Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Citizen Journalism: Power Of The People

panel 4
26.11.2021 | 1 - 3 PM

Anyone with a smartphone can contribute information from where journalists have limited or no access. Citizen journalists have become contributors to news media and are an important news source. How does citizen journalism evolve in the era of social media? What are the risks that unedited citizens’ contributions may pose, and how can citizen journalism contribute to public debate?


Speakers

Luh De SuriyaniPrivat: © Luh De Suriyani

Luh De Suriyani

is a freelance journalist. Having chosen journalism as a way of life when a student, she studied at the Academic Student Press, Udayana University and the Alliance of Independent Journalists (AJI). Since 2007 she has been involved in managing the media journalism of BaleBengong residents because he believes that citizens can also produce relevant information. She is currently writing on environmental topics for Mongabay Indonesia and AJI’s national internet board.

Danilo CaspePrivat: © Danilo Caspe

Danilo Caspe

worked in Cambodia as a trainer and training consultant with local human rights organizations from 1995 to 2004 followed by a full-time position at the Cambodian Center for Human Rights (CCHR) until 2007. He then joined some of his colleagues at CCHR to establish the Cambodian Center for Independent Media (CCIM) and set up broadcast and online media outlets. In 2010 he returned to his home country, the Philippines, to work with peace advocacy organizations until 2015. He then returned to  Cambodia to continue working at CCIM up to the present as the Resource Mobilization Director.

Justus von Daniels© Ivo Mayr

Justus von Daniels

is editor-in-chief of the non-profit newsroom Correctiv. He built up the network for local journalism Correctiv.Lokal in 2018. He has worked as an investigative reporter for Correctiv since 2015. Justus is a lawyer and was a postdoc at academic institutions in the USA, including the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, before going into journalism. The crowd-based project “Who owns the city” has earned several journalism awards.


Moderator

Permata AdindaPrivat: © Permata Adinda

Permata Adinda

has been a journalist since 2018 and joined Project Multatuli in August 2021. She participated in the Citradaya Nita 2021 fellowship with the topic of “The Effects of Covid-19 on women and marginalized groups”. In addition to publishing with Project Multatuli, her writings have appeared in The Jakarta Post, Tirto.id, and Jurnal Ruang.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Bürger*innenjournalismus: Die Macht des Volkes

panel 4

Jeder, der ein Smartphone hat, kann aus Regionen, zu denen Journalist*innen keinen oder nur begrenzten Zugang haben, Informationen liefern. Reporter*innen aus der Bevölkerung werden als Nachrichtenquelle immer wichtiger. Wie entwickelt sich der Bürgerjournalismus im Zeitalter der Sozialen Medien? Welche Chancen bieten Beiträge von Bürger*innen und wie können Bürgerreporter*innen einen Beitrag zur öffentlichen Diskussion leisten?


Sprecher*innen

Luh De SuriyaniPrivat: © Luh De Suriyani

Luh De Suriyani

ist freiberufliche Journalistin. Um journalistische Erfahrung zu sammeln und ihre Leidenschaft zum Beruf zu machen, schloss sie sich der Academic Student Press, der Udayana University und der Alliance of Independent Journalists (AJI) an. Seit 2007 kümmert sie sich um das Medienprojekt BaleBengong, da sie überzeugt ist, dass Bürger*innern wichtige journalistische Arbeit leisten können. Derzeit schreibt sie für Mongabay Indonesia und im indonesischen Internetauftritt von AJI über Umweltthemen.

Danilo CaspePrivat: © Danilo Caspe

Danilo Caspe

hat von 1995 bis 2004 in Kambodscha als Trainer und Trainingsberater für lokale Menschenrechtsorganisationen gearbeitet und danach bis 2007 eine Vollzeitstelle am Cambodian Center for Human Rights (CCHR) innegehabt. Danach hat er gemeinsam mit einigen Kolleg*innen vom CCHR das Cambodian Center for Independent Media (CCIM) gegründet und Radio- und Onlinemedienredaktionen aufgebaut. 2010 kehrte er in seine philippinische Heimat zurück, wo er bis 2015 für verschiedene Friedensbewegungen tätig war. Im Anschluss ist er wieder nach Kambodscha gegangen, um weiter am CCIM zu arbeiten, wo er bis heute als Leiter des Bereichs Drittmittel tätig ist.

Justus von Daniels© Ivo Mayr

Justus von Daniels

ist Chefredakteur des Non-Profit-Newsrooms Correctiv. 2018 gründete er das Netzwerk Correctiv.Lokal, ein Netzwerk für lokalen Journalismus. Ferner arbeitet er als investigativer Reporter seit 2015 für Correctiv. Bevor er in die Journalismusbranche wechselte, arbeitete er als Jurist und Postdoc an akademischen Einrichtungen in den USA, so etwa dem Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. Sein crowd-basiertes Projekt „Wem gehört die Stadt?“ hat mehrere Journalistenpreise gewonnen.


Moderator*in

Permata AdindaPrivat: © Permata Adinda

Permata Adinda

arbeitet seit 2018 als Journalistin und hat im August 2021 beim Project Multatuli angefangen. Sie war Stipendiatin des Förderprogramms Citradaya Nita 2021 zum Thema „Die Folgen der Coronapandemie für Frauen und andere Randgruppen.“ Neben ihrer Arbeit für das Project Multatuli sind ihre Beiträge auch in anderen Medien wie der Jakarta Post, Tirto.id oder Jurnal Ruang veröffentlicht worden.

Top