Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Feature film
Willkommen bei den Hartmanns (Welcome to Germany)

Willkommen bei den Hartmanns
Photo (detail): © Picture Tree International

Director: Simon Verhoeven | Cast: Senta Berger, Heiner Lauterbach, Florian David Fitz, Palina Rojinski, Elyas M’barek, Uwe Ochsenknecht, Ulrike Kriener, Eric Kabongo | Language: German, with English subtitles

A country like Germany, which from the outside seems stable and open, contains many difficult and moving stories about the integration process of hundreds of thousands of refugees, be it from the perspective of the refugees themselves or various German citizens. In the comedy Welcome to Germany, this sensitive topic is discussed in a refreshingly open and entertaining way. Based on story of the Hartmann family, we see the various problems that Germany is confronted with in the midst of its society, especially when it comes to the acceptance of refugees from African countries, particularly those associated with ISIS.
 
The story begins with Dr. Richard Hartmann (Heiner Lauterbach) and Angelika Hartmann (Senta Berger), who seem to go through a midlife crisis. In order to deny the process of aging, Richard refuses to retire; unlike his wife Angelika, who wisely accepts her age. Their life has become lonelier since their two children grew up and left the house. The couple’s daughter Sofie Hartmann (Palina Rojinski) always has problems with men and has not yet completed her studies. Philip Hartmann (Florian David Fitz), their son, is a workaholic who divorced his wife and now lives with his son Basti Hartmann, who is crazy about Hip Hop.
 
At a family dinner at home, Angelika announces that she wants to shelter an asylum-seeking refugee. The entire Hartmann family is alarmed – but while some try to resist, others are more accepting of her idea. Shortly afterwards, Diallo Makabouri (Eric Kabongo), a refugee from Nigeria, moves in and becomes part of the family.
 
This film shows how the Hartmann family deals with their personal problems. In addition, the film also succeeds show how Germany strives to solve the country’s problems in a smart and humorous way. Instead of getting involved in complicated and political matters and dealing with seemingly endless problems of pros and cons, director and scriptwriter Simon Verhoeven decides to focus on the fundamental problem – that every human being has the right to get a second chance to improve their life and to be accepted into a "family" or "home" just the way they are.
Born in Wonosobo, Central Java, Indonesia in 1985.

He studied traditional music and communication before falling in love with filmmaking. He is a self-taught filmmaker, alumni of the Berlinale Talent Campus in Germany and the Asian Film Academy in South Korea where he won the BFC & SHOCS Scholarship Fund. Since 2008, he has directed and produced ten short films, which have been highlighted in prestigious national and international film festivals, before making feature films. Another Trip to the Moon (2015), his first feature film, was nominated for the HIVOS-Tiger Award and the NETPAC Award of the International Film Festival Rotterdam 2015. His second feature The Crescent Moon (2015) was nominated for the Asian Future Award at the Tokyo International Film Festival 2015, and in seven categories, including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay and Best Director at the Indonesian Film Festival 2015, while Talak 3 (2016), a critically acclaimed film that was listed among the Top 15 of Indonesian box-office hits in 2016, was also nominated for Best Original Screenplay at the Indonesian Film Festival 2016. The Carousel Never Stops Turning (2017) is his fourth feature film and was nominated for the Kim Ji-seok Award at the Busan International Film Festival 2017 and officially selected for the Tokyo International Film Festival 2017. His latest works include a short film entitled Woo Woo (or Those Silence That Kills You and Me) and his fifth feature film, a novel adaptation of Arini; both will be released in 2018.

He is a producer and the founder of Matta Cinema, a production house which focuses on producing audience and artistic films by working with unique and creative directors for global audiences. He is also a producer and founder of Bosan Berisik Lab, a non-profit inter-disciplinary laboratory that empowers young filmmakers and artists to create creative and experimental works. He is also one of the co-founders and a film programmer of Jogja-NETPAC Asian Film Festival, a premiere film festival that highlights the development of Asian cinema and is screened annually in the cultural city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
It all starts when Angelika Hartmann, a recently-retired teacher and mother of a bourgeois family plagued by everyday problems, decides one day to take in a refugee. Angelika is lonely now that her children have left home. Her husband, a senior doctor at a hospital, does everything he can to halt the ageing process. Son Philip shuttles between Shanghai and Munich on business, which has a rather negative impact on his relationship with his son Basti, while daughter Sophie still doesn’t know what she wants at the age of 31. Typical family madness, in other words, into which Diallo from Nigeria is plunged – and who in his own way considerably shakes up the life of the Hartmanns. This is a turbulent report of life in an almost normal country where everyone is somewhat confused.

