Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Feature film
Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen

Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen
Photo (detail): © Constantin Film Verleih GmbH/Gordon Muehle

Director: Andreas Dresen | Cast: Arved Friese, Justus von Dohnáyi, Axel Prahl, Andreas Schmidt, Jule Hermann, Charly Hübner, Nadja Uhl, Fritzi Haberlandt | Language: German, with English subtitles

Nobody can resist Timm Thaler’s laughter. It is so contagious and disarming that super-rich Baron Lefuet wants to possess it at any price. And so it comes about that Lefuet proposes the orphan an unusual trade: if Timm sells him his laughter, he will win every bet in future. Timm signs the contract. Thanks to his new ability, the boy now appears capable of fulfilling his every desire, yet without his laughter he becomes more and more lonely, and finds himself increasingly in the clutches of the fiendish baron. Timm’s friends Ida and Kreschimir do everything they can to get him his laughter back, but will they and Timm manage to outwit the baron?

Andreas Dresen has succeeded in making a wonderful new film adaptation of the Timm Thaler story – which in its every facet is a delight through and through. A charming and enchanting cinematic pleasure for the whole family

Jakarta
07.10.2018 | 3 PM | Goethe-Haus

Andreas Dresen, born in 1963 in Gera, Germany, studied directing at the Film University “Konrad Wolf” in Potsdam-Babelsberg from 1986 to 1991. Dresen’s breakthrough came at the 1999 Berlinale when he presented his omnibus film Nightshapes. Among other prizes, he won the Silver Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival and the German Film Award in silver for Grill Point. His biggest box office success so far was Summer in Berlin (2006). Dresen also makes documentaries, as well as working from time to time in theatre. He presented his drama Stopped on Track (2011) in the Un Certain Regard section at Cannes. The Legend of Timm Thaler or The Boy Who Sold His Laughter is his first film for children and young adults.

All Movies
Complete Program
Tickets

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Spielfilm
Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen

Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen
Foto (Zuschnitt): © Constantin Film Verleih GmbH/Gordon Muehle

Regie: Andreas Dresen | Darsteller: Arved Friese, Justus von Dohnáyi, Axel Prahl, Andreas Schmidt, Jule Hermann, Charly Hübner, Nadja Uhl, Fritzi Haberlandt | Sprache: Deutsch, mit englischen Untertiteln

Timm Thalers Lachen kann niemand widerstehen. Es ist so ansteckend und entwaffnend, dass der schwerreiche Baron Lefuet es unbedingt besitzen will. Und so schlägt Lefuet dem Waisenjungen einen ungewöhnlichen Handel vor: Wenn Timm ihm sein Lachen verkauft, wird er in Zukunft jede Wette gewinnen. Timm unterschreibt den Vertrag. Dank der neuen Fähigkeit kann der Junge sich nun scheinbar alle Wünsche erfüllen, aber ohne sein Lachen wird er auch immer einsamer und gerät mehr und mehr in die Fänge des teuflischen Barons. Doch Timms Freunde Ida und Kreschimir setzen alles daran, damit er sein Lachen zurückerhält. Wird es ihnen gemeinsam mit Timm gelingen, den Baron zu überlisten?

Andreas Dresen ist eine wunderbare Neuverfilmung von Timm Thaler gelungen, die in all ihren Facetten auf ganzer Linie begeistert. Ein herrlich charmantes und zauberhaftes Kinovergnügen für die ganze Familie.

Jakarta
07.10.2018 | 15.00 Uhr | Goethe-Haus

Andreas Dresen, geboren 1963 in Gera, studierte von 1986 bis 1991 Regie an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen “Konrad Wolf” in Potsdam-Babelsberg. Seinen Durchbruch erlebte Dresen auf der Berlinale 1999 mit seinem Episodenfilm Nachtgestalten. Für Halbe Treppe erhielt er unter anderem den Silbernen Bären bei den Berliner Filmfestspielen und den Deutschen Filmpreis in Silber. Sein größter Publikumserfolg war bisher Sommer vorm Balkon (2006). Dresen dreht auch Dokumentarfilme und arbeitet immer wieder am Theater. Sein Drama Halt auf freier Strecke (2011) stellte Dresen in Cannes in der Sektion Un Certain Regard vor. Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen ist sein erster Kinder- und Jugendfilm.

Alle Filme
Vollständiges Programm
Tickets

Top