Berlinale-Blogger 2016 International film journalists report from the Berlinale

Berlinale-Blogger 2016
Design: Lea Delazer

Who is in with a chance of picking up the Golden Bear, what issues are young filmmakers around the world interested in, and which films are the hot topic of discussion at parties and in cinema foyers? International bloggers and film journalists will be following the Berlinale on behalf of Goethe.de – in interviews, critiques and background reports.

The 66th Berlin International Film Festival will begin on 11 February 2016. Bloggers and film journalists from Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, Norway and Spain will be in Berlin on behalf of the Goethe-Institut to report on Germany’s leading film festival and this year’s festival programme.

The central focus of the reports will be on the filmmakers and their contributions to this year’s festival: how will the Danish and Italian contenders perform in the race for the coveted awards? How strong are the Chinese productions this year? Are the current debates about refugees and migration reflected in the filmmakers’ submissions? Which formal innovations have been incorporated into the invited films? And how will the contributions from German filmmakers fare by international standards?

The coverage is rounded off with film reviews by the Talent Press, a joint project of Berlinale Talents, Goethe-Institut, and FIPRESCI (the International Federation of Film Critics) that invites young international film critics to Berlin.


Our bloggers:

Sam de Wilde – Belgium

Sam de Wilde Photo: Bibí Euse is a freelance film critic. He studied film history at Antwerp University and was nominated for de Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek (Price for Young Filmcritics) in 2014. He regularly contributes to the Belgian film magazines Oogst, Knack Focus, rekto:verso and de Filmkrant. He loves westerns, Buster Keaton and the film Notting Hill.

 

Camila Gonzatto – Brazil

Camila Gonzatto Photo: © Private writes and directs films for cinema and television. She did her Master’s in creative writing at PUCRS University in Porto Alegre, Brazil, and is currently writing her PhD thesis in that field under an academic exchange with the Free University of Berlin.



 

Jutta Brendemühl – Canada

Jutta Brendemühl Photo: © Goethe-Institut is the Goethe-Institut Toronto's Program Curator and year-round blogger at GermanFilm@Canada. Jutta is lucky to love what she does: arts and cultural programming across the genres and through a global lens. Over the past 15 years, she has worked with Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders, Pina Bausch, and other luminaries. She has an M.A. in English Literature.
 

Yun-hua Chen – China

Yun-hua Chen Photo: Private was born in Taichung, and studied in Taipei, France and Scotland. She obtained her PhD in Film Studies at the University of St Andrews (Scotland). Based in Berlin at the moment, she writes regularly for Film International, Exberliner and academica journals, and gives talks at international conferences and film seminars.


 

Morten Vejlgaard Just – Denmark

Morten Vejlgaard Just Photo: Linn Grubbström is editor-in-chief of the film portal Filmz.dk, where he keeps himself busy with film reviews and news on a daily basis. Film is his passion, and as a true film nerd, his greatest dream is not to meet Leonardo DiCaprio, but his German dubbing voice Gerrit Schmidt-Foss instead. Morten has been a Berlinale blogger from the very beginning, and is a member of the goethe.de/daenemark team since 2014.
 

Ahmed Shawky – Egypt

Ahmed Shawky Photo: © Private is a blogger and film critic. He studied pharmacology and media sciences, and since 2009 has been working primarily as an author in the areas of film and art, including as an independent critic at international and Arabic film festivals.



 

Philipp Bühler – Germany

Philipp Bühler Photo: © Private has been reporting as a free-lance film critic on the Berlinale since 2000, among other things for the Berliner Zeitung. Having majored in history and English language and culture at university, he works for the German Federal Centre for Political Education and the film classics programme of the German Film Academy in the area of cinema education. He had also co-authored and edited a range of popular book series on cinema.
 

Venia Vergou – Greece

Venia Vergou Photo: Private is a free lance film critic. After her M.A. in Film Studies and European Cinema (University of the West of England, Bristol, UK) she worked for the Greek Athinorama magazine (2001-2008) and the Greek Film Archive (2013-2015). This and other experiences validated her confidence in cinema being a wonderful ocean for critical thought and analysis.

 

Veronika Kusumaryati – Indonesia

Veronika Kusumaryati Photo: Private finished her undergraduate study in Cinema Studies at the Jakarta Arts Institute in Indonesia. She has worked as a curator with specialization in experimental and documentary practices. Her writings have appeared in publications such as the Jakarta Post and Netpac Asia. She is currently working on her dissertation at the Department of Anthropology with a secondary in Film and Visual Studies at Harvard University.
 

Vincenzo Patanè – Italy

Vincenzo Patanè Photo: Private is the founder and editor of the Italian film magazine Taxidrivers and author of a radio show on cinema called La febbre del sabato sera. Furthermore, he is art director of the monograph La meglio gioventù del cinema italiano on the careers of the leading Italian actors of the last 20 years. He has been living in Berlin as a free-lance journalist since 2010.