A light-hearted, entertaining yet at times profound film about Germany today.

Jakarta
07.10.2018 | 7 PM | Goethe-Haus
Denpasar
07.10.2018 | 4.45 PM | Level 21 XXI
Bandung
14.10.2018 | 4.45 PM | Ciwalk XXI
Makkassar
14.10.2018 | 4.45 PM | Nipah XXI
Yogyakarta
21.10.2018 | 4.45 PM | Empire XXI
Surabaya
21.10.2018 | 4.45 PM | Sutos XXI

Simon Verhoeven, born 1972 in Munich, graduating with a BA from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. After a few shorts and music videos, Simon Verhoeven directed his first feature film 100 Pro (2001). After the enormous success of Men in the City (Männerherzen, 2009), he directed Men in the City 2 (Männerherzen … und die ganz ganz große Liebe, 2011), his third feature based on one of his own screenplays. Men in the City received the 2010 Jupiter Award for Best Film and the Bavarian Film Award for Best Screenplay.

All Movies
Complete Program
Tickets

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Spielfilm
Willkommen bei den Hartmanns

Willkommen bei den Hartmanns
Foto (Zuschnitt): © Picture Tree International

Regie: Simon Verhoeven | Darsteller: Senta Berger, Heiner Lauterbach, Florian David Fitz, Palina Rojinski, Elyas M’barek, Uwe Ochsenknecht, Ulrike Kriener, Eric Kabongo | Sprache: Deutsch, mit englischen Untertiteln

Ein Land wie Deutschland, das von außen stabil und offen wirkt, birgt viele bewegte Geschichten aus dem Integrationsprozess von Hunderttausenden von Flüchtlingen, sei es aus der Perspektive der Flüchtlinge selbst oder verschiedener deutscher Bürger. In der Komödie Willkommen bei den Hartmanns wird dieses sensible Thema offen und unterhaltsam diskutiert. Anhand der Geschichte der Familie Hartmann sehen wir die verschiedenen Probleme, mit denen das heutige Deutschland in Bezug auf die Akzeptanz von Flüchtlingen aus afrikanischen Ländern, insbesondere solchen Ländern, die mit ISIS in Verbindung gebracht werden, inmitten der Gesellschaft konfrontiert ist.
 
Die Geschichte beginnt mit Dr. Richard Hartmann (Heiner Lauterbach) und Angelika Hartmann (Senta Berger), die Probleme mit dem Älterwerden haben. Um sich diesem Älterwerden zu verweigern, lehnt Richard es ab, in den Ruhestand zu gehen; anders als seine Frau Angelika, die ihr Alter weise akzeptiert. Ihr Leben ist einsamer geworden, seit ihre zwei Kinder erwachsen wurden und das Haus verließen. Ihre Tochter Sofie Hartmann (Palina Rojinski) hat immer Probleme mit den Männern und hat außerdem  ihr Studium noch nicht abgeschlossen. Philip Hartmann (Florian David Fitz), ihr Sohn, ist ein Workaholic, der sich von seiner Frau hat scheiden lassen und gemeinsam mit seinem Sohn Basti Hartmann, der verrückt nach Hip Hop ist, lebt.
 
Bei einem gemeinsamen Abendessen zuhause verkündet Angelika, dass sie einen asylsuchenden Flüchtling bei sich aufnehmen möchte. Die gesamte Familie Hartmann ist alarmiert – doch während einige Familienmitglieder versuchen sich zu widersetzen, akzeptieren andere ihren Vorschlag. Schon kurze Zeit später steht Diallo Makabouri (Eric Kabongo), ein Flüchtling aus Nigeria, vor der Tür und wird zum Teil der Familie. 
 
In diesem Film wird gezeigt, wie die Familie Hartmann mit ihren persönlichen Problemen umgeht. Darüber hinaus gelingt es dem Film meiner Meinung aber auch, klug und humorvoll darzustellen, wie Deutschland sich darum bemüht, die Probleme des eigenen Landes zu lösen. Anstatt sich in einer komplizierten und politischen Angelegenheit zu verfangen und sich mit schier endlosen Problemen von Vor- und Nachteilen zu beschäftigen, entscheidet sich Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Simon Verhoeven dazu, sich auf das grundlegende Problem zu konzentrieren – nämlich, dass jeder Mensch das Recht dazu hat, eine zweite Chance zu bekommen, um sein Leben zu verbessern und in einer „Familie“ oder einem „Zuhause“ so akzeptiert zu werden, wie er ist.
Geboren 1985 in Wonosobo, Zentraljava, Indonesien.

