Data2Life.Life2Data.

The management of a village information system for achieving public responsibility in the villages

Foto: Wahyu Setyoningsih 10 Photos Girisuko is the remotest village in the district of Bantul. Since October 2015 there has been an internet network aimed at improving the work of the village administration while also taking a step in the direction of public responsibility. | Photo: Wahyu Setyoningsih
Wahyu Setyoningsih
Forum Pengembang SID (Sistem Informasi Desa) DIY

Forum for the development of information systems in villages (FD-SID) in the Yogyakarta Special Region


Public ownership means that the concerned parties of fiduciary responsibility report honestly and openly about their activities and allow checking (Mardiasmo, 2002).

Girisuko is an out of the way village in the Gunungkidul Sub-district neighbouring Bantul. It is located in a hilly area with a large expanse of forest and has more than 5,000 inhabitants, who live by farming. For many of the inhabitants of the village it is not easy to obtain information originating from the local government – government programs function well only if those concerned take an active part. Reliable access to relevant information will increase participation in development planning, public decision-making, and the efforts to make government more responsible.

The disclosure of public information provides the inhabitants with active participation in administrative matters (social participation), supports the responsibility of the government to its citizens (social responsibility) and that of citizens to the government (social support), and control and monitoring of citizens with regard to government measures (social control). In other words, people’s right to information is an important element in strengthening public responsibility.

With the increasing use of the internet in all sectors of society, Girisuko wants to realize public responsibility with the help of a village information system (SID). Together with IDEA, CRI and the support of local government, 144 villages in Gunungkidul have set up such a system to meet the needs of the villages.
The SID can be both online and offline. Online the SID can be accessed at http://girisuko-panggang.desa.id; offline the SID is accessible via a public display in the administrative office of the village.
 

The content provided by the SID results in faster correspondence, it provides information and data about the respective villages, it enables participative journalism, and it provides transparency concerning the budget and distribution of funds and more. A good information system is the best way to implement public responsibility in the villages.

The forum for the development of information systems in villages (FD-SID) in the Yogyakarta Special Region constitutes a collaboration amongst activists from villages that are striving to disseminate knowledge through the development of an information system based on modern technology.
The objective of the forum is to better utilize participants’ skills by sharing experience and ultimately to develop a village information system. Once the the forum was established, it became the coordination centre of more than 234 villages in 4 sub-districts (Gunungkidul, Bantul, Kulon Progo and Sleman), all of which in the meantime have introduced the information system (July 2016).

Based on the values of the open source movement, the FD-SID in the Yogyakarta Special Region has an advisory function and helps the villages in the development of apps that are tailored to their needs. The FD-SID has the necessary staff for this, as it cooperated from the very beginning on the information system and has worked together with a number of IT experts in the respective villages.
Together with the Gunungkidul FD-SID and the Bantul FD-SID, the Yogyakarta Special Region FD-SID is currently preparing a series of training sessions for the villages in Kulon Progo.

Data2Life.Life2Data.
Fotoausstellung

Die Leitung eines Dorf-Informationssystems zur Verwirklichung öffentlicher Verantwortung in den Dörfern

Foto: Wahyu Setyoningsih 10 Bilder Girisuko ist das entlegenste Dorf im Bezirk Bantul. Seit Oktober 2015 gibt es ein Internet-Netzwerk, das die Arbeit der Dorfverwaltung verbessern soll und somit ein Schritt in Richtung öffentliche Verantwortung gemacht wird. | Foto: Wahyu Setyoningsih
Öffentliche Verwantwortung bedeutet, dass die betroffenen Seiten treuhänderischer Verantwortung offen und ehrlich über ihre Aktivitäten berichten und Einblick gewähren (Mardiasmo, 2002).

