Presentation/Discussion EthicAI=FORUM: How can AI be right?

Thu, 24.11.2022

17:00

Goethe-Institut Athen

Artificial intelligence and machine learning-based applications and devices are part of our daily lives, whether we realize it or not. The debate about this technological progress varies from admiration and hope for a better life to skepticism and fear of AI taking over the world. However, there are more aspects of this debate, and one of these is whether AI can be objective and impartial, considering the limitations of the machine learning process. The training of AI tools remains controversial, and very often it reflects the datasets’ limitations based on gender, background, social status, and cultural belonging.

The EthicAI=FORUM 2022 will offer its contribution to this debate by presenting the results of the fellow teams' collaborations within the project.

Fifteen fellows from Southeast Europe took part in this regional project, forming four teams. Their creative ideas developed over the course of the project, with the support of three mentors from Greece, Romania, and Turkey.  The 6-month collaboration will culminate on November 24th, when the teams will present the results of their work to the public. 

The EthicAI=FORUM will take place at Goethe-Institut Athens on November 24th, giving the floor to the teams’ works ranging from art installations to a healthcare application and a research paper. The event programme includes a panel discussion with presentations by the four teams where they’ll share more about the project's concept, their motivation to pick this topic, the methodology they used, and their insights from the working process.

How can AI be right? is the core question of a cross-disciplinary panel discussion with project mentors Mihaela Constantinescu (RO), Marinos Koutsomichalis (GR), and Fatih Sinan Esen (TR) on the topics the teams have chosen in their projects.

EthicAI=FORUM will be a showcase for what young professionals in the SEE region find interesting and relevant in terms of the application of AI in people’s lives, and it will present the project fellows’ contributions to this debate.
 

PROGRAMME

5:00 pm –  Doors open, project exhibition

6:30 pm – Welcome words by the Goethe-Institut, Athens
EthicAI=LABS: A summary
EthicAI=2022 Projects presentations:
AImotion (Adin Alispahić, Cristina Bodnărescu, Davor Ljubenkov, and Tarik Spahić)
ALMA (Adna Šišić, Lidia Stanulova, and Matei Stanciugelu)
Glubot (Katerina Petelova, Livia Zaharia, and Tamara Vukičević)
Blackbox (Anastasia Nefeli Vidaki, Lida Zacharopoulou, Mihaela Dobreva, Tea Rukavina, and Vivian Stamou)

7:30 pm – How can AI be right?
A multidisciplinary perspective on Ethics and AI – Panel with   Mihaela Constantinescu (RO), Marinos Koutsomichalis (GR), and Fatih Sinan Esen (TUR) 
 
8:30 pm – Reception & networking / party with DJ set by Hypermedium label 
 

Speakers

Mihaela Constantinescu is a lecturer in the Faculty of Philosophy, University of Bucharest, and Executive Director of the Research Center in Applied Ethics (CCEA). She has published on topics related to virtue ethics, business ethics, and AI ethics, focusing her research on the normative interplay between the concepts of moral responsibility and moral agency in relation to individuals, organizations, and AI.

Marinos Koutsomichalis is an artist, scholar, and creative technologist. He is broadly interested in the materiality of self-generative systems, (post-)digital objecthood, sound, image, data, electronic circuitry, perception, selfhood, landscapes/environments, and media/technologies. He is a Lecturer in Creative Multimedia at the Cyprus University of Technology (Limassol, CY), where he co-directs the Media Arts and Design Research Lab. 

Fatih Sinan Esen is a computer engineer also with a background in Business Administration. He is a Scientific Programs Chief Expert at the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK). His current areas of interest are Artificial Intelligence (Machine Learning and Deep Learning), Data Analytics and Text Mining, Social Media and Social Network Analysis and Marketing, Management and Organizational Behavior.
 

Manolis Andriotakis is a journalist and an author. Over the last 15 years, his research has focused mainly on techno-societal issues. He has consistently investigated the role of the internet, social media platforms and artificial intelligence products on humanity. He has published several books, produced a number of documentaries, and he is a contributing author for Kathimerini newspaper, one of Greece’s leading publications.

