Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Towards Responsible AI in local Journalism

Opening & Keynote
25.11.2021 | 11 AM - 12 PM

A major challenge facing journalism today is coming to terms with the collapse of local news provision. Artificial intelligence (AI) applications along the news value chain offer opportunities for local media to better cope with the economic and societal challenges they face. However, these AI applications should be responsible, i.e. they should not only increase the economic efficiency of local media but also contribute to the local democratic role of media in society by adhering to professional values and ethical standards. To complicate the matter, local media have scarce resources, a factor which limits their ability to develop and implement responsible AI applications on their own. Therefore, specific intra-organizational, inter-organizational and societal conditions may facilitate local journalism’s transition into the age of AI.


Keynote Speaker

Dr. Bartosz WilczekPrivat: © Dr. Bartosz Wilczek

Dr. Bartosz Wilczek

is PostDoc at the Department of Media and Communication at LMU Munich, Germany. His research focuses on innovation management in news organizations. Together with researchers at LMU Munich, University of Leipzig, University of Amsterdam, VU Amsterdam and University of Stavanger, he currently investigates drivers and constraints of responsible AI in local journalism. Prior to joining LMU Munich, he worked at University of St. Gallen and Università della Svizzera italiana as well as in news organizations in Switzerland.


Moderator

Marissa AnitaPrivat © Marissa Anita

Marissa Anita

is a storyteller who is currently the lead editor at Greatmind.id. She writes and presents On Marissa's Mind, a series of web videos that discusses psychological and philosophical concepts she has found useful in her own life and which she hopes are useful to others. Her two master's degrees in journalism and digital media are from University of Sydney and Loughborough University. She has previously worked as a broadcaster for Metro TV and NET. She currently presents SEA Today's morning show and hosts interviews for Narasi and Mola TV.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Auf dem Weg zu einer verantwortlichen KI im lokalen Journalismus

Keynote

Eine große Herausforderung für den Journalismus liegt heute im Zusammenbruch der lokalen Nachrichtenversorgung. Anwendungen der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) für verschiedene Aktivitäten entlang der Nachrichtenwertschöpfungskette bieten lokalen Medien Möglichkeiten, die wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen besser zu bewältigen. Solche KI-Anwendungen sollten jedoch verantwortungsvoll sein, d. h. sie sollen nicht nur die wirtschaftliche Effizienz lokaler Medien steigern, sondern auch durch die Einhaltung professioneller Werte und ethischer Standards zur demokratischen Rolle der lokalen Medien in der Gesellschaft beitragen. Zudem verfügen lokale Medien über knappe Ressourcen, d. h. sie sind nur bedingt in der Lage, verantwortungsvolle KI-Anwendungen selbst zu entwickeln und zu implementieren. Daher können spezifische intra-organisationale, inter-organisationale und gesellschaftliche Bedingungen den Übergang des Lokaljournalismus in das KI-Zeitalter erleichtern.
 


Keynote Sprecher

Dr. Bartosz WilczekPrivat: © Dr. Bartosz Wilczek

Dr. Bartosz Wilczek

ist Postdoktorand am Institut für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung an der LMU München. Er forscht dort zum Thema Innovationsmanagement in Nachrichtenunternehmen. Gemeinsam mit anderen Forscher*innen an der LMU München, der Universität Leipzig, der Universität Amsterdam, der VU Amsterdam sowie der Universität Stavanger in Norwegen möchte er derzeit herausfinden, was verantwortungswolle AI im Lokaljournalismus antreibt bzw. diese einschränkt. Bevor er an die LMU München kam, war er an der Universität St. Gallen sowie an der Università Della Svizzera Italiana tätig und hat darüber hinaus in schweizerischen Nachrichtenunternehmen gearbeitet.


Moderator*in

Marissa AnitaPrivat © Marissa Anita

Marissa Anita

erzählt gerne Geschichten. Derzeit leitende Redakteurin von Greatmind.id. schreibt und präsentiert Marissa On Marissa's Mind, eine Reihe von Webvideos, die psychologische und philosophische Konzepte diskutieren, die sie selbst in ihrem eigenen Leben als nützlich empfindet in der Hoffnung, diese könnten auch für andere hilfreich sein. Nach ihrer Tätigkeit als Moderatorin für Metro TV und NET erlangte Marissa zwei Master-Abschlüsse in Journalismus und digitale Medien - an der University of Sydney und an der Loughborough University. Aktuell moderiert sie die Morgensendung von SEA Today und gibt Interviews für Narasi und Mola TV.

Top