Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
AI in the Newsroom: Friends or Foe?

panel 5
26.11.2021 | 3.30 - 5.30 PM

The development of AI has redefined the implications of technology in the newsroom. The adoption of robot reporters and automated journalism has sparked a worldwide debate about what AI means for journalism. Is AI a threat or an opportunity? How can AI help newsrooms survive and shape the future of journalism? What are the pitfalls and ethical implications of AI-written articles? 


Speakers

Wan Ulfa Nur ZuhraPrivat: © Wan Ulfa Nur Zuhra

Wan Ulfa Nur Zuhra

is the founder and executive director of Indonesian Data Journalism Network. She also works as senior sub-editor at Glance Indonesia. Wan Ulfa has been working as a journalist since 2011. Before joining Glance, she was partner-manager for Collaborative Reporting for Tirto.id. In 2019, her team revealed the massive sexual assault cases in Indonesian universities. Their series of reports won the SOPA Award for Public Service Journalism 2020 and Tasrif Award 2020.

In 2018, she received a Master’s degree in data journalism from Birmingham City University under the Chevening Scholarship program. She won the Midlands Media Student Award in the news category during the studies.

Sebastian JannaschPrivat: © Sebastian Jannasch

Sebastian Jannasch

is Deputy Head of Corporate Strategy of Germany’s international broadcaster Deutsche Welle (DW). Sebastian looks at media and technology trends with an eye to strategy development. He led the process to create DW’s strategic and ethics guidelines for artificial intelligence and served as team lead in the innovation unit “DW Lab”. Before joining DW, he worked as a journalist for a national newspaper in Germany. He has degrees in International Relations from Sciences Po Paris and Humboldt University Berlin and has spent study periods in London and Washington D.C.

Alexandra BorchardtPrivat: © Jacobia Dahm

Alexandra Borchardt

is a senior journalist, book author, lecturer and media adviser. She is a consultant and coach for the World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) in their Table Stakes Europe program on the digital transformation of newsrooms, and she is associated with Hamburg Media School, where she heads the Journalism Innovators Program. She is the lead author of the soon to be published EBU News Report of the European Broadcasting Union and is affiliated with the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford as a Senior Research Associate since serving as Director of Leadership programs until 2019. Prior to this she was managing editor of Süddeutsche Zeitung (SZ), Germany’s leading quality daily.

Charlie BeckettPrivat: © Charlie Beckett

Charlie Beckett

is a professor in the Department of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics. He is founding director of Polis, the LSE's international journalism think tank. He is currently leader of the Polis/LSE Journalism AI project that provides research, training, innovation workshops and events on how AI is changing the news media. Before joining the LSE, Beckett was an award-winning filmmaker, producer and program editor at the BBC and ITN's Channel 4 News.


Moderator

Yearry Panji SetiantoPrivat: © Dessy Dristy

Yearry Panji Setianto

is a lecturer in communication science at Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa University and Multimedia Nusantara University. Yearry completed his doctoral program at Ohio University and is currently focusing on critical data studies. His research has been presented at a number of international seminars, including the Association of Internet Researchers (AoIR) and EuroSEAS. He has also published his research in the Journal of Media and Religion and Southeast Asian Studies. Yearry has attended a number of short courses at the Queensland University of Technology (2018), KITLV-Leiden University (2018), and Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam (2019). In 2019 he was invited as a visiting researcher at RMIT University's Digital Ethnography Research Center (DERC) in Melbourne, Australia.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
KI in der Nachrichtenredaktion: Freund oder Feind?

panel 5

Die Entwicklung von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) hat die Bedeutung des Einsatzes von Technologien in der Nachrichtenredaktion neu definiert. Der Einsatz von Reporterrobotern und automatisiertem Journalismus hat weltweit eine Debatte darüber in Gang gebracht, was KI für den Journalismus bedeutet: Ist sie eine Bedrohung oder eine Chance für den Journalismus? Wie können Nachrichtenredaktionen mit Hilfe von KI überleben und die Zukunft des Journalismus mitgestalten? Wo liegen die Stolpersteine und welche ethischen Fragen wirft die KI auf? 


