Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
GoetheKonter – Riau Riung© Goethe-Institut Bandung

Open Call
GoetheKonter – Riau Riung

Goethe-Institut Bandung in collaboration with Indeks invites creative practitioners to participate in GoetheKonter – Riau Riung, a portable micro gallery with a current focus on issues in the neighbourhood surrounding Goethe-Institut Bandung. This call is open for artists of various mediums, as well as designers, photographers, researchers, and writers to participate in a residency to develop their ideas over an incubation period of six weeks and then present their work at selected venues.

Seeing Bandung as a city constantly in flux and adapting to the needs of its inhabitants, GoetheKonter – Riau Riung invites creative practitioners to rethink various elements that constitute the urban space surrounding Goethe-Institut Bandung, specifically within ±1KM or 5-10 minutes walking distance. 
 
Goethe-Institut Bandung is surrounded by places where people gather. From sports facilities, music concert venues, art exhibition spaces, shopping districts, and hangout spots. As written in Buku Wajah Bandoeng Tempo Doeloe (1984), by Haryoto Koento and Arkeologi Masa Kini (2010), by Iwan Hermawan this area was once known as Europese Zakenwijk or the European Business District during the Dutch colonial era. Some of the buildings that constructed the spatial identity in this area include Jaarbeurs de Bandung, now called Kologdam, Nederlands Indie Athletiek Unie, or Saparua Park, Centrum Swimming Pool, Saint Albanus Complex, and the residential area of Riouwstraat for Dutch residents. One of the houses now functions as the Goethe-Institut Bandung. The shifts in the functions and usage of these places have reflected the trends and the consumption cycles of the city’s inhabitants.
 
Since the beginning of the millennium, the regeneration of creative practitioners in Bandung has made a variety of new activities available to the general public in this area. Saparua Park, which was once famous as a venue for music concerts, has now been primarily repurposed for sports, in addition to the roller skate rink. The presence of factory outlets, photogenic cafes with ever-changing culinary delights, traditional market lots repurposed for cultural activities, and rebranded urban parks have all contributed to visible shifts in spatial functions, evidenced by changes in the environment, the façades, the commodities, and the target audience. At the same time, it is also crucial to critically assess layers beneath what is visible at the first glance, for example, the impact of the digital revolution, efficiency of production, and the recent pandemic as well as the dynamics of subcultures that continuously negotiate with the authorities.
 
How would you respond to these phenomena and present them in GoetheKonter? With the title Riau Riung, participants are invited to work within this framework in a residency over an incubation period of six weeks. The Goethe-Institut Bandung as a platform to explore ideas as well as artistic and cultural practices, serves as a starting point for participants to re-examine the functions and meaning of space. With proximity to the context and the themes that are potentially elaborated, participants will be accompanied as they develop their ideas in order to facilitate the exploration of further possibilities of engaging the local audience in public activities. By the end of the project, participants will exhibit their work in the Konter at selected public spaces for six weeks.

About GoetheKonter

GoetheKonter is a rhizomatic, collaborative project by Goethe-Institut Bandung and Indeks designed to introduce artistic practices to a broad audience by creating portable micro galleries as glass boxes measuring no more than 80 x 40 x 40 cm to be distributed around Bandung as temporary exhibitions. The “Konter” part of the project name stems from Indeks curatorial project “Galeri Konter”; the Indonesian term “Konter” means “showcase” (noun) and “to counter” (verb). For this edition, participating artists will develop their works to be presented in the Konter after a six-week residency at the premises of Goethe-Institut Bandung. The project provides an opportunity for art practitioners to work with different presentation formats, contextualize their artistic concepts to the surroundings, and engage a wider audience with different demographic backgrounds.

Initiated in February 2020, Indeks has three main objectives: to trace back the development of the art ecosystem in Bandung, to fill the role as an independent research center and a crowd-sourced archiving platform, and to cultivate dialogues and promote knowledge exchange among art practitioners. Indeks’ focus is on archives and libraries, research and development, artist residencies, film and moving image programs. They recently worked with the British Council and the Japan Foundation, and they co-curated an exhibition at Museum MACAN Jakarta.
 