Hypermedium is an Athens-based music label aiming to showcase contemporary directions in electronic music, from mutated club music and electronic de-composition to advanced computer music synthesis and research in rhythmic idiosyncrasies.

FELLOW-TEAMS

Glubot
(Katerina Petelova, Livia Zaharia, and Tamara Vukičević)
AI Made by You, for You. 
The project aims to help diabetics around the world using the data generated by continuous glucose monitoring sensors. Users with CGMs will be able to interact with the AI, proving that fear of the unknown is unfounded, be it of technology or of your own data; having the situation explained is an advantage that can literally put you in control.

AIMotion
(Adin Alispahić, Cristina Bodnărescu, Davor Ljubenkov, and Tarik Spahić)
Smiling, frowning, or raising the eyebrows can show a lot about the way a person is feeling in the moment. But to what extent are these features enough for an AI to truly reveal and influence a person’s emotions? 
Tackling the idea of an AI system being reductionist in reading human emotions, the project invites participants to an intimate non-verbal dialogue with a machine capable of creating colors and visualizations based on the confidence level of the participants’ basic emotions, such as fear, anger, happiness, and disgust.

ALMA
(Adna Šišić, Lidia Stanulova, and Matei Stanciugelu)
How would you feel if we told you that you were being observed? Everywhere. Every day. Every minute. Every second. 
What if we told you that your privacy was being invaded? By everyone. Everywhere. Every day. Every minute. Every second. 
Would you feel uncomfortable? Disturbed? Threatened? 
How long did it take before a new dystopian scenario started playing in your head? What does the plot revolve around: the loss of privacy, constant surveillance, discrimination, or the instinctive fear of human redundancy? Choose wisely. The clock is ticking.

BLACKBOX
(Anastasia Nefeli Vidaki, Lida Zacharopoulou, Mihaela Dobreva, Tea Rukavina, and Vivian Stamou)
An interdisciplinary art installation exploring gender bias in Artificial Intelligence. Are AI algorithms biased? Why are many women (self-)excluded from the STEAM fields and the discussions around AI?
Inspired by our own shared experiences of discrimination in the workplace, this project is the outcome of the international collaboration of five young female professionals, researchers, and artists, united by a common passion for technology and AI.
Drawing from the definition of the black box as a complex system whose internal workings are hidden or not readily understood, the exhibition invites guests to enter a physical maze and walk through various aspects of gender bias, presented using storytelling and AI algorithms such as facial recognition and text-to-image generators.

Back

Präsentation/Diskussion EthicAI=FORUM: How can AI be right?

 © Studio Punkt

Do, 24.11.2022

17:00

Goethe-Institut Athen

Künstliche Intelligenz und auf maschinellem Lernen basierende Anwendungen und Geräte sind Teil unseres täglichen Lebens, ob wir uns dessen bewusst sind oder nicht. Die Debatte über diesen technologischen Fortschritt reicht von Bewunderung und Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben bis hin zu Skepsis und Angst vor einer Übernahme der Welt durch KI. Ein weiterer Aspekt dieser Debatte, ist die Frage, ob KI objektiv und unparteiisch sein kann, wenn man die Grenzen des maschinellen Lernprozesses bedenkt. Das Training von KI-Tools ist nach wie vor umstritten und spiegelt häufig die Beschränkungen der Datensätze aufgrund von Geschlecht, Herkunft, sozialem Status und kultureller Zugehörigkeit wider.

Das EthicAI=FORUM 2022 leistet einen Beitrag zu dieser Debatte, indem es die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit  von 15 Fellows präsentiert.

Fünfzehn Stipendiat*innen aus Südosteuropa nehmen an diesem regionalen Projekt teil und bilden vier Teams. Ihre kreativen Ideen entwickelten sich im Laufe des Projekts mit der Unterstützung von drei Mentor*innen aus Griechenland, Rumänien und der Türkei.  Die sechsmonatige Zusammenarbeit wird am 24. November ihren Höhepunkt erreichen, wenn die Teams die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit der Öffentlichkeit präsentieren werden. 

