Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Turning Readers Into Subscribers

Panel 3
25.11.2021 | 6 – 8 PM

As traditional news media are struggling with decreasing advertising revenue, many recently developed news media organizations are entering the market. The business model of these new organizations is predominantly based on reader support, e.g. subscription, membership, crowdsourcing, or donation. How does this model support quality journalism? Is it sustainable in the long run, and is it a better model for the public?


Speakers

Evi Mariani © Rosa Panggabean

Evi Mariani

is a co-founder and the executive director of Project Multatuli, a public service journalism initiative launched in May 2021 and the first member-focused media outlet in Indonesia. Before Project Multatuli, she was a managing editor at The Jakarta Post, where she worked for 18 years until January 2021. Along with several other journalists in four media outlets, Evi received the Excellence in Public Service Journalism Award from the Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) in 2020 for her collaborative project on revealing the hidden crimes of sexual abuse in campuses across Indonesia in a series called #NamaBaikKampus. The same collaborative project received the Tasrif Award in 2020 from Alliance of Independent Journalists (AJI).

Sonny SwePrivat: © Sonny Swe

Sonny Swe

is co-founder and CEO of Frontier Myanmar. He entered the industry in 1996 as a printer and four years later together with an Australian partner co-founded The Myanmar Times—the country's first non-governmental English-language newspaper in four decades.
The groundbreaking newspaper was forced to operate under strict military censorship, and in 2005 Sonny Swe was sentenced to 14 years in prison for breaching censorship laws. Released under a government amnesty in 2013, he briefly rejoined The Myanmar Times but then moved on to become CEO of Mizzima Media Group and in 2015 eventually launched the Black Knight Media Group.

Lynn D'CruzPrivat © Lynn D'Cruz

Lynn D'Cruz

Lynn D’Cruz’s policy in life is quite simple: “It’s not a job, it’s life.” A graduate in English Literature from the University Malaya, she started her career lecturing in English 10 years ago, after which she began working in the media. In 2014 she spearheaded Malaysiakini’s first crowdfunding campaign. The Buy a Brick campaign raised RM 1.7 million towards financing Malaysiakini’s first self-owned premise @Kini, in Petaling Jaya. She has a Master’s degree in Managerial Psychology and is a 2019 Google News Initiative Newsroom Leadership Program Fellow. Today she heads the Membership Development department. She has launched Nifty Notes, Youthphoria and NowEternal, products aimed at expanding membership @Malaysiakini.

Theresa Bäuerlein© Dominik Butzmann

Theresa Bäuerlein

is an award-winning journalist and book author based in Berlin. She has written and co-authored seven books, both fiction and nonfiction. Her novel Das war der gute Teil des Tages has been adapted for the movie Hannas Reise. She co-founded the digital journalism platform Krautreporter, an independent, reader-supported online magazine.


Moderator

Viriya SinggihPrivat © Viriya Singgih

Viriya Singgih

is a journalist at Project Multatuli. Prior to that he was a journalist at The Jakarta Post and Bloomberg News. He is experienced in covering many issues, including energy, mining, macro economy, and politics. In 2015 he published his book Menjejal Jakarta: Pusat dan Pinggiran dalam Sehimpun Reportase (Cramming Jakarta: Center and Periphery in a Collection of Reportage).

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Aus lesenden Abbonnent*innen machen

Panel 3

Traditionelle Nachrichtenunternehmen haben mit rückläufigen Werbeeinnahmen zu kämpfen, gleichzeitig drängen viele neu entstandene Medienunternehmen auf den Nachrichtenmarkt. Das Geschäftsmodell dieser Organisationen beruht auf der Unterstützung durch die Leserschaft, z.B. durch Abonnements, Mitgliedschaften, Crowdsourcing oder Spenden. Wie lässt sich mit diesem Modell Qualitätsjournalismus unterstützen? Sind diese Geschäftsmodelle nachhaltig - und welchen Mehrwert bieten sie für die Nutzer*innen?