  • Six-week work and research residency at the Goethe-Institut Bandung.
  • Studio visits.
  • Developing proposed ideas with the invited impulses.
  • Exhibiting works in chosen GoetheKonter located at Goethe-Institut Bandung and/or other partner venues.
  • Public programming by the participants in a form of a workshop, tour, and/or discussion.
Registration period: July 22 - August 19 
Announcement of selected participants: August 29 
Developing ideas and production: September 5 - October 14 
Exhibitions and public programs: 28/29 October - December 11
  • A shared workspace for the participants.
  • Production and artist fee.
  • Impulses by urban experts.
  • Curatorial Accompaniment by Indeks.
For young artists, designers, photographers, researchers and writers (21-35 years old) based in Bandung and West Java.
To register, send the completed registration form. Please download the Registration Form and then complete it and send it along with your CV (max. 2 pages) and also samples of your works/writings (3-5 samples, not more than 10 MB) to the email address lukman.hakim@goethe.de with the subject GoetheKonter – Riau Riung. We will send out a confirmation e-mail to all applicants one day after the registration closed.

Contact

Lukman Hakim
Coordinator Culture Program
lukman.hakim @goethe.de


Partner

Index







 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
GoetheKonter – Riau Riung© Goethe-Institut Bandung

Offene Auschreibung
GoetheKonter – Riau Riung

Das Goethe-Institut Bandung lädt in Zusammenarbeit mit Indeks zur Teilnahme an GoetheKonter - Riau Riung ein, einer mobilen Mikrogalerie, die sich mit aktuellen Themen in der Umgebung des Goethe-Instituts Bandung beschäftigt. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Künstler*innen verschiedener Medien sowie an Designer*innen, Fotograf*innen, Forscher*innen und Schriftsteller*innen, die im Rahmen einer sechswöchigen Vorbereitungszeit ihre Ideen entwickeln und ihre Arbeiten anschließend an ausgewählten Veranstaltungsorten in der Nachbarschaft des Goethe-Instituts Bandung präsentieren möchten.

Bandung ist eine Stadt, die sich ständig verändert und sich an die Bedürfnisse ihrer Bewohner*innen anpasst. GoetheKonter - Riau Riung lädt Kunstschaffende ein, verschiedene Elemente zu überdenken, die den urbanen Raum rund um das Goethe-Institut Bandung ausmachen, insbesondere im Umkreis von ±1 km oder 5-10 Gehminuten. 

Das Goethe-Institut Bandung ist von Orten umgeben, an denen Menschen zusammenkommen - Sportanlagen, Konzert-, und Ausstellungsräume, Einkaufszentren und andere Treffpunkte. Während der niederländischen Kolonialzeit war die Gegend als Europese Zakenwijk oder Europäisches Geschäftsviertel bekannt (s.h. Koento, Haryoto: Buku Wajah Bandoeng Tempo Doeloe, 1984; Hermawan, Iwan: Arkeologi Masa Kini, 2010). Zu den Gebäuden, die die räumliche Identität dort ausmachten, gehören die Jaarbeurs de Bandung, die heute Kologdam heißt, die Nederlands Indie Athletiek Unie oder der Saparua-Park, das Centrum-Schwimmbad, der Saint Albanus-Komplex und das Wohngebiet Riouwstraat für niederländische Einwohner*innen. Eins dieser Häuser beheimatet heute das Goethe-Institut Bandung. Die Veränderungen in den Funktionen und der Nutzung dieser Orte spiegeln die Trends, sozialen Veränderungen und die Konsumzyklen der Stadtbewohner*innen wider.

Seit Beginn des Jahrtausends hat die Wiederbelebung kreativer Praktiken in Bandung eine Vielzahl neuer Aktivitäten in diesem Raum für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Der Saparua-Park, der einst als Veranstaltungsort für Musikkonzerte berühmt war, wird heute neben der Rollschuhbahn vor allem für sportliche Aktivitäten genutzt. Die Ansiedlung von Fabriken, fotogenen Cafés mit ständig wechselnden kulinarischen Angeboten, traditionellen Marktplätzen, die für kulturelle Aktivitäten umgewidmet wurden, und neu gestalteten Stadtparks haben zu sichtbaren Verschiebungen der räumlichen Funktionen beigetragen, die sich in Veränderungen der Umgebung, der Fassaden, der Waren und des Zielpublikums niederschlagen. Gleichzeitig ist es aber auch wichtig, die Schichten hinter dem auf den ersten Blick Sichtbaren kritisch zu bewerten, z. B. die Auswirkungen der digitalen Revolution, der COVID-19 Pandemie sowie die Dynamik von Subkulturen, die ständig mit den Behörden verhandeln.

