Über das Projekt

© Colourbox.de
© Colourbox.de

Emerging and established writers tell about hardship and heartbreak, about love, and hope for a better future.
 

In October 2015, Indonesia was the Guest of Honour country at Frankfurt Book Fair.The launch of this on-line anthology aims to give an insight into the rich world of stories from the Indonesian Archipelago, taking the reader to different islands, ethnic groups, languages and religions. Emerging and established writers tell about hardship and heartbreak, about love, and hope for a better future.

This first batch of stories—More are being planned!—were first published in the yearly anthologies compiled and edited by the Ubud Writers & Readers Festival. The festival, founded in 2003, is strongly committed to introducing Indonesian writers to an international audience. That same mission drives the Lontar Foundation, which was founded in 1987 and today, more than two decades later, continues to be the only organization in the world whose primary focus is the promotion of Indonesia through literary translations.

Ever since 1962, Goethe-Institut Indonesien has actively supported cultural exchange between Indonesia and Germany. Literary translation plays an important role in this exchange.

The year 2015, with Indonesia as Guest of Honour country at the Frankfurt Book Fair and the “German Season” in Indonesia, will provide many opportunities to share stories between authors from both countries, and with readers from all parts of the globe.

Über das Projekt

© Colourbox.de
© Colourbox.de

Aufstrebende und etablierte Schriftsteller erzählen von Not und Kummer, über Liebe und die Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft.
 

Indonesien war im Oktober 2015 Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse. Diese Online-Anthologie soll einen Einblick in die reiche Welt der Geschichten der indonesischen Inselwelt ermöglichen, indem sie den Leser auf die verschiedenen Inseln, zu den unterschiedlichen ethnischen Gruppen, Sprachen und Religionen, entführt. Aufstrebende und etablierte Schriftsteller erzählen von Not und Kummer, über Liebe und die Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft.

Diese Geschichten wurden erstmals in den jährlich erscheinenden Anthologien des Autoren & Leser Festivals in Ubud zusammengestellt und veröffentlicht. Das Festival, das im Jahr 2003 gegründet wurde, engagiert sich stark dafür, indonesische Schriftsteller dem internationalen Publikum näher zu bringen. Das gleiche Ziel verfolgt auch die Lontar-Stiftung, die im Jahr 1987 gegründet wurde. Heute, über zwei Jahrzehnte später, ist sie nach wie vor die einzige Organisation, deren Schwerpunkt die Förderung von Indonesien durch literarische Übersetzungen ist.

Seit 1962 unterstützt das Goethe-Institut Indonesien aktiv den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Indonesien und Deutschland. Literarische Übersetzungen spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle.
Das Jahr 2015 war ein spannendes Jahr für Indonesien. Als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse, zusammen mit der “Deutschen Saison” in Indonesien, bieten sich zahlreiche Gelegenheiten, um Geschichten von Autoren beider Länder auszutauschen und sie mit anderen Menschen aus der ganzen Welt zu teilen.