Das EthicAI=FORUM findet am 24. November 2022 im Goethe-Institut Athen statt, um die Arbeiten der Teams zu präsentieren, die von Kunstinstallationen über eine Anwendung im Gesundheitsbereich bis hin zu einem Forschungspapier reichen. Das Programm umfasst eine Podiumsdiskussion mit Präsentationen der vier Teams, in denen sie mehr über das Konzept des Projekts, ihre Motivation für das Thema, die von ihnen angewandte Methodik und Einblicke in den Arbeitsprozess berichten werden.

How can AI be right? ist die Kernfrage einer interdisziplinären Podiumsdiskussion mit den Projektmentor*innen Mihaela Constantinescu (RO), Marinos Koutsomichalis (GR) und Fatih Sinan Esen (TR) über die ethischen Auseinandersetzungen, die auch die Teams für Ihre Projekte gewählt haben. 

EthicAI=FORUM wird ein Schaufenster dafür sein, was Young Professionals in der Region Südosteuropa in Bezug auf die Anwendung von KI und Ihrer Bias für relevant halten.
 

PROGRAMM

17:00 Uhr – Öffnung der Türen, Projektausstellung

18:30 Uhr – Begrüßung
EthicAI=LABS: Eine Zusammenfassung
EthicAI=2022 Projektpräsentationen:
AImotion (Adin Alispahić, Cristina Bodnărescu, Davor Ljubenkov und Tarik Spahić)
ALMA (Adna Šišić, Lidia Stanulova und Matei Stanciugelu)
Glubot (Katerina Petelova, Livia Zaharia und Tamara Vukičević)
Blackbox (Anastasia Nefeli Vidaki, Lida Zacharopoulou, Mihaela Dobreva, Tea Rukavina und Vivian Stamou)

19:30 Uhr – How can AI be right?
Eine multidisziplinäre Perspektive auf Ethik und KI - Panel mit Mihaela Constantinescu (RO), Marinos Koutsomichalis (GR) und Fatih Sinan Esen (TUR) 

20:30 Uhr – Empfang & Networking / Party mit DJ-Set des Labels
Hypermedium 
 

Mentor*innen / auf dem Panel: 

Mihaela Constantinescu ist Dozentin an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Bukarest und geschäftsführende Direktorin des Forschungszentrums für angewandte Ethik (CCEA). Sie hat zu Themen im Zusammenhang mit Tugendethik, Wirtschaftsethik und KI-Ethik veröffentlicht und konzentriert ihre Forschung auf das normative Zusammenspiel zwischen den Konzepten der moralischen Verantwortung und der moralischen Handlungsfähigkeit in Bezug auf Individuen, Organisationen und KI. 

Marinos Koutsomichalis ist Künstler, Wissenschaftler und kreativer Technologe. Sein Interesse gilt der Materialität selbstgenerierender Systeme, (post-)digitalen Objekten, Klang, Bildern, Daten, elektronischen Schaltkreisen, Wahrnehmung, Selbstsein, Landschaften/Umgebungen und Medien/Technologien. Er ist Dozent für kreative Multimedia an der Technischen Universität von Zypern (Limassol, CY), wo er das Media Arts and Design Research Lab mit leitet. 

Fatih Sinan Esen ist Computeringenieur auch mit einem Hintergrund in Betriebswirtschaft. Er ist Chief Expert für wissenschaftliche Programme beim Wissenschaftlichen und Technologischen Forschungsrat der Türkei (TUBITAK). Seine derzeitigen Interessengebiete sind künstliche Intelligenz (maschinelles Lernen und Deep Learning), Datenanalyse und Text Mining, soziale Medien und soziale Netzwerkanalyse sowie Marketing, Management und organisatorisches Verhalten.