Sprecher*innen

Wan Ulfa Nur ZuhraPrivat: © Wan Ulfa Nur Zuhra

Wan Ulfa Nur Zuhra

ist Gründerin und geschäftsführende Direktorin der Organisation Indonesian Data Journalism Network. Sie arbeitet darüber hinaus als leitende Redakteurin bei Glance Indonesia. Wan Ulfa arbeitet bereits seit 2011 als Journalistin und war Co-Managerin bei Collaborative Reporting für Tirto.id. 2019 hat ihr Team die Fälle massiver sexueller Belästigung an indonesischen Hochschulen enthüllt. Die Reportagereihe dazu gewann den SOPA Award for Public Service Journalism 2020 und den Tasrif Award 2020.  

Im Rahmen des Chevening Scholarship Programms hat sie 2018 einen Masterabschluss im Fach Datenjournalismus an der Birmingham City University erlangt. Während ihres Studiums gewann sie den Midlands Media Student Award in der Kategorie News.

Sebastian JannaschPrivat: © Sebastian Jannasch

Sebastian Jannasch

ist Deputy Head of Corporate Strategy beim internationalen deutschen Auslandsrundfunk Deutsche Welle (DW). Sebastian Jannasch befasst sich dort mit Medien- und Technologietrends und ihrer Relevanz für die strategische Ausrichtung der DW. Er war führend bei der Entwicklung der strategischen und ethischen Richtlinien des Senders im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz und war Teamleiter in der Innovationseinheit DW Lab. Bevor er zur DW kam, arbeitete Sebastian Janasch in Deutschland als Journalist für eine führende Tageszeitung. Er hat an der Sciences Po Universität Paris und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Abschlüsse im Fach International Relations erlangt und auch in London und Washington D.C. studiert.

Alexandra BorchardtPrivat: © Jacobia Dahm

Alexandra Borchardt

ist erfahrene Journalistin, Buchautorin, Dozentin und Medienberaterin. Sie ist Beraterin und Coach bei der World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA), für deren Programm Table Stakes Europe zum Thema digitale Umgestaltung der Nachrichtenredaktionen - und leitet das Journalism Innovators Program an der Hamburg Media School. Sie ist darüber hinaus Hauptautorin des in Kürze erscheinenden EBU News Report of the European Broadcasting Union und ist dem Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism an der University of Oxford, wo sie bis 2019 bereits als Director of Leadership Programs gearbeitet hatte, als Senior Research Associate verbunden. Zuvor war sie leitende Redakteurin bei der Süddeutschen Zeitung (SZ), einer der führenden Qualitätsjournalismus-Tageszeitungen Deutschlands.

Charlie BeckettPrivat: © Charlie Beckett

Charlie Beckett

ist Professor am Fachbereich Medien und Kommunikation an der London School of Economics. Er ist Gründungsmitglied von Polis, dem internationalen Journalismus Thinktank der LSE. Derzeit leitet er das Polis/LSE Journalismus und KI Projekt, in dessen Rahmen Studien, Trainingsprogramme, Innovationsworkshops und Veranstaltungen darüber durchgeführt werden, wie KI die Nachrichtenmedien verändert. Bevor er an die LSE kam, war Beckett preisgekrönter Filmemacher, Produzent und Programmplaner bei der BBC und den Channel 4 News auf ITN.


Moderator*in

Yearry Panji SetiantoPrivat: © Dessy Dristy

Yearry Panji Setianto

ist Dozent im Fach Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa University sowie der Multimedia Nusantara University. Er hat seinen Doktortitel an der Ohio University gemacht und beschäftigt sich derzeit vor allem mit kritischer Datenforschung. Seine Forschungsergebnisse wurden bereits bei vielen internationalen Seminaren, etwa bei der Association of Internet Researchers (AoIR) oder EuroSEAS, präsentiert und sind auch im Journal of Media and Religion sowie in den Southeast Asian Studies erschienen. Yearry Panji Setianto hat weiterhin eine Reihe von Kurzseminaren an der Queensland University of Technology (2018), der KITLV-Leiden University (2018) sowie der Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam (2019) besucht. 2019 wurde er als Gastforscher vom Digital Ethnography Research Center (DERC) der RMIT University im australischen Melbourne eingeladen.

Top