Algaemy The Poetics of Change

Studio Blond & Bieber, Algaemy
Studio Blond & Bieber, Algaemy | Photo: Lukas Olfe

What if our clothes were to change along with us? The Berlin design studio Blond & Bieber put itself this question. Instead of designing chairs and tables, Essi Johanna Glomb and Rasa Weber are more inclined to combine design with research and ask conceptual questions.

Algaemy arose from research by-products: pigment extraction from algae. In experiments with the pigments, the designers discovered that the algae colours changed when exposed to sunlight and reacted with each other through overlaying. In this way they developed a biodynamic colour palette whose colours change over time.


Blond & Bieber wished to make their research results understandable and palpable, and find application for them. For this they had to ascertain: what carrier materials hold the pigments and how do they react with them? Each step involved new experiments. Limited collections and prototypes arose in collaboration with fashion designer Ylenia Gortana and shoe manufacturer Trippen.

The design duo sees many application possibilities for their “algaemical” colour palette beyond the fashion world as well. For instance in interiors, furniture or upholstery in the auto industry, where chemical colours are becoming an increasing problem for allergy sufferers.

Essi Johanna Glomb and Rasa Weber ask conceptual questions, such as the one about time. What if processes of development and change were to become visible in the products and the wearer’s clothing could be combined with his or her personal history?
 

The product designers see themselves primarily as intermediaries between research and application. With Algaemy they won the Make me! Award 2014, Output Award 2014, Core 77 Design Award 2014 and Ecodesign 2014. Their new project, Sleep with Us, has been nominated for the German Design Award 2016.

Algaemy Die Poesie der Veränderung

Studio Blond & Bieber, Algaemy
Studio Blond & Bieber, Algaemy | Foto: Lukas Olfe

Was wäre, wenn unsere Kleidung sich mit uns verändern würde? So fragt das Berliner Design-Studio Blond & Bieber. Anstatt Stühle oder Tische zu entwerfen, verbinden Essi Johanna Glomb und Rasa Weber lieber Design mit Forschung und stellen konzeptuelle Fragen.

Aus Abfallprodukten der Forschung entstand Algaemy: die Gewinnung von Farbpigmenten aus Algen. Bei Experimenten mit diesen Pigmenten entdeckten die Designerinnen, dass die Algenfarben sich mit der Sonneneinstrahlung veränderten und durch Überlagerungen miteinander reagierten. So entwickelten sie eine biodynamische Farbpalette, deren Farben sich mit der Zeit verändern.


Ihre Forschungsergebnisse wollten Blond & Bieber begreifbar und fühlbar machen und zur Anwendung bringen. Dazu mussten sie herausfinden: Auf welchen Trägerstoffen halten die Pigmente und wie reagieren sie mit ihnen? Jeder Schritt beinhaltete neue Experimente. In Kooperation mit der Modedesignerin Ylenia Gortana und dem deutschen Schuhfabrikanten Trippen entstanden limitierte Kollektionen und Prototypen.

Viele Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der „algaemischen“ Farbpalette sehen die beiden aber auch außerhalb der Modewelt. Zum Beispiel bei Interiors, Möbeln oder bei Polsterbezügen in der Autoindustrie, wo die chemischen Farben immer mehr zum Problem für Allergiker werden. Essi Johanna Glomb und Rasa Weber stellen konzeptuelle Fragen, wie zum Beispiel die nach der Zeit. Was wäre, wenn Entwicklungs- und Veränderungsprozesse in den Produkten sichtbar würden und sich die persönliche Geschichte des Trägers mit seiner Kleidung verbinden dürfte?
 

Die Produktdesignerinnen sehen sich hauptsächlich als Vermittlerinnen zwischen Forschung und Anwendung. Mit Algaemy gewannen Sie den Make me! Award 2014, den Output Award 2014, den Core 77 Design Award 2014 und den Ecodesign 2014. Ihr neues Projekt Sleep With Us ist nominiert für den German Design Award 2016.