Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Feature film
Western

Western
© Komplizen Film, Photo (detail): Iris Janke

Director: Valeska Grisebach | Cast: Meinhard Neumann, Reinhardt Wetrek, Syuleyman Alilov Letifov, Veneta Frangova, Vyara Borisova | Language: German, Bulgarian, with English subtitles

A group of construction workers from Germany comes to a remote area in Bulgaria to build a hydroelectric power station. They face different challenges; in particular, there is an issue with the water distribution, which also affects the villagers. The locals themselves are suspicious about the arrival of a group of foreigners on their territory. The construction workers, who remain indifferent, worsen the general mood. The situation becomes even tenser when one of the workers flirts with a woman from the village while bathing in the river.

The story revolves around Meinhard (Meinhard Neumann), one of the new workers in the group who no longer has a family. Meinhard, who feels inspired by the challenges of the beautiful village, explores the area and one day comes across a wild horse. It turns out that this horse belongs to Adrian (Syuleyman Alilov Letifov), a respected man in the village. Meinhard and Adrian eventually develop a tight bond that is as intimate as is it usually is among siblings who protect and respect one another – even though they do not understand their respective languages. The closer their friendship becomes, the more Meinhard feels more attached to the villagers than to the workers of his own group. 

For the most part of the film, we see how the actors communicate in Bulgarian and German without really understanding each other – except for some villagers who speak a little German, both because of the shared past of Bulgaria and Germany during the World War I and II as well as their geographical location, since the two countries are not too far apart. As a viewer, we experience every detail of awkwardness, tension, and the language barrier throughout the film, but never lose our own understanding of every event that occurs in the story.

Thanks to the realistic style and rhythmic movements in this quiet story of director Valeska Grisebach, we enjoy every adventure and every emotional shift of the actors who bring their characters to life with extraordinary talent. We feel very close to them and understand the life of the characters in the movie, with all their frictions and tense relationships.
Born in Wonosobo, Central Java, Indonesia in 1985. 

He studied traditional music and communication before falling in love with filmmaking. He is a self-taught filmmaker, alumni of the Berlinale Talent Campus in Germany and the Asian Film Academy in South Korea where he won the BFC & SHOCS Scholarship Fund. Since 2008, he has directed and produced ten short films, which have been highlighted in prestigious national and international film festivals, before making feature films. Another Trip to the Moon (2015), his first feature film, was nominated for the HIVOS-Tiger Award and the NETPAC Award of the International Film Festival Rotterdam 2015. His second feature The Crescent Moon (2015) was nominated for the Asian Future Award at the Tokyo International Film Festival 2015, and in seven categories, including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay and Best Director at the Indonesian Film Festival 2015, while Talak 3 (2016), a critically acclaimed film that was listed among the Top 15 of Indonesian box-office hits in 2016, was also nominated for Best Original Screenplay at the Indonesian Film Festival 2016. The Carousel Never Stops Turning (2017) is his fourth feature film and was nominated for the Kim Ji-seok Award at the Busan International Film Festival 2017 and officially selected for the Tokyo International Film Festival 2017. His latest works include a short film entitled Woo Woo (or Those Silence That Kills You and Me) and his fifth feature film, a novel adaptation of Arini; both will be released in 2018.

He is a producer and the founder of Matta Cinema, a production house which focuses on producing audience and artistic films by working with unique and creative directors for global audiences. He is also a producer and founder of Bosan Berisik Lab, a non-profit inter-disciplinary laboratory that empowers young filmmakers and artists to create creative and experimental works. He is also one of the co-founders and a film programmer of Jogja-NETPAC Asian Film Festival, a premiere film festival that highlights the development of Asian cinema and is screened annually in the cultural city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
A group of German builders sets off to work on a building site in the Bulgarian provinces. The foreign land and its rough and largely unspoilt countryside soon give the men a taste for adventure. At the same time, they are confronted by their own prejudices and distrust. Although relations with the inhabitants of a nearby village are difficult – not least because of the language barriers, which at first are virtually insurmountable – Meinhard manages to befriend the locals; yet his colleague Vincent watches the approaches with jealous mistrust. For the two men, the nearby village becomes the scene of a battle for the recognition and favour of its residents.

In Western, Valeska Grisebach has created a haunting culture-clash drama using non-professional actors

Unbelievable tension … The non-professional cast of Bulgarians and Germans gives the film a consistency that literally frees it from fiction. It is rare to find a film with this much physicality, humanity and reality.

