesamten Mittelmeerregion gewidmet ist. Syros war ein großes Zentrum der Einwanderung; Hermoupolis ist eine Flüchtlingsstadt. Eine erste Welle gab es 1822, damals kamen die Inselbewohner von Chios und Psara, 1824 die aus Kasos. Hundert Jahre später gab es eine zweite Welle aus Kleinasien.
 
JM
Können Sie uns auch etwas darüber erzählen, wie Sie neue Materialien in das Archiv einpflegen? Wie geht dieser Prozess vonstatten?
 
AP
Das Historische Archiv ist dem Bildungsministerium unterstellt. Es hat die Aufgabe, Archive zu identifizieren und zu inspizieren, um ihren Wert zu schätzen. Wenn sie keinen Wert haben – wenn sie zum Beispiel schon in irgendeiner Form als Duplikate existieren –, veranlassen wir deren Vernichtung. Wenn nicht, nehmen wir das Archiv an uns, dokumentieren es, registrieren es in unserem Archivregister und nehmen es in unseren elektronischen Bestand auf. Dann beginnen wir damit, es zu ordnen und zu bearbeiten. Die Herkunft des Archivs gibt in der Regel die geeignete Organisationsstruktur vor: Das Stadtarchiv ist beispielsweise nach den Kategorien Verwaltung, Standesamt usw. geordnet. Wir folgen also dieser Struktur, fügen nummerierte Ordner ein, vergeben Beschreibungen [...] und jetzt, mit unserer elektronischen Archivierungsplattform, laden wir es dort auch hoch.
 
Abgesehen davon nehmen wir Anfragen von Privatpersonen, Behörden usw. entgegen. [...] Es ist wirklich eine herrliche Arbeit, man wird ihrer nie überdrüssig. Es ist eine Reise durch die Zeit, aber gleichzeitig auch eine introspektive Reise. Wir haben im Laufe der Jahre immer wieder erlebt, dass Menschen aus aller Welt hierherkommen und Informationen über ihre seit langem verschollenen Verwandten finden [...]. Das ist die soziale Dimension des Ganzen. Aber es gibt natürlich auch die wissenschaftliche Dimension und die persönliche Dimension, zumindest meiner Erfahrung nach.
Peripheral Vision 4 © Rigopoulos Collection, Historical Archive of Syros – GAK Der Text ist eine bearbeitete und gekürzte Fassung eines Gesprächs, das im Historischen Archiv von Syros (GAK) zwischen Jacob Moe, dem Mitbegründer des Syros International Film Festival (SIFF), und Angeliki Psilopoulou, der Leiterin des Archivs, stattfand. Im Rahmen des vom Goethe Institut-Athen unterstützten SIFF-Workshops mit dem Titel „Peripheral Vision“, unter der Leitung des Filmemachers Tamer El Said, hat das Historische Archiv von Syros ausgewählten Filmemacher*innen bzw. Kreativteams drei Discs mit digitalisiertem Super-8-Filmmaterial zur Verfügung gestellt, das zwischen 1966-1972 von G. Rigopoulos gedreht wurde. Die Workshopreihe begann im September 2020 und endet auf der neunten Ausgabe des SIFF (22. bis 26. Juli 2021), wo die endgültigen Projekte präsentiert werden.
 

 

Top