Girisuko ist ein entlegenes Dorf im Unterbezirk Gunungkidul, direkt an der Grenze zum Unterbezirk Bantul. Es liegt in einem hügeligen Gebiet mit einer groβen Waldfläche, und hat mehr als 5000 Einwohner, die von der Landwirtschaft leben. Für viele der Dorfbewohner ist es nicht einfach, Informationen zu erhalten, die von den lokalen Regierungen kommen – und Regierungsprogramme funktionieren nur dann gut, wenn die Betroffenen aktiv daran teilnehmen können. Ein gesicherter Zugang zu relevanten Informationen wird die Teilnahme der Menschen an der Entwicklungsplanung, sowie der öffentlichen Entscheidungsfindung und dem Bestreben, die Regierung zu gröβerer Verantwortlichkeit anzuregen, steigern.

Die Offenlegung öffentlicher Informationen bietet den Einwohnern aktive Teilnahme bei Verwaltungsfragen (social participation), unterstützt die Verantwortung der Regierung gegenüber den Bürgern (social responsibility), die der Bürger gegenüber ihrer (social support), und Kontrolle und Überwachung der Bürger bezüglich der Maβnahmen seitens der Regierung (social control). Mit anderen Worten, das Recht der Menschen auf Informationen ist ein wichtiges Element um öffentliche Verantwortung zu stärken.
Mit der zunehmenden Verbreitung des Internets in allen Gesellschaftsschichten, will Girisuko öffentliche Verantwortung mit Hilfe eines Dorf-Informationssystems (SID) realisieren. Gemeinsam mit IDEA und CRI und der Unterstützung der lokalen Regierung, haben 144 Dörfer in Gunungkidul inzwischen ein solches System eingerichtet, das die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse der Dörfer abdeckt.

Das SID kann sowohl online als auch offline benutzt werden. Online ist das SID über die Webseite girisuko-panggang.desa.id erreichbar, während das SID offline durch ein public display im Verwaltungsamt des Dorfes zugänglich ist.

Die Inhalte, die das SID zur Verfügung stellt, sind unter anderem nützlich für eine schnellere Korrespondenz; es gibt Informationen und Daten über die jeweiligen Dörfer; Möglichkeiten für die Bürger zu partizipativem Journalismus; Transparenz des Haushaltes und Verteilung der Gelder, und mehr.

Ein gutes Informationssystem ist der beste Weg, um öffentliche Verwantwortung in den Dörfern zu verwirklichen.

Das Forum zur Entwicklung von Informationssystemen in Dörfern (FD-SID) in der Sonderregion Yogyakarta ist ein Zusammenschluss von Aktivisten aus den jeweiligen Dörfern, die sich dafür einsetzen, Wissen durch die Entwicklung eines Informationssystems basierend auf moderner Technologie zu verbreiten.

Das Ziel dieses Forums ist es, ihre Fähigkeiten durch Erfahrungsaustausch besser einzusetzen und somit das Dorf-Informationssystem zu entwickeln. Nach Gründung des Forums wurde es zum Koordinationszentrum von mehr als 234 Dörfern in 4 Unterbezirken (Gunungkidul, Bantul, Kulon Progo und Sleman), die inzwischen alle bereits das Informationssystem eingeführt haben (Juli 2016).

Basierend auf den Werten der open source-Bewegung, hat das FD-SID in der Sonderregion Yogyakarta eine Beratungsfunktion übernommen und hilft den Dörfern bei der Entwicklung von Apps, die auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind. Das FD-SID hat hierfür das notwendige Personal, das von Beginn an am Informationssystem mitgearbeitet hat und gemeinsam mit IT-Experten Kollaborationen mit verschiedenen Seiten in den jeweiligen Dörfern eingegangen ist.

Momentan bereitet das FD-SID der Sonderregion Yogkarta gemeinsam mit dem FD-SID Gunungkidul und dem FD-SID Bantul eine Serie von Trainings für die Dörfer in Kulon Progo vor.
 

Wahyu Setyoningsih

Forum Pengembang SID (Sistem Informasi Desa) DIY
Forum zur Entwicklung von Informationssystemen in Dörfern (FD-SID) in der Sonderregion Yogyakarta