Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
APIK© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

About the project

Back to APIK

Spurred by the rapid development of the Indonesian art scene in the last ten years, organizational work has become increasingly important. Although incorporated into the work practices of curators, artist collectives and independent institutions, visual arts exhibition organization has not been widely discussed as an independent profession with its own distinct challenges. 
 
Co-developed with curator and exhibition maker Leonhard Bartolomeus, the training program APIK seeks to nourish a deeper knowledge of the profession with different practical modules covering management, production, and communication that are developed specifically for the Indonesian contemporary visual arts context. Over the course of the program, 30 selected participants from Indonesia will explore a multitude of issues concerning structure and organization, funding and cooperation, public communication, audience development, production, logistics and maintaining a balanced work environment. The program itself is divided into two stages:
 
1) September until November 2019
Online classes consisting of video lectures, task assignments, as well as live discussion and mentorship with Indonesian experts from Museum MACAN, Jakarta Biennale, Serrum, Ace House Collective, and Komunitas Salihara. Participants are obliged to successfully complete this stage before joining the final workshop. The video lectures are open to the public and can be accessed at Goethe-Institut Indonesien’s Youtube channel. 
 
2) December 2019
Intensive workshop in Jakarta with comprehensive insights from Indonesian and German experts on exhibition related issues as well as arts programs in general. In this direct encounter, participants are expected to reflect on and discuss their own situations, approaches, and challenges when making exhibitions in their hometowns. The workshop is open for participants only.
 
Afterwards, selected participants will receive the opportunity to complete an internship with different institutions and communities within Goethe-Institut Indonesien’s network in 2020.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
APIK© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Über das Projekt

Zurück zu APIK

Vor dem Hintergrund der rapiden Weiterentwicklung der indonesischen Kunstszene in den letzten 10 Jahren, wird die organisatorische Arbeit in diesem Bereich immer wichtiger. Obwohl diese bei der Arbeitspraxis von Kurator*innen, Künstlerkollektiven und unabhängigen Institutionen eine entscheidende Rolle spielt, wird die Organisation von Ausstellungen in der bildenden Kunst aktuell kaum als eigenes Tätigkeitsfeld mit ganz eigenen Profil wahrgenommen.
 
Das Qualifizierungsprograms APIK - entwickelt gemeinsam mit dem Kurator und Ausstellungsmacher Leonhard Bartolomeus - bietet durch verschiedene praktische Module aus den Bereichen Organisation, Produktion und Kommunikation tiefere Einblicke in die Anforderungen dieser Berufspraxis. 30 ausgewählte Teilnehmer*innen aus Indonesien lernen im Laufe des Programms zahlreiche Themenbereiche kennen, angefangen von Struktur und Organisation über Finanzierung und Kooperationen, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und audience development bis hin zu Produktion, Logistik und Teamarbeit. Das Programm ist in zwei Blöcke unterteilt:

 
1) September bis November 2019
Teilnahmepflichtige Online-Kurse. In Videovorträgen, Aufgaben, Live-Diskussionen und Mentoring-Gesprächen lernen die Teilnehmer*innen Fachbezogenes von und mit Expert*innen des Museum MACAN, der Jakarta Biennale, von Serrum, dem Ace House Collective und der Komunitas Salihara. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an allen Modulen des Online-Kurses ist Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am Abschlussworkshop. Die Videovorträge sind öffentlich und können über den Youtube-Kanal des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien abgerufen werden.
 
2) Dezember 2019
Intensiv-Workshop in Jakarta, in dem Expert*innen aus Indonesien und Deutschland viele ausstellungsrelevante Themen vertiefen sowie allgemein Einblicke in verschiedene Bereiche des Ausstellungsmanagements bieten. Bei dieser persönlichen Begegnung erhalten die Absolvent*innen des Online-Kurses die Möglichkeit, ihre eigene Situation und Ansätze des Ausstellungsmachens in ihrem konkreten Umfeld zu reflektieren und zu diskutieren. Der Workshop steht ausschließlich APIK-Teilnehmer*innen offen.  
 
Ausgewählte Teilnehmer*innen erhalten darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, bei verschiedenen Institutionen und Einrichtungen innerhalb des Netzwerks des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien im Jahr 2020 ein Praktikum zu absolvieren.

Top