Sprecher*innen

Evi Mariani © Rosa Panggabean

Evi Mariani

ist Mitbegründerin und Geschäftsführerin von Project Multatuli, einer im Mai 2021 ins Leben gerufenen journalistischen Initiative für die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit. Es ist das erste auf Mitglieder ausgerichtete indonesische Medienunternehmen. Bis Januar 2021 arbeitete sie zuvor als leitende Redakteurin 18 Jahre lang bei der Jakarta Post. 2020 erhielt Evi Mariani, gemeinsam mit anderen Journalisten von vier verschiedenen Medien, den Excellence in Public Service Journalism Award der Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA). Er wurde verliehen für ein Projekt zur Aufdeckung sexuellen Missbrauchs an Universitäten in ganz Indonesien in einer Serie namens #NamaBaikKampus. Darüber hinaus erhielt dieses Projekt 2020 den Tasrif-Preis der Alliance of Independent Journalists (AJI).

Sonny SwePrivat: © Sonny Swe

Sonny Swe

ist Mitbegründer und CEO von Frontier Myanmar. Ab 1996 war er zunächst im Bereich Druck tätig, vier Jahre später gründete er gemeinsam mit einem australischen Partner The Myanmar Times, nach vier Jahrzehnten die erste nicht von der Regierung herausgegebene Zeitung auf englischer Sprache.
Das bahnbrechende Blatt war gezwungen, unter strenger militärischer Zensur zu agieren. 2005 wurde Sonny Swe zu 14 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt, weil er gegen die Zensur verstoßen hatte. Nachdem er 2013 begnadigt worden war, ging er zunächst kurz zurück zur The Myanmar Times, wurde bald darauf aber CEO der Mizzima Media Group und gründete 2015 die Black Knight Media Group.

Lynn D'CruzPrivat © Lynn D'Cruz

Lynn D'Cruz

Die Arbeitsphilosophie von Lynn D'Cruz ist ganz einfach: „Es ist kein Job, es ist das Leben“. Als Absolventin für englische Literatur an der Universität Malaya begann sie ihre Karriere vor 10 Jahren als Englisch-Dozentin, um dann für Medien zu arbeiten. Im Jahr 2014 leitete Lynn D'Cruz die erste Crowdfunding-Kampagne von Malaysiakini. Die „Buy a Brick“-Kampagne brachte 1,7 Millionen Ringgit ein. Genug für die Finanzierung von Malaysiakinis erster eigenen Niederlassung: @Kini in Petaling Jaya. Sie hat darüber hinaus einen Master-Abschluss in Management-Psychologie und ist seit 2019 Mitglied des Google News Initiative Newsroom Leadership Program. Heute leitet Lynn D'Cruz die Abteilung für Mitgliederentwicklung bei Malaysiakini. Sie hat Nifty Notes, Youthphoria und NowEternal auf den Markt gebracht. Diese Produkte zielen darauf ab, die Mitgliederzahl von @Malaysiakini zu erhöhen.

Theresa Bäuerlein© Dominik Butzmann

Theresa Bäuerlein

ist eine preisgekrönte Journalistin und Buchautorin, wohnhaft in Berlin. Sie hat sieben Bücher geschrieben oder mit verfasst, sowohl Belletristik als auch Sachbücher. Ihr Roman Das war der gute Teil des Tages bildet die Grundlage für den Film Hannas Reise. Ferner ist sie Mitbegründerin von Krautreporter, einer digitalen und unabhängigen Plattform für Journalismus, welche ein von den Leser*innen unterstütztes Online-Magazin herausgibt.


Moderator*in

Viriya SinggihPrivat © Viriya Singgih

Viriya Singgih

ist Journalist beim Project Multatuli. Zuvor war er bei The Jakarta Post und den Bloomberg News journalistisch tätig. Er ist in vielen Themenbereichen zuhause, etwa Energie, MININ, Makroökonomie und Politik. 2015 hat er das Buch Menjejal Jakarta: Pusat dan Pinggiran dalam Sehimpun Reportase („Alles über Jakarta: Zentrum und Peripherie in einer Reportagensammlung“) veröffentlicht.

Top