Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Journalism Today & Tomorrow

panel 6
26.11.2021 | 6 - 8 PM

A few decades ago, journalism was exclusive to traditional media such as newspapers, radio and television. Today, the internet has lowered the barrier for publishing and enables anyone to share content in their community. The definition of journalism today may no longer be the same. What is journalism in the digital age? How does the digital age change the role of journalism?


Speakers

Ary Hermawan Privat © Ary Hermawan

Ary Hermawan

is an editor at large for The Jakarta Post and a co-founder of Project Multatuli. He earned his master’s degree from the University of Arizona School of Journalism and has recently commenced a PhD program at the University of Melbourne.

Darshini KandasamyPrivat: © Darschini Kandasamy

Darshini Kandasamy

is an award-winning editor and journalist and a media literacy advocate based in Kuala Lumpur. Currently the editor of Between The Lines, a daily email newsletter that curates, summarizes and contextualizes daily news in Malaysia, Darshini formerly worked at the globally renowned Malaysian site Malaysiakini. She has also contributed to international publications such as CNN and Foreign Policy. She’s the co-founder of Malaysia Information Literacy Education (MILE), an NGO concerned with instilling media and information literacy skills in youth. MILE also created the multi-lingual “Choices I Make” online role-playing game aimed at tackling the country’s COVID-19 infodemic.

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen© Hans Bredow Institut

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen

is a senior journalism researcher at the Leibniz Institute for Media Research│Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI) in Germany as well as a professor at the University of Hamburg. Her primary areas of expertise are the transformation of journalism within a changing media environment, theories of journalism, and methodology. Her current research focuses on the changing journalism/audience relationship, the datafication of journalism, forms of  “pioneer journalism”, the emerging start-up culture in journalism, and algorithms in  “journalism-like” constructions of public spheres.

Sebastian KatthöverPrivat © Sebastian Katthöver

Sebastian Katthöver

is DW’s Head of Audience Development in Bonn. The team aims to build a network within the multi-language organization, connecting editorial, marketing, web analysis and strategy units. The team manages more than 200 accounts and advises editors on how to improve their footprint on social media and the web. Prior to his current position, Sebastian worked in DW’s strategy department and in communications with RTL Germany. Deutsche Welle is Germany’s international broadcaster with 289 million weekly users on all platforms.


Moderator

Georg MatthesPrivat © Georg Matthes

Georg Matthes

was previously working as an EU correspondent for Deutsche Welle in Brussels. He recently moved to Jakarta as the German broadcaster’s Asia Pacific Bureau Chief. He is in charge of news coverage in the region, reporting on Indonesia as well as Southeast Asia and Australia. 

He studied at the University of London School of Oriental and African Studies and focused early on Asia. His journalism career started in print journalism. Working at the cutting edge of daily news coverage, he enjoys being behind and in front of the camera. In 2020 Matthes hosted the award-winning series “Baking Bread” and published a best-seller book under the same name. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Journalismus Heute & Morgen

panel 6

Noch vor wenigen Jahrzehnten fand Journalismus nur in traditionellen Medien wie Zeitungen, Radio und Fernsehen statt. Inzwischen kann jeder im Internet eigene Beiträge veröffentlichen, Meinungen äußern und darüber berichten, was sich im Umfeld ereignet. Sollte deshalb der Begriff Journalismus neu und offener definiert werden. Wie sieht journalistische Arbeit im digitalen Zeitalter aus? Wie verändert das digitale Zeitalter den Stellenwert des Journalismus?


Sprecher*innen

Ary Hermawan Privat © Ary Hermawan

Ary Hermawan

arbeitet als Redakteur bei der Jakarta Post und ist Mitbegründer von Project Multatuli. Seinen Master-Abschluss erhielt er an der University of Arizona School of Journalism. An der University of Melbourne hat er seit kurzem mit seiner Promotion begonnen.

Darshini KandasamyPrivat: © Darschini Kandasamy

Darshini Kandasamy

ist preisgekrönte Redakteurin, Journalistin und Aktivistin im Bereich Medienkompetenz aus Kuala Lumpur. Derzeit ist sie Redakteurin bei Between the Lines, einem täglichen E-Mail-Newsletter, der wichtige Meldungen des Tages zusammenfasst und in Kontext setzt. Zuvor hat sie bei der international renommierten malaysischen Webseite Malaysiakini gearbeitet. Darshini Kandasamy hat auch international Beiträge veröffentlicht, etwa bei CNN und in der Zeitschrift Foreign Policy. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von Malaysia Information Literacy Education (MILE), einer NGO, die Jugendliche im Bereich Medien und Informationen stärken möchte. MILE hat auch das mehrsprachige Online-Rollenspiel Choices I Make („Entscheidungen, die ich treffe“) kreiert, das sich mit der Covid-19-Infodemie des Landes auseinandersetzt.

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen© Hans Bredow Institut

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen

ist Journalismusforscherin am Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung │ Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI) sowie Professorin an der Universität Hamburg. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Transformation des Journalismus in einer sich verändernden Medienlandschaft, Journalismustheorien sowie Methoden der Kommunikations- und Journalismusforschung. Derzeit untersucht sie die sich verändernden Beziehungen zwischen Journalismus und Rezipient*innen, Formen des „Pionier-Journalismus“, die aufkommende Start-Up-Szene im Journalismus sowie Mechanismen in „journalismusähnlichen“ Konstrukten der Öffentlichkeit.

Sebastian KatthöverPrivat © Sebastian Katthöver

Sebastian Katthöver

ist Head of Audience Development der Deutschen Welle in Bonn. Ziel dieses Teams ist es, ein Netzwerk innerhalb der mehrsprachigen Organisation aufzubauen, das die Bereiche Redaktion, Marketing, Webanalyse und Strategie verbindet. Das Team verwaltet mehr als 200 Accounts und berät Redaktionen, wie sie ihre Präsenz in den sozialen Medien und im Web verbessern können. Vor seiner aktuellen Tätigkeit arbeitete Sebastian in der Strategieabteilung der DW und in der Abteilung für Kommunikation von RTL Deutschland. Die Deutsche Welle ist Deutschlands internationaler Rundfunksender mit 289 Millionen wöchentlichen Nutzer*innen auf allen Plattformen.


Moderator*in

Georg MatthesPrivat © Georg Matthes

Georg Matthes

wechselte erst vor kurzem als Leiter des Asien-Pazifik-Büros der Deutschen Welle nach Jakarta. Zuvor arbeitete er als EU-Korrespondent für den deutschen Sender in Brüssel. Seine Zuständigkeit bei der Berichterstattung aus der Region erstreckt sich über Indonesien, Südostasien und Australien.

Georg Matthes hat an der University of London School of Oriental and African Studies studiert, wo er sich bereits früh auf den asiatischen Bereich spezialisierte. Journalistisch begann seine Laufbahn im Printjournalismus. Ferner mag er bei Berichterstattungen gerne sowohl vor als auch hinter der Kamera stehen. Im Jahr 2020 moderierte Georg Matthes die preisgekrönte Serie Brot backen. Die Veröffentlichung des gleichnamigen Buches, einem Bestseller, folgte.

Top