Badische Zeitung

 

Jakarta
06.10.2018 | 5 PM | Goethe-Haus
Denpasar
06.10.2018 | 5 PM | Level 21 XXI
Bandung
13.10.2018 | 5 PM | Ciwalk XXI
Makkassar
13.10.2018 | 5 PM | Nipah XXI
Yogyakarta
20.10.2018 | 5 PM | Empire XXI
Surabaya
20.10.2018 | 5 PM | Sutos XXI

Valeska Grisebach was born in 1968 in Bremen, Germany. She studied philosophy and literature in Berlin, Munich and Vienna. She began a degree in directing at the Film Academy Vienna in 1993, one of her teachers being Michael Haneke. Her graduation film Be My Star won the FIPRESCI Award in Toronto and the main award (for best film) in Turin. Longing, her second feature film, was shown in the Berlinale competition section and won numerous international awards. Valeska Grisebach worked for a time as a lecturer at the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (German Film and Television Academy Berlin, DFFB).

All Movies
Complete Program
Tickets

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Spielfilm
Western

Western
© Komplizen Film, Foto (Zuschnitt): Iris Janke

Regie: Valeska Grisebach | Darsteller: Meinhard Neumann, Reinhardt Wetrek, Syuleyman Alilov Letifov, Veneta Frangova, Vyara Borisova | Sprache: Deutsch, Bulgarisch, mit englischen Untertiteln

Eine Gruppe von Bauarbeitern aus Deutschland kommt in eine abgelegene Gegend in Bulgarien, um dort ein Wasserkraftwerk zu errichten. Dort stehen sie vor unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen; insbesondere geht es um die Frage der Wasserverteilung, die auch die Dorfbewohner betrifft. Die Einheimischen stehen dem Eintreffen einer Gruppe von Ausländern auf ihrem Territorium misstrauisch und wachsam gegenüber. Die Arbeiter, die eine gewisse Gleichgültigkeit an den Tag legen, verschlechtern die allgemeine Stimmung. Die Situation wird noch angespannter, als einer der Arbeiter beim Baden im Fluss mit einer Frau aus dem Dorf flirtet.  
 
Die Geschichte dreht sich um Meinhard (Meinhard Neumann), einen der neuen Arbeiter in dieser Gruppe, der keine Familie mehr hat. Meinhard, der sich von den Herausforderungen in dem schönen Dorf inspiriert fühlt, erforscht und erkundet die Gegend und trifft eines Tages auf ein wildes Pferd. Es stellt sich heraus, dass dieses Pferd Adrian (Syuleyman Alilov Letifov) gehört, dem „Paten“ des Dorfes. Zwischen Meinhard und Adrian entwickelt sich schließlich eine so innige Freundschaft, wie sie sonst unter Geschwistern üblich ist, die sich gegenseitig schützen und respektieren, obwohl sie die Sprache des jeweils anderen nicht verstehen. Je enger die Beziehung zwischen den beiden wird, desto mehr fühlt sich Meinhard mehr zu den Einheimischen hingezogen als den Arbeitern seiner eigenen Gruppe.
 
Den größten Teil des Films über sehen wir, wie die Darsteller Bulgarisch und Deutsch miteinander sprechen, ohne sich wirklich zu verstehen – abgesehen von einem kleinen Teil der Dorfbewohner, die gebrochenes Deutsch sprechen, sowohl aufgrund der Vergangen Bulgariens und Deutschlands während des Ersten und Zweiten Weltkriegs als auch der geographischen Lage, da die beiden Länder nicht allzu weit auseinander liegen. Als Zuschauer erleben wir während des Films jedes Detail der Unbeholfenheit, Spannung und Sprachhindernisse, verlieren aber nie unser eigenes Verständnis für jede Begebenheit, die in der Geschichte vorkommt.
 
Dank des realistischen Stils und den fließenden Bewegungen in der ruhigen Geschichte von Regisseurin Valeska Grisebach, genießen wir jedes Abenteuer und jede emotionale Verschiebung der Darsteller, die jeden Charakter mit außerordentlichem Talent zum Leben erwecken. Wir fühlen uns ihnen sehr nahe und verstehen das Leben der Charaktere im Film mit all ihren Reibungen und angespannten Beziehungen.
Geboren 1985 in Wonosobo, Zentraljava, Indonesien.

