Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Postcolonial Perspectives from the Global South© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Respondents & Moderators

Back to Postcolonial Perspectives from the Global South

Respondents

Andi Achdian

Andi Achdian © Andi Achdian Achdian is a lecturer at the Sociology Department, Faculty of Political and Social Science, Universitas Nasional in Jakarta. In addition to his academic work, he is also active as a national member of the executive board of Masyarakat Sejarawan Indonesia, Managing Editor of Jurnal Sejarah and member of Jakarta’s Heritage Expert Team. Achdian is also museum curator and supervisor for the development of Omah Munir human rights museum in Indonesia. His interests are concentrated on colonial history, nationalism and the anticolonial movement at the turn of the twentieth century in the Dutch Indies.

Ayu Utami

Utami © Ayu Utami Ayu is an award-winning Indonesian writer who was a laureate of the Prince Claus Award (2000) and the Ahmad Bakrie Award for Literature (2018). During Indonesia's military regime, Ayu was a journalist and activist for freedom of the press. She was one of the founders of the Alliance of Independent Journalists, later banned by the military regime. In Indonesia’s democratic political system, she believes that religious radicalism constitutes the main challenge to freedom of expression. She also serves as Director of Literature & Ideas Festival at Salihara and Program Director of Komunitas Utan Kayu.

Brigitta Isabella

Isabella © Brigitta Isabella Brigitta is affiliated with KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, a research collective based in Yogyakarta that works through creative experimentation and speculative inquiry with a focus on the intersections between theory and practice. In 2014, Brigitta initiated From Bandung to Berlin, an open and shared artistic platform of collaboration that revolves around the interval of historical space and time between the first Konferensi Asia Afrika in Bandung (1955) and the fall of Berlin Wall in (1989). 

Grace Samboh

Samboh © Wolfgang Bellwinkel Grace is in search of what comprises curatorial work within her surrounding scene. She jigs within the existing elements of the arts scene around her, as she considers the claim that Indonesia is lacking art infrastructure, especially state-owned or run, to be an outdated position. She believes that curating is about understanding and making at the same time. In 2011 she co-founded Hyphen, a closed-door discussion group that seeks to sew together bit by bit the fragmented Indonesian history of art by (re)reading Indonesian contemporary practices and putting them into their own historical context. She is a programmer for the Equator Symposium of the Yogyakarta Biennale (2012-2022).

Hilmar Farid

Hilmar Farid © Hilmar Farid Hilmar Farid is a historian, academic and activist. He was appointed as the first Director General of Culture at the Ministry of National Education and Culture (2015), having had no previous government career background. He co-founded the Jaringan Kerja Budaya (1994) and published the periodic printed publication Media Kerja Budaya. Hilmar also co-founded and chaired Institut Sejarah Sosial Indonesia (2002-2007) and acts as chairman of the Praxis association (since 2012). He is active in the Asian Regional Exchange for New Alternatives (ARENA) and the Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Society as editor.

Manneke Budiman

Budiman © Komunitas Salihara Budiman teaches Literature and Cultural Studies at the Faculty of Humanities, Universitas Indonesia. He currently serves as Associate-Dean for Academic, Research, and Student Affairs. His research interests include Southeast Asian studies, gender studies, youth and popular culture, contemporary Indonesian literature and literacy studies. His ongoing research is concerned with globalization and local responses to it, in relation to the formation of identity and nationality. Together with Abidin Kusno, he is working on their forthcoming publication, Time, Power, and Mobility in Urban Spatial Politics in Indonesia (Palgrave).

Marco Kusumawijaya

Kusumawijaya © Salzburg Global Seminar Marco is an architect and urbanist. In the past 30 years he has worked in the fields of architecture, arts, urban sustainability and housing in various locations in Indonesia and Southeast and East Asia. He was chair of the Jakarta Arts Council (2006-2010). He has also curated a number of exhibitions and artist residencies programmes, as well as serving in advisory capacities for arts organisations in several countries. He co-founded Rujak Centre for Urban Studies (2010) and served as its executive director. Since 2018, he was appointed as chair of the Coastal Management Committee of Jakarta Governor’s Delivery Unit. He has been involved in conferences on arts and sustainable urbanism in cities in Indonesia and abroad.  

Simon Soon

Simon Soon © Simon Soon Soon is a Senior Lecturer in Art History at the Cultural Centre, University of Malaya. His broader areas of interest include comparative modernities in art, urban histories, and art historiography. He has written on various topics related to 20th-century art across Asia and occasionally curates exhibitions. He is the Penang Field Director of Site and Space in Southeast Asia, a research project funded by the Getty Foundation Connecting Art Histories initiative. He is also an editorial member of Southeast of Now: Directions in Contemporary and Modern Art in Asia and team member of the Malaysia Design Archive. 


Moderators

Bambang Harymurti

Harimurti © Bambang Harymurti Since the early 1980s, Harymurti has been working as a journalist covering regional and international news for several media outlets including TIME Magazine, Media Indonesia Daily and the Tempo Weekly News magazine. Harymurti was the Chief