Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Documentary
Beuys

Beuys
© zeroonefilm_bpk_Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung_Stiftung Museum Schloss Moyland Photo: Ute Klophaus

Director: Andres Veiel | With: Klaus Staeck, Caroline Tisdall, Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, Johannes Stüttgen, Franz Joseph van der Grinten | Language: German, with English subtitles

Joseph Beuys (1921-1986) was an important figure in 20th century modern art because he strove to open the boundaries of the art system. Beuys artistic practices blurred the line between art and life, between fact and fiction. The film “Beuys” by Andres Veiel tries to illustrate Joseph Beuys’ way of working and the personal life of the artist, which also influenced his works, through interviews. We are also invited to experience Beuys' art actions through material from the archives.

One of Beuys’ works that we can see in this film is the well-known project “7000 Eichen” (“7000 Oaks”), which Beuys created for Documenta 7 in 1982. This time-based art project involved many volunteers who planted trees for him in the German city of Kassel. Each tree was planted with an accompanying basalt stone. The socio-political struggles that took place throughout the project can be seen as Beuys’ attempt to create works of art based on one of his concepts of extended art, namely, Social Sculpture. For Beuys, art had to be in a community’s daily life, intervene and invite the community to participate in shaping a social ecology. This concept still has a major impact on contemporary art practices in public spaces.

Beuys was an international but controversial personality. He traveled to America and Japan to talk to students and academics. Beuys’ debates with those who opposed him were always performative, since Beuys was also a performative figure through his unmistakable style - he always wore hats and vests. Beuys’ performativity could also be seen at the events of the Düsseldorf Art Academy in 1972, when he clashed with colleagues; they could not agree on the functions of art education and disagreed with Beuys’ political activities in the Green Party. His actions were part of a performance based on the concept of Social Sculpture. He wanted art to penetrate all aspects of people’s lives, including the parliament.

This film reminds us of the importance of Beuys’ statement that “everyone is an artist,” a statement that may have been controversial at the time, but has become so relevant in the age of digital society. Today, everyone feels like an artist and can participate in shaping the social reality around them through various social media channels.

is a film and arts critic and a member of Forum Lenteng. He is one of the founders and the editor-in-chief of www.jurnalfootage.net. He studied at Sekolah Tinggi Filsafat Driyarkara (Driyarkara School of Philosophy). He is also one of the curators and selectors of Arkipel (Jakarta International Documentary and Experimental Film Festival) which started in 2013. He worked as a researcher at the Desantara Foundation in 2008 and has been working as a freelance researcher for Dewan Kesenian Jakarta (Jakarta Art Council) since 2014. He also served as a curator for the archive and dramaturgy exhibition in the Sundanese Theatre Group for Miss Tjitjih’s archive performance Backstage to Frontstage in 2017. Currently he is developing a project called The Lost Archive performance which is based on Bachtiar Siagian’s movie Turang.


Hardly any twentieth century German cultural figure is as famous or as controversial as Joseph Beuys (1921 – 1986), a performance artist, sculptor, graphic artist, art theorist and one-time professor. In his fast-paced and intelligent collage of countless images and audio documents, many of them previously unseen, the director Andres Veiel paints a picture of this unique man and artist whose restless creativity knew no bounds. Beuys is no conventional portrait; rather it is an intimate study of the man, his art and his ideas – stirring, provocative and astoundingly present. Beuys’ broad understanding of art takes him right to the heart of social debates that continue to be of relevance today.

Beuys by Andres Veiel is a wonderful documentary as well as a complete, instructive and respectful portrait of an important artist – who was always a sensation.

Andres Veiel’s fascinating film takes its stylistic cues from its restlessly creative subject. One could even argue that Beuys’ life was his main work – and that’s what makes Veiel’s fine, thoughtful documentary such a pleasure to watch.

Screen Daily

 

Jakarta
05.10.2018 | 7 PM | Goethe-Haus

Andres Veiel was born in 1959 in Stuttgart, Germany. He studied psychology in West Berlin and trained in directing and dramaturgy at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin. He made a documentary in 1991/92 entitled Winternachtstraum, based on scenes he initially shot in a Berlin prison. In 1993 Veiel won a German Film Award for Balagan. He presented If Not Us, Who?, his first feature film which won several prizes, in the competition section of the 2011 Berlinale. Andres Veiel is a member of the German and European Film Academy, and teaches at various universities.

All Movies
Complete Program
Tickets

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Dokumentarfilm
Beuys

Beuys
© zeroonefilm_bpk_Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung_Stiftung Museum Schloss Moyland Foto: Ute Klophaus

Regie: Andres Veiel | Mit: Klaus Staeck, Caroline Tisdall, Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, Johannes Stüttgen, Franz Joseph van der Grinten | Sprache: Deutsch, mit englischen Untertiteln

Joseph Beuys (1921-1986) war eine wichtige Figur in der modernen Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts, weil er sich darum bemühte, die Grenzen des Kunstsystems zu öffnen. Beuys künstlerische Praktiken verwischen die Grenze zwischen Kunst und Leben, zwischen Fakt und Fiktion. Der Film „Beuys“ von Andres Veiel versucht, Joseph Beuys’ Arbeitsweg und das persönliche Leben des Künstlers, das auch seine Werke beeinflusste, durch Interviews zu illustrieren. Wir sind auch dazu eingeladen, über Archivmaterial Beuys’ Kunstaktionen zu erleben.