Er studierte traditionelle Musik und Kommunikation, bevor er seine Leidenschaft für das Filmemachen entdeckte. Er ist ein autodidaktischer Filmemacher, Absolvent des Berlinale Talent Campus in Deutschland und der Asian Film Academy in Südkorea, wo er den BFC & SHOCS Scholarship Fund gewann. Seit 2008 inszenierte und produzierte er zehn Kurzfilme, die auf renommierten nationalen und internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt wurden, bevor er begann, Spielfilme zu drehen. Another Trip to the Moon (2015), sein erster Spielfilm, wurde für den HIVOS-Tiger Award und den NETPAC Award des Internationalen Filmfestivals Rotterdam 2015 nominiert. Sein zweiter Film The Crescent Moon (2015) wurde beim Tokyo International Film Festival 2015 für den Asian Future Award nominiert, und in sieben Kategorien, darunter Bester Film, Bestes Drehbuch und Bester Regisseur beim Indonesian Film Festival 2015, während Talak 3 ( 2016), ein von den Kritikern gefeierter Film, der 2016 unter den Top 15 der indonesischen Kinohits gelistet war, wurde beim Indonesian Film Festival 2016 für das beste Originaldrehbuch nominiert. The Carousel Never Stops Turning (2017) ist sein vierter Spielfilm und wurde für den Kim Ji-seok Award beim Busan International Film Festival 2017 nominiert und offiziell für das Tokyo International Film Festival 2017 ausgewählt. Zu seinen neuesten Arbeiten gehören ein Kurzfilm mit dem Titel Woo Woo (oder Those Silence That Kills You and Me) und sein fünfter Spielfilm, eine neue Adaption von Arini; beide werden 2018 veröffentlicht.

Er ist Produzent und Gründer von Matta Cinema, einem Produktionshaus, das sich darauf konzentriert, sowohl künstlerische als auch publikumswirksame Filme zu produzieren, indem er mit einzigartigen und kreativen Regisseuren für ein globales Publikum arbeitet. Er ist auch Produzent und Gründer von Bosan Berisik Lab, einem gemeinnützigen interdisziplinären Labor, das junge Filmemacher und Künstler dazu befähigt, kreative und experimentelle Arbeiten zu schaffen. Er ist auch einer der Mitbegründer und Filmprogrammierer des asiatischen Filmfestivals Jogja-NETPAC, ein Premierenfilmfestival, das die Entwicklung des asiatischen Kinos hervorhebt und jährlich in der Kulturstadt Yogyakarta, Indonesien, gezeigt wird.

Eine Gruppe deutscher Bauarbeiter macht sich auf den Weg auf eine Auslandsbaustelle in der bulgarischen Provinz. Das fremde Land und die raue, wenig erschlossene Landschaft wecken die Abenteuerlust bei den Männern. Gleichzeitig sind sie mit ihren eigenen Vorurteilen und ihrem Misstrauen konfrontiert. Auch wenn die Beziehungen zu den Bewohnern eines nahen Dorfs schwierig sind – nicht zuletzt wegen der vorerst kaum überwindbaren Sprachbarrieren gelingt es Meinhard, mit den Einheimischen Freundschaft zu schließen; sein Kollege Vincent verfolgt die Annäherungen mit eifersüchtigem Misstrauen. Das nahe gelegene Dorf wird für die beiden Männer zur Bühne eines Konkurrenzkampfs um die Anerkennung und die Gunst der Dorfbewohner.

Valeska Grisebach inszeniert in Western mit nicht-professionellen Darstellern ein eindringliches Culture-Clash-Drama.

Eine unerhörte Spannung … Die nicht-professionellen Darsteller, Bulgaren wie Deutsche, geben dem Film eine Konsistenz, die sich von der Fiktion regelrecht befreit. So viel Körperlichkeit, so viel Mensch, so viel Wirklichkeit ist selten im Kino.

Badische Zeitung

 

Jakarta
06.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Goethe-Haus
Denpasar
06.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Level 21 XXI
Bandung
13.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Ciwalk XXI
Makkassar
13.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Nipah XXI
Yogyakarta
20.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Empire XXI
Surabaya
20.10.2018 | 17.00 Uhr | Sutos XXI
Valeska Grisebach, geboren 1968 in Bremen, studierte Philosophie und Literaturwissenschaft in Berlin, München und Wien. 1993 begann sie ein Regiestudium an der Wiener Filmakademie, zu ihren Lehrern gehörte auch Michael Haneke. Ihr Abschlussfilm Mein Stern wurde in Toronto mit dem FIPRESCI-Preis und in Turin mit dem Hauptpreis (Bester Film) ausgezeichnet. Sehnsucht, ihr zweiter Spielfilm, lief im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2006 und gewann zahlreiche internationale Preise. Zeitweise war Valeska Grisebach als Dozentin an der Berliner Film- und Fernsehakademie (DFFB).
Alle Filme
Vollständiges Programm
Tickets

Top