 

Mugambi Nthiga – Kenia

Mugambi Nthiga Photo: Operetar Photography is an actor and writer who has worked in Nairobi, Philadelphia and New York. He has had principal roles in the Kenyan films Nairobi Half Life and Stories Of Our Lives, and co-wrote the film Kati Kati from 2016. He created Stories From The Mall, a theatre tribute to the 2007 Westgate attack in Nairobi, and is part of an improv comedy group called “Because You Said So”. In 2015, he started the film viewing and critiquing project #44Films.
 

Julia Thurnau – Norway

Julia Thurnau Photo: © Private is a German-French actor. She studied visual arts at the Einar Granum School of Fine Art in Norway and at the Berlin University of the Arts. There she attended philosophy seminars under Byung-Chul Han and courses in academic and artistic writing. In film she is particularly interested in gender-related themes.


 

Pablo López Barbero – Spain

Pablo López Barbero Photo: © Filiz Penzkofer is a journalist, comes from Madrid and lives in Berlin. He studied journalism at the Complutense University of Madrid. He worked there in a number of editorial teams until 2012, when he decided to move to the German capital, where he has lived since then. His passions are cinema and audio-visual media. He currently works for the Deutsche Welle news desk and produces contributions for a variety of publications.

Berlinale-Blogger 2016 Internationale Filmjournalisten berichten von der Berlinale

Berlinale-Blogger 2016
Design: Lea Delazer

Wer hat Chancen auf den Goldenen Bären, für welche Themen interessieren sich junge Filmschaffende weltweit, über welche Filme wird auf den Partys und in den Kinofoyers kontrovers diskutiert? Ein internationales Team an Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten begleitet die Berlinale für Goethe.de – in Interviews, Kritiken und Hintergrundberichten.

Am 11. Februar 2016 beginnen die 66. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Bloggerinnen und Filmjournalisten aus Ägypten, Belgien, Brasilien, China, Dänemark, Deutschland, Griechenland, Indonesien, Italien, Kanada, Kenia, Norwegen und Spanien sind für das Goethe-Institut in Berlin dabei, um über das wichtigste deutsche Filmfestival und das diesjährige Festivalprogramm zu berichten.

Im Zentrum der Berichterstattung stehen die Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher und ihre diesjährigen Festivalbeiträge: Können sich die dänischen und italienischen Wettbewerbsbeiträge im Rennen um die begehrten Preise behaupten? Wie stark sind die chinesischen Produktionen in diesem Jahr? Spiegeln sich die gegenwärtigen Debatten um Flucht und Migration in den Beiträgen der Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher? Welche formalen Neuerungen greifen die eingeladenen Filme auf? Und: Wie schlagen sich die Beiträge von deutschen Filmemacherinnen und Filmemachern im internationalen Vergleich?

Ergänzt wird die Berichterstattung um Filmkritiken der diesjährigen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer am Berlinale Talent Press-Programm – einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Berlinale Talents, dem Goethe-Institut und der internationalen Filmkritiker-Organisation FIPRESCI.

Es bloggen:
 

Ahmed Shawky - Ägypten

Ahmed Shawky Foto: © Privat ist Blogger und Filmkritiker. Er studierte Pharmazie und Medienwissenschaften und arbeitet seit 2009 vorwiegend als Autor im Bereich Film und Kunst, unter anderem als unabhängiger Kritiker bei internationalen und arabischen Filmfestivals.



 

Sam de Wilde - Belgien

Sam de Wilde Foto: Bibí Euse ist freiberuflicher Filmkritiker. Er hat Filmgeschichte an der Universität Antwerpen studiert und war 2014 für den Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek (Preis der jungen Filmkritik) nominiert. Er schreibt regelmäßig für die belgischen Filmmagazine Oogst, Knack Focu, rekto:verso und de Filmkrant. Er liebt Western, Buster Keaton und den Film Notting Hill.

 

Camila Gonzatto - Brasilien

Camila Gonzatto Foto: © Privat ist Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin für Film und Fernsehen. Sie hat an der Universität PUCRS in Porto Alegre den Masterstudiengang Kreatives Schreiben abgeschlossen und verfasst zurzeit eine Doktorarbeit im selben Fach im Austausch mit der Freien Universität Berlin.



 

Yun-hua Chen - China

Yun-hua Chen Foto: Privat geboren in Taichung, studierte in Taipei, Frankreich und Schottland und promovierte im Fach Filmstudien an der St. Andrews-Universität in Schottland. Derzeit in Berlin, schreibt sie regelmäßig für Film International, Exberliner und verschiedene wissenschaftliche Journale und hält Vorträge auf internationalen Konferenzen und Filmseminaren.