Hypermedium ist ein in Athen ansässiges Musiklabel, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, zeitgenössische Richtungen in der elektronischen Musik zu präsentieren, von mutierter Clubmusik und elektronischer Dekomposition bis hin zu hoch entwickelter Computermusiksynthese und der Erforschung rhythmischer Idiosynkrasien.

Fellow-Teams 

Glubot 
(Katerina Petelova, Livia Zaharia und Tamara Vukičević)
AI made by you, for you.
Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Diabetiker*innen auf der ganzen Welt zu helfen, indem es die von Sensoren zur kontinuierlichen Glukoseüberwachung generierten Daten nutzt. Nutzer mit CGMs werden mit der KI interagieren können, was beweist, dass die Angst vor dem Unbekannten unbegründet ist. Ob es sich nun um die Technologie oder die eigenen Daten handelt, es ist von Vorteil, die Situation erklärt zu bekommen, um buchstäblich die Kontrolle zu übernehmen.

AIMotion
(Adin Alispahić, Cristina Bodnărescu, Davor Ljubenkov und Tarik Spahić)
Lächeln, Stirnrunzeln oder hochgezogene Augenbrauen können viel darüber aussagen, wie sich eine Person in einem bestimmten Moment fühlt. Aber inwieweit reichen diese Merkmale aus, damit eine KI die Emotionen eines Menschen wirklich erkennen und beeinflussen kann? 
Das Projekt setzt sich mit der Idee auseinander, dass ein KI-System beim Lesen menschlicher Emotionen reduktionistisch sein könnte, und lädt die Teilnehmer*innen zu einem intimen nonverbalen Dialog mit einer Maschine ein, die in der Lage ist, Farben und Visualisierungen basierend auf dem Konfidenzniveau ihrer Grundemotionen wie Angst, Wut, Glück und Ekel zu erzeugen.

ALMA
(Adna Šišić, Lidia Stanulova und Matei Stanciugelu)
Wie würdest du dich fühlen, wenn wir dir sagen, dass du beobachtet wurdest? Überall. Jeden Tag. Jede Minute. Jede Sekunde. 
Was, wenn wir Dir sagen, dass unsere Privatsphäre verletzt wird? Von jedem. Überall. Jeden Tag. Jede Minute. Jede Sekunde. 
Fühlst Du Dich unwohl? Beunruhigt? Bedroht? 
Wie lange hat es gedauert, bis sich in Deinem Kopf ein neues dystopisches Szenario abgespielt hat? Worum dreht sich die Handlung? Um den Verlust der Privatsphäre, die ständige Überwachung, um Diskriminierung oder die instinktive Angst vor menschlicher Redundanz? Wähle weise. Die Uhr tickt.

BLACKBOX
(Anastasia Nefeli Vidaki, Lida Zacharopoulou, Mihaela Dobreva, Tea Rukavina und Vivian Stamou)
Eine interdisziplinäre Kunstinstallation, die geschlechtsspezifische Vorurteile in der künstlichen Intelligenz untersucht. Sind KI-Algorithmen voreingenommen? Warum werden viele Frauen in den MINT-Feldern und in den Diskussionen um KI (selbst)ausgeschlossen?
Inspiriert von unseren eigenen Erfahrungen mit Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz, ist dieses Projekt das Ergebnis der internationalen Zusammenarbeit von fünf jungen weiblichen Expertinnen, Forscherinnen und Künstlerinnen, die durch eine gemeinsame Leidenschaft für Technologie und KI vereint sind.
Ausgehend von der Definition der Blackbox als komplexes System, dessen innere Funktionsweise verborgen oder nicht ohne Weiteres zu verstehen ist, lädt die Ausstellung die Besucher*innen ein, ein physisches Labyrinth zu betreten und durch verschiedene Aspekte der geschlechtsspezifischen Voreingenommenheit zu gehen, die mit Hilfe von Erzählungen und KI-Algorithmen wie Gesichtserkennung und Text-Bild-Generatoren dargestellt werden.

Zurück