Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Muslims in Germany

In the budding 21st century, Germany understands itself as a country of religious diversity. Several phases of immigration have led to increased ethnic and religious plurality since the 1950s. Today, about 5 percent or 4,100,000 of the inhabitants of Germany are of Muslim faith. Cities such as Berlin, Cologne and Hamburg house representative mosque buildings and are centers for Muslim life and Islamic culture in Germany. In contrast to many countries where the majority of citizens belong to Islam, Muslims in Germany are part of a religious minority in the midst of a secular society.

The Goethe-Institut Indonesien compiles essays, interviews and photo stories on its website, which give the viewer an insight into the daily life of German Muslims. How do Muslims practice their religion in Germany? How do they interact with their social environment? What kind of wishes, joys, worries and hardships accompany them? The selected contributions deliberately do not claim to draw a complete picture. Rather, they aim to invite people to discover an aspect of Germany that still remains unknown to many international viewers.

The articles are also linked to a study program of the Goethe-Institut Indonesien that brings together young Indonesian intellectuals and German Muslims and informs them about Islam-specific discourses in Germany. In October 2017, the first trip took 14 participants to Berlin, Göttingen and Frankfurt.

Articles

Video interviews

We asked Muslims from Germany about their beliefs. How do they practice their religion, how do they experience Ramadan in Germany, how are they perceived by their personal and social environment, at university and in their workplace? In video interviews, our discussion partners talk about their experiences.

Photo stories

In an open photo competition, we asked young German Muslims to portray themselves in a series of five to seven snapshots. The only requirement was that the participants tell a visual story about their daily lives as Muslims in Germany - whether it is everyday life in the office, family celebrations, activities in the community or snapshots with friends. The participants were encouraged to be as creative as possible. From all submissions, the jury selected five that we published on our website.  

Top

Muslimisches Leben in Deutschland - Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Muslimisches Leben in Deutschland

 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Muslime in Deutschland

Im angehenden 21. Jahrhundert versteht sich Deutschland als ein Land der religiösen Vielfalt. Mehrere Phasen der Zuwanderung haben seit den 50er Jahren zu einer verstärkten ethnischen und religiösen Pluralität geführt. Heute sind 5 Prozent der Bevölkerung muslimischen Glaubens. Das entspricht in etwa 4,1 Millionen Einwohnern. Städte wie Berlin, Köln und Hamburg beherbergen repräsentative Moscheen und sind Zentren für muslimisches Leben und islamische Kultur in Deutschland. Im Gegensatz zu vielen Ländern, in denen die Mehrheit der Bürger dem Islam angehört, sind die Muslime in Deutschland Teil einer religiösen Minderheit inmitten einer mehrheitlich säkularen Gesellschaft.

Das Goethe-Institut Indonesien stellt auf seiner Webseite Essays, Interviews und Fotostories zusammen, die dem Betrachter einen Einblick in das alltägliche Leben deutscher Muslime ermöglichen sollen. Wie praktizieren Muslime in Deutschland ihre Religion? Wie interagieren sie mit Ihrem gesellschaftlichen Umfeld? Welche Wünsche, Freuden, Sorgen und Nöte begleiten sie? Die Auswahl der Beiträge erhebt bewusst nicht den Anspruch, ein vollständiges Bild zu zeichnen. Die Beiträge sollen vielmehr dazu einladen, einen Aspekt Deutschlands zu entdecken, der für viele internationale Betrachter bislang unbekannt ist.

Das Angebot knüpft zudem an ein Programm für Studienreisen an, durch welches das Goethe-Institut Indonesien junge indonesische Intellektuelle mit deutschen Muslimen zusammenbringt und über islamspezifische Diskurse in Deutschland informiert. Im Oktober 2017 ging die erste Reise mit 14 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern nach Berlin, Göttingen und Frankfurt. 

Artikel

Videointerviews

Wir haben Muslime aus Deutschland nach ihrem Glauben gefragt. Wie praktizieren sie ihre Religion, wie erleben sie den Ramadan in Deutschland, wie werden sie von ihrem persönlichen und gesellschaftlichen Umfeld, in der Universität und am Arbeitsplatz wahrgenommen? In Videointerviews berichten unsere Gesprächspartner von ihren Erfahrungen. 

Fotostories

In einem offenen Fotowettbewerb haben wir junge deutsche Muslime gebeten, sich in fünf bis sieben Momentaufnahmen selbst zu portraitieren. Die einzige Voraussetzung war, dass die Teilnehmer eine visuelle Geschichte aus Ihrem täglichen Leben als Muslime und Musliminnen in Deutschland erzählen. Ob Alltag im Büro, Familienfeiern, Aktivitäten in der Gemeinde oder Schnappschüsse mit Freunden - die Teilnehmer konnten Ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf lassen. Aus allen eingereichten Beiträgen wählte ein Jury-Team die fünf Besten aus, die wir hier auf unserer Webseite veröffentlicht haben.      

Top