Er studierte traditionelle Musik und Kommunikation, bevor er seine Leidenschaft für das Filmemachen entdeckte. Er ist ein autodidaktischer Filmemacher, Absolvent des Berlinale Talent Campus in Deutschland und der Asian Film Academy in Südkorea, wo er den BFC & SHOCS Scholarship Fund gewann. Seit 2008 inszenierte und produzierte er zehn Kurzfilme, die auf renommierten nationalen und internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt wurden, bevor er begann, Spielfilme zu drehen. Another Trip to the Moon (2015), sein erster Spielfilm, wurde für den HIVOS-Tiger Award und den NETPAC Award des Internationalen Filmfestivals Rotterdam 2015 nominiert. Sein zweiter Film The Crescent Moon (2015) wurde beim Tokyo International Film Festival 2015 für den Asian Future Award nominiert, und in sieben Kategorien, darunter Bester Film, Bestes Drehbuch und Bester Regisseur beim Indonesian Film Festival 2015, während Talak 3 ( 2016), ein von den Kritikern gefeierter Film, der 2016 unter den Top 15 der indonesischen Kinohits gelistet war, wurde beim Indonesian Film Festival 2016 für das beste Originaldrehbuch nominiert. The Carousel Never Stops Turning (2017) ist sein vierter Spielfilm und wurde für den Kim Ji-seok Award beim Busan International Film Festival 2017 nominiert und offiziell für das Tokyo International Film Festival 2017 ausgewählt. Zu seinen neuesten Arbeiten gehören ein Kurzfilm mit dem Titel Woo Woo (oder Those Silence That Kills You and Me) und sein fünfter Spielfilm, eine neue Adaption von Arini; beide werden 2018 veröffentlicht.

Er ist Produzent und Gründer von Matta Cinema, einem Produktionshaus, das sich darauf konzentriert, sowohl künstlerische als auch publikumswirksame Filme zu produzieren, indem er mit einzigartigen und kreativen Regisseuren für ein globales Publikum arbeitet. Er ist auch Produzent und Gründer von Bosan Berisik Lab, einem gemeinnützigen interdisziplinären Labor, das junge Filmemacher und Künstler dazu befähigt, kreative und experimentelle Arbeiten zu schaffen. Er ist auch einer der Mitbegründer und Filmprogrammierer des asiatischen Filmfestivals Jogja-NETPAC, ein Premierenfilmfestival, das die Entwicklung des asiatischen Kinos hervorhebt und jährlich in der Kulturstadt Yogyakarta, Indonesien, gezeigt wird.

Alles beginnt, als Angelika Hartmann, frisch pensionierte Lehrerin und Mutter einer von Alltagsproblemen geplagten gutbürgerlichen Familie, eines Tages beschließt, einen Flüchtling aufzunehmen. Angelika ist einsam, seit die Kinder aus dem Haus sind. Ihr Mann, Chefarzt einer Klinik, versucht mit allen Mitteln, den Alterungsprozess aufzuhalten. Sohn Philip driftet in Businesswelten zwischen Shanghai und München, dabei bleibt die Beziehung zu seinem Sohn Basti etwas auf der Strecke. Tochter Sophie weiß mit 31 immer noch nicht, was sie will. Der ganz normale Familienwahnsinn also, in den der Nigerianer Diallo gerät – und auf seine Art das Leben der Hartmanns ziemlich durcheinanderwirbelt. Ein turbulenter Zustandsbericht aus einem fast normalen Land, in dem alle etwas verwirrt sind.

Ein leichtfüßig unterhaltsamer und dabei auch hintergründiger Film über Deutschland heute.

Jakarta
07.10.2018 | 19.00 Uhr | Goethe-Haus
Denpasar
07.10.2018 | 16.45 Uhr | Level 21 XXI
Bandung
14.10.2018 | 16.45 Uhr | Ciwalk XXI
Makkassar
14.10.2018 | 16.45 Uhr | Nipah XXI
Yogyakarta
21.10.2018 | 16.45 Uhr | Empire XXI
Surabaya
21.10.2018 | 16.45 Uhr | Sutos XXI

Simon Verhoeven, geboren 1972 in München, schloss sein Studium mit einem BA an der Tisch School of the Arts der New York University ab. Nach einigen Kurzfilmen und Musikvideos drehte Simon Verhoeven seinen ersten Spielfilm 100 Pro (2001). Nach dem großen Erfolg von Männerherzen (2009) drehte er Männerherzen…und die ganz ganz große Liebe (2011), sein dritter Film basierend auf einem seiner eigenen Drehbücher. Männerherzen erhielt den Jupiterpreis 2010 für den besten Film und den Bayerischen Filmpreis für das beste Drehbuch.

Alle Filme
Vollständiges Programm
Tickets

Top