 

Morten Veiljgaard Just - Dänemark

Morten Vejlgaard Just Foto: Linn Grubbström ist Chefredakteur des Filmportals Filmz.dk, wo er sich täglich mit Filmrezensionen und -neuigkeiten beschäftigt. Film ist seine Leidenschaft, und als echter Film-Nerd ist es nicht sein größter Traum, den Schauspieler Leonardo DiCaprio zu treffen, sondern dessen deutsche Synchronstimme Gerrit Schmidt-Foss. Morten ist Berlinale-Blogger der ersten Stunde und seit 2014 für goethe.de/daenemark dabei.

 

Philipp Bühler - Deutschland

Philipp Bühler Foto: © Privat berichtet als freier Filmkritiker seit 2000 über die Berlinale, unter anderem für die Berliner Zeitung. Im Bereich Filmbildung ist der studierte Historiker und Anglist für die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und das Filmklassikerprogramm der Deutschen Filmakademie tätig. Außerdem ist er Mitautor und Lektor diverser populärer Filmbuchreihen.

 

Venia Vergou - Griechenland

Venia Vergou Foto: Privat ist freischaffende Filmkritikerin. Nach ihrem Master in Film Studies and European Cinema an der University of the West of England, Bristol, hat sie unter anderem für das griechische Magazin Athinorama (2001-2008) und die griechische Kinemathek (2013-2015) gearbeitet. Dabei hat sich ihre Überzeugung gefestigt, dass die Welt des Films einen wunderbaren Ozean für kritische Gedanken und Analyse bietet.

 

Veronika Kusumaryati - Indonesien

Veronika Kusumaryati Foto: Privat hat ein Studium der Cinema Studies am Jakarta Arts Institut in Indonesien absolviert. Anschließend arbeitete sie als Kuratorin im Bereich Experimentelle und Dokumentarische Praktiken. Als Autorin schrieb sie unter anderem für die Jakarta Post und Netpac Asia. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrer Dissertation im Fachbereich Anthropologie mit Schwerpunkt auf Film und Visual Studies an der Harvard University.

 

Vincenzo Patanè - Italien

Vincenzo Patanè Foto: Privat ist Gründer und Herausgeber der italienischen Filmzeitschrift Taxidrivers und Autor der Radiosendung zum Thema Kino La febbre del sabato sera. Zudem ist er Art Director der Monografie La meglio gioventù del cinema italiano zu den Karrieren der wichtigsten italienischen Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler der letzten 20 Jahre. Seit 2010 lebt und arbeitet er als freier Journalist in Berlin.

 

Jutta Brendemühl - Kanada

Jutta Brendemühl Foto: © Goethe-Institut ist Programmkuratorin des Goethe-Instituts Toronto und Bloggerin bei GermanFilm@Canada. Die studierte Anglistin konnte ihre Leidenschaft zum Beruf machen: Sie organisiert Kunst- und Kulturprogramme quer durch alle Genres und mit globaler Ausrichtung. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat sie unter anderem mit Bernardo Bertolucci, Robert Rauschenberg, Wim Wenders oder Pina Bausch gearbeitet.

 

Mugambi Nthiga - Kenia

Mugambi Nthiga Foto: Operetar Photography ist Schauspieler und Schriftsteller und arbeitet in Nairobi, Philadelphia und New York. Er spielte Hauptrollen in den kenianischen Filmen Nairobi Half Life und Stories Of Our Lives und ist Co-Autor des Films Kati Kati von 2016. Mugambi kreierte Stories from the Mall, ein Theaterstück zu den Anschlägen in Nairobis Westgate Mall im Jahr 2007. Er ist Teil der Impro-Comedy-Gruppe „Because you said so“. 2015 rief er das Filmkritikprojekt  #44Films ins Leben.
 

Julia Thurnau – Norwegen

Julia Thurnau Foto: © Privat ist eine deutsch-französische Schauspielerin. Sie studierte Bildende Kunst an der Hochschule Einar Granum in Norwegen und an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Dort besuchte sie Philosophieseminare bei Byung-Chul Han und Kurse in akademischem und künstlerischem Schreiben. Im Bereich Film interessiert sie sich besonderes für Gender-Themen.

 

Pablo López Barbero - Spanien

Pablo López Barbero Foto: © Filiz Penzkofer ist Journalist, kommt aus Madrid und lebt in Berlin. Er studierte Journalismus an der Universität Complutense in Madrid. Dort arbeitete er in verschiedenen Redaktionen, bis er 2012 beschloss, in die deutsche Hauptstadt umzuziehen, wo er seitdem lebt. Seine Leidenschaften sind Kino und audiovisuelle Medien. Zurzeit arbeitet er für die Nachrichtenredaktion der Deutschen Welle und produziert Beiträge für verschiedene Publikationen.