Wie lässt sich künstlerisch auf diese Phänomene reagieren und die Ergebnisse im GoetheKonter vorstellen? Unter dem Titel Riau Riung sind die Teilnehmenden eingeladen, innerhalb dieses Rahmens in einer sechswöchigen Recherchezeit zu arbeiten. Das Goethe-Institut Bandung als Plattform zur Erforschung von Ideen sowie künstlerischen und kulturellen Praktiken dient den Teilnehmenden als Ausgangspunkt, um die Funktionen und die Bedeutung von Raum zu untersuchen. Durch die Nähe zum Kontext und zu den potenziell zu bearbeitenden Themen werden die Teilnehmenden bei der Entwicklung ihrer Ideen begleitet, um weitere Möglichkeiten zur Einbindung des lokalen Publikums in öffentliche Aktivitäten zu fördern. Am Ende des Projekts werden die Teilnehmer ihre Arbeiten in den GoetheKonters sechs Wochen lang an ausgewählten öffentlichen Orten ausgestellen.

Über GoetheKonter

GoetheKonter ist ein rhizomatisches Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Goethe-Instituts Bandung und Indeks, um künstlerische Praktiken einem breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Dabei tauchen tragbare Mikrogalerien in Form von Glaskästen mit den Maßen 80 x 40 x 40 cm als temporäre Ausstellungen an unterschiedlichen Orten Bandungs auf. Der "Konter"-Teil des Projektnamens geht auf das von Indeks kuratierte Projekt "Galeri Konter" zurück; der indonesische Begriff "Konter" bedeutet "Schaukasten" (Substantiv) und "kontern" (Verb). Für diese Ausgabe werden die teilnehmenden Künstler*innen Werke entwickeln, die nach einem sechswöchigen Arbeits- und Rechercheaufenthalt in den Räumlichkeiten des Goethe-Instituts Bandung in den Konter präsentiert werden. Das Projekt bietet Kunstschaffenden die Möglichkeit, mit verschiedenen Präsentationsformaten zu arbeiten, ihre künstlerischen Konzepte zu kontextualisieren und ein breiteres Publikum mit unterschiedlichen demografischen Hintergründen anzusprechen.

Indeks wurde im Februar 2020 ins Leben gerufen und verfolgt drei Hauptziele: die Entwicklung des Kunst-Ökosystems in Bandung nachzuvollziehen, die Rolle eines unabhängigen Forschungszentrums und einer Crowd-Source-Archivierungsplattform auszufüllen und den Dialog und den Wissensaustausch zwischen Kunstschaffenden zu fördern. Der Schwerpunkt von Indeks liegt auf Archiven und Bibliotheken, Forschung und Entwicklung, Künstleraufenthalten sowie Film- und Bewegtbildprogrammen. Vor kurzem haben sie mit dem British Council und der Japan Foundation zusammengearbeitet und eine Ausstellung im Museum MACAN Jakarta mit kuratiert.
 

  • Sechswöchiger Arbeits- und Rechercheaufenthalt am Goethe-Institut Bandung.
  • Atelierbesuche.
  • Entwicklung der vorgeschlagenen Ideen mit eingeladenen Impulsgeber*innen.
  • Ausstellung der Arbeiten in GoetheKonter am Goethe-Institut Bandung und/oder an anderen ausgewählten Partnerorten.
  • Öffentliche Programmgestaltung durch die Teilnehmenden in Form eines Workshops, einer Führung und/oder einer Diskussion.
  • Bewerbungszeitraum: 22. Juli - 19. August 
  • Bekanntgabe der ausgewählten Teilnehmer: 29. August 
  • Ideenentwicklung und Produktion: 5. September - 14. Oktober 
  • Ausstellungen und öffentliche Programme: 28/29. Oktober - 11. Dezember
  • Ein gemeinsamer Arbeitsraum für die Teilnehmer*innen.
  • Produktions- und Künstler*innenhonorare.
  • Impulse durch urbane Expert*innen.
  • Kuratorische Begleitung durch Indeks.
Für junge Künstler*innen, Designer*innen, Fotograf*innen, Forscher*innen und Schriftsteller*innen im Alter zwischen 21-35 Jahren mit Wohnsitz in Bandung und West Java.
Die Anmeldung erfolgt via dem Anmeldeformular. Bitte laden Sie das Anmeldeformular, füllen Sie es aus und senden Sie es zusammen mit Ihrem Lebenslauf (max. 2 Seiten) sowie Arbeitsproben (3-5 Proben, nicht mehr als 10 MB) an die E-Mail-Adresse lukman.hakim @goethe.de mit dem Betreff GoetheKonter - Riau Riung. Einen Tag nach Anmeldeschluss erhalten alle Bewerber*innen eine Bestätigungsmail.

Kontakt

Lukman Hakim
Kulturprogrammkoordinator
lukman.hakim @goethe.de


Partner

Index







 

Top