Interview Four Questions to Marius Hulpe - Makassar International Writer Festival

Makassar International Writer Festival © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Makassar International Writer Festival © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

When I arrived at the festival, it instantly became clear that poetry also plays an important role in the book culture. Indonesians are very interested in literature.

The Makassar International Writers Festival 2016 (MIWF) took place from 18 to 21 May in Makassar, a city located on the Indonesian island of Sulawesi. It provided a stage for both local as well as international poets, authors and speakers to introduce their works and have discussions with the audience. The MIWF can be seen as a platform to bring together authors, journalists, students, artists and literary enthusiasts.

The Goethe-Institut Indonesien invited German author Marius Hulpe to participate in the festival. Mr. Hulpe joined the international seminar "In Translations We Believe" and the workshop "The essential things in poetry" as expert speaker. In addition, he hosted a reading together with Indonesian author Aan Mansyur and held a workshop for German language students at the Universitas Negeri Makassar.


Mr. Hulpe, you have already been to Indonesia 14 years ago. What expectations did you have for your trip to Sulawesi?

On one hand, there were strictly practical things to consider. 14 years ago, for example, I had a vaccination against malaria, which wasn't a good idea. This time, I came without vaccination. On the other hand, I still had a lot of images in my head. The last time I was in Bali, and I was looking forward to compare the images in my head with the ones I was about to see. I noticed that coming back to a place after a long time really is something beautiful.
 
What will you remember most from the time you spent in Indonesia?

Definitely the indescribable enthusiasm of the Indonesian readers. I never experienced anything like this in Germany during literary events, not even when very well-known authors were involved. Actually, you might say that I was treated like a pop star: everywhere I was asked for my autograph or to take a selfie. Hundreds, even thousands, I can't even remember anymore. Prior to my departure I had read an article in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung that poetry does hold a rather significant value in Indonesia but mostly spoken poetry. When I arrived at the festival, it instantly became clear that poetry also plays an important role in the book culture. Indonesians are very interested in literature.
 
How did you like the Makassar International Writers Festival 2016?

It is a unique festival with very different formats that relate to various interest and age groups, from a release reading of a novel to symposia about poetry and translations, conferences on cultural policy, poetological lounges, concerts and a sing-and-play event for children - it was all included. It somewhat reminded me of the Prosanova festival in Hildesheim, but the Makassar festival was bigger and more tropical.

 
You had the possibility to get a better insight into the Indonesian literary scene. What kind of impression are you taking back from this encounter?


I was especially happy and impressed about the fact that you can really win over the audience here. Of course, the text must be the right one, but equally important is the performance. It doesn't seem to matter if they see a rock band from the US on stage or a poet from Germany. The most important thing is that there is a certain vibe, and that the artists dedicate themselves to the audience. If you follow this advice you will have a great time and lots of fun on an Indonesian stage - if the text also comes across.

Interview Vier Fragen an Marius Hulpe - Makassar International Writer Festival

Makassar International Writer Festival © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Makassar International Writer Festival © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Doch auf dem Festival angekommen, wurde gleich deutlich, wie auch die Buchkultur gerade in der Lyrik eine enorme Rolle spielt. Die Indonesier sind sehr literaturinteressierte Menschen.

Vom 18. bis 21. Mai fand in Makassar, auf der indonesischen Insel Sulawesi, das Makassar International Writers Festival 2016 (MIWF) statt. Es bot lokalen, nationalen sowie internationalen Lyrikern, Autoren und Rednern eine Bühne, ihre Werke vorzustellen und mit dem Publikum zu diskutieren. Das MIWF diente somit  als Plattform um Autoren, Journalisten, Studenten, Künstler und Literatur-Interessierte zusammen zu bringen.

Das Goethe-Institut Indonesien lud den deutschen Autor Marius Hulpe ein, ein Teil des Festivals zu sein. Herr Hulpe nahm als Experte an dem  internationalen Seminar „In Translations We Believe“ und dem Workshop „The essential things in poetry“ teil. Zudem leite er gemeinsam mit dem indonesischen Autor Aan Mansyur eine Lesung sowie einen Workshop für Deutschlernende an der Universitas Negeri Makassar.

Herr Hulpe, Sie waren vor 14 Jahren schon einmal in Indonesien. Mit welchen Erwartungen sind Sie nach Sulawesi geflogen? 

Einerseits gab es die ganz praktischen Dinge. Vor 14 Jahren etwa hatte ich mich gegen Malaria geimpft, was keine gute Idee war. Nun habe ich darauf verzichtet. Andererseits sind da natürlich immer noch eine ganze Menge Bilder im Kopf vorhanden, damals war ich auf Bali, und ich freute mich nun einfach darauf, diese Bilder mit dem, was mir jetzt begegnen sollte, abzugleichen. Rückkehr nach langer Zeit ist etwas wirklich Schönes, habe ich gemerkt.
 
Welche Ereignisse während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Indonesien werden Ihnen besonders im Gedächtnis bleiben? 

Ganz eindeutig die unbeschreibliche Begeisterungsfähigkeit der indonesischen Leserinnen und Leser. So etwas habe ich in Deutschland bei Literaturveranstaltungen noch nicht erlebt, auch nicht bei Autoren mit sehr hohen Auflagen. Im Prinzip lässt es sich nicht anders sagen, als dass man wie ein Pop-Star behandelt wurde, überall mussten Autogramme gegeben und Selfies gemacht werden. Hunderte oder Tausende, ich kann es schon nicht mehr sagen. Vorher hatte ich einen Artikel in der FAZ gelesen, der zwar der Lyrik in Indonesien zwar einen gewissen Stellenwert einräumte, aber eben vor allem der gesprochenen. Doch auf dem Festival angekommen, wurde gleich deutlich, wie auch die Buchkultur gerade in der Lyrik eine enorme Rolle spielt. Die Indonesier sind sehr literaturinteressierte Menschen.
 
Wie hat Ihnen das Makassar International Writers Festival  2016 gefallen? 

Es ist ein außergewöhnliches Festival mit sehr verschiedenen Formen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Interessen- und sogar Altersgruppen beziehen, von der Release-Lesung eines Romans über Lyrik- und Übersetzungssymposien, kulturpolitische Konferenzen, poetologische Lounges, verschiedenste Konzerte, bis hin zur Sing- und Spielveranstaltung für Kinder war alles dabei. Ein bisschen hat es mich an das Prosanova-Festival in meiner ehemaligen Studienstadt Hildesheim erinnert, nur größer und vor allem viel tropischer.
 
Sie hatten die Möglichkeit, die indonesische Literaturszene genauer kennen zu lernen. Welche Eindrücke nehmen Sie aus dieser Begegnung mit? 


Mich freut und beeindruckt natürlich besonders, wie sehr man die Menschen hier für sich gewinnen kann. Der Text muss schon stimmen, doch fast genauso entscheidend ist dann auch die Performance. Man scheint keine großen Unterschiede zu machen, ob da gerade eine Rockband aus den USA oder ein Lyriker aus Deutschland auf der Bühne steht. Wichtig ist, dass eine Schwingung entsteht und ein Künstler sich dem Publikum hingibt. Wer das beherzigt, hat auf jeder indonesischen Bühne massiven Spaß. Wenn der Text funktioniert.