Open Data Innovation Week



Open Data Innovation Week

Over the past few years, open data has seen significant progress in Indonesia and across Southeast Asia, with more governments opening data for public perusal and consumption and civil society becoming knowledgeable about and engaging with the data. Moreover, there’s been a large growth in initiatives, events and organisations focused on advocating for and experimenting with open data to foster a more open, responsive and inclusive government. Arm-in-arm with this, there’s also an increasing number of complex public policy challenges being tackled by new forms of data-driven approaches and tools.

To contribute to this progress, we’re planning the Open Data Innovation Week—an event that will take place in Jakarta from the 22nd to the 25th of November 2016. Through this, we aim to bring together cross-sectoral, multicultural communities to share, discuss and build a toolbox of  methods and tools for improving the design, practice and implementation of open data projects.

The event will contribute to fostering a ‘culture of data’ in the region by connecting actors active in the tech and data space. Together with this diverse group of experts from across the Southeast Asia region, we will jointly explore and develop the frameworks, methods and tools, as well as strategies and tactics, that can be applied to improve the ways open data is put to use to realise sustainable impact. We will couple this with strengthening the capacity of organisations and individuals to apply them, ensuring that the tools are not only practical and useful, but will also largely contribute to and inspire the work of the participating organisations, others working in the space, and all citizens, governments and civil society organisations keen on embarking on open data.

In the next weeks, we will hold an open Call for Tools where interested parties can apply  to be part of the event as a co-creators and participants. We will publish the open call in the Jakarta Lab’s blog and Goethe-Institut Indonesien’s calendar of events, so stay tuned for more details!

For more information about Goethe-Institut Indonesia and their activities, visit www.goethe.de. For any inquiries about the “Data2Life. Life2Data.” project, the Open Data Innovation Week event or the Open Data Lab Jakarta, you can contact us at info@labs.webfoundation.org or send us a message via Twitter @ODLabJkt!

Stay updated on the projects by following @ODLabJkt and @GI_Indonesien on Twitter.

Open Data Innovation Week



Open Data Innovation Week

In den vergangenen Jahren hat das Thema Open Data in Indonesien und Südostasien zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen. Immer mehr Regierungen machen ihre Daten für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und ermöglichen so Akteuren aus der Zivilgesellschaft, sich selbstständig mit Open Data auseinanderzusetzen. Darüber hinaus gibt es immer mehr Initiativen, Veranstaltungen und Organisationen, die sich mit dem Ziel einer offeneren und integrativeren Regierungsarbeit für das Thema Open Data einsetzen. Diese Entwicklung geht Hand in Hand mit der wachsenden Zahl komplexer, politischer Herausforderungen, die durch neue Formen datenbasierender Ansätze und Werkzeuge bewältigt werden können.

Um zu diesem Prozess einen Beitrag zu leisten, organisierten wir die Open Data Innovation Week, die vom 22. bis 25. November 2016 in Jakarta stattfand. Mit dieser Veranstaltung wollen wir Sektoren übergreifende, multikulturelle Communities zusammenbringen, um gemeinsam neue Methoden und Instrumente zu entwickeln, mit denen die Gestaltung und die Durchführung von Open Data Projekten in Zukunft verbessert und vereinfacht werden können.

Indem sie Akteure aus technischen und sozialen Bereichen zusammenbringt, wird die Veranstaltung dazu beitragen, in der Region eine „Kultur der Daten“ zu etablieren. Gemeinsam mit Experten aus ganz Südostasien werden wir die Rahmenbedingungen erforschen sowie Methoden, Instrumente und Strategien entwickeln, die dazu dienen können, die Art und Weise, wie offene Daten zur Verwirklichung nachhaltiger Entwicklungsziele eingesetzt werden können, zu verbessern. Wir wollen Organisation und Einzelpersonen mit der Anwendung der entwickelten Instrumente vertraut machen, um zu gewährleisten, dass die Instrumente von praktischem Nutzen sind. Zudem wollen wir damit erreichen, dass sich die beteiligten Organisationen, die Bürger, Zivilgesellschaften und Regierungen auch in Zukunft mit Open Data beschäftigen und den eingeschlagenen Pfad weitergehen. 

Weitere Informationen zum Goethe-Institut Indonesien finden Sie unter www.goethe.de/indonesien
Für Anfragen zu Data2Life.Life2Data., der Open Data Innovation Week oder dem Open Data Lab Jakarta können Sie uns unter info@labs.webfoundation.org über Twitter @ODLabJkt erreichen!