Eine von Beuys’ Arbeiten, die wir in diesem Film sehen können, ist das sehr bekannte Projekt „7000 Eichen“, das Beuys 1982 für die Documenta 7 schuf. Dieses zeitbasierte Kunstprojekt umfasste viele Freiwillige, die für ihn Bäume in der deutschen Stadt Kassel pflanzten. Jeder Baum wurde mit einem begleitenden Basaltstein gepflanzt. Alle sozio-politischen Kämpfe, die sich während des gesamten Projekts ereigneten, können als Beuys’ Versuch betrachtet werden, Kunstwerke basierend auf einem seiner Konzepte erweiterter Kunst, der Sozialen Plastik, zu realisieren. Für Beuys musste Kunst im täglichen Leben der Gemeinschaft sein, in die Gemeinschaft eingreifen und sie dazu einladen, sich an der Gestaltung einer sozialen Ökologie zu beteiligen. Dieses Konzept hat bis heute einen großen Einfluss auf zeitgenössische Kunstpraktiken im öffentlichen Raum.
 
Beuys war eine internationale, aber auch kontroverse Persönlichkeit. Er reiste nach Amerika und Japan, um mit Studenten und Akademikern ins Gespräch zu kommen. Beuys’ Debatten mit denen, die sich ihm entgegenstellten, waren stets performativ, da Beuys durch seinen unverwechselbaren Stil – er trug immer Hüte und Westen – auch eine performative Figur war. Beuys’ Performativität war auch bei den Veranstaltungen der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie im Jahr 1972 zu sehen, als er mit Kollegen aneinandergeriet; man war sich nicht einig über die Funktionen der Kunstvermittlung sowie mit den politischen Aktivitäten von Beuys bei der Partei Die Grünen nicht einverstanden. Seine Aktionen waren Teil einer Performance, die auf dem Konzept der Sozialen Plastik basierte. Er wollte, dass Kunst in alle Aspekte des Lebens der Menschen eindringt, auch ins Parlament.

Dieser Film erinnert uns an die Bedeutung von Beuys’ Aussage, dass „jeder Mensch ein Künstler ist“, eine Aussage, die damals kontrovers gewesen sein mag, aber im Zeitalter der digitalen Gesellschaft so relevant geworden ist. Heute fühlt sich jeder als Künstler und kann durch verschiedene Social-Media-Kanäle an der Gestaltung der sozialen Realität um ihn herum teilnehmen.

ist Film- und Kunstkritiker und Mitglied des Forum Lenteng. Er ist einer der Gründer und Chefredakteur von www.jurnalfootage.net. Er studierte an der Sekolah Tinggi Filsafat Driyarkara (Driyarkara Hochschule für Philosophie). Er ist ebenfalls einer der Kuratoren und im Auswahl-Kommitee von Arkipel (Jakarta Internationales Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilmfestival), das im Jahr 2013 begann. Im Jahr 2008 arbeitete er als Rechercheur bei der Desantara Foundation und ist seit 2014 freiberuflich für das Dewan Kesenian Jakarta (Jakarta Art Council) tätig. 2017 war er außerdem Kurator für die Archiv- und Dramaturgie-Ausstellung der sundanesischen Theatergruppe für Miss Tjitjihs Archiv-Aufführung Backstage to Frontstage. Zurzeit entwickelt er das Projekt The Lost Archive, das auf Bachtiar Siagians Film Turang basiert.
 
Kaum ein deutscher Kulturschaffender des 20. Jahrhunderts ist ähnlich berühmt und war ähnlich umstritten wie der Aktionskünstler, Bildhauer, Zeichner, Kunsttheoretiker und zeitweilige Professor Joseph Beuys (1921 – 1986). Regisseur Andres Veiel zeichnet in seiner furiosen, klugen Collage unzähliger, oftmals bisher unerschlossener Bild- und Tondokumente das Bild eines einzigartigen Menschen und Künstlers, der in seiner rastlosen Kreativität Grenzen sprengte. Beuys ist kein klassisches Porträt, sondern eine intime Betrachtung des Menschen, seiner Kunst und seiner Ideenräume, mitreißend, provozierend und verblüffend gegenwärtig. Beuys‘ erweiterter Kunstbegriff führt ihn mitten in den Kern auch heute relevanter gesellschaftlicher Debatten.

Beuys von Andres Veiel ist ein großartiger Dokumentarfilm und dazu ein vollständiges, lehrreiches und respektvolles Porträt eines wichtigen Künstlers, der immer auch eine Sensation war.

Andres Veiels faszinierender Film zieht seine stilistischen Mittel aus der rastlosen Kreativität seines Protagonisten. Vielleicht war das Leben von Beuys selbst sein größtes Kunstwerk - das ist es, was Veiels fein gesponnenen, klugen Film zu einem solchen Vergnügen macht.

Screen Daily

 

Jakarta
05.10.2018 | 19.00 Uhr | Goethe-Haus

Andres Veiel, geboren 1959 in Stuttgart, Deutschland, studierte in West-Berlin Psychologie und absolvierte eine Regie- und Dramaturgie-Ausbildung am Berliner Künstlerhaus Bethanien. Aus ersten Inszenierungen in einem Berliner Gefängnis entstand 1991/92 der Dokumentarfilm Winternachtstraum. 1993 erhielt Veiel für Balagan einen Deutschen Filmpreis. Im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2011 zeigte er seinen ersten Spielfilm, Wer wenn nicht wir, der mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde. Andres Veiel ist Mitglied der Deutschen und der Europäischen Filmakademie und unterrichtet an verschiedenen Hochschulen.

Alle Filme
Vollständiges Programm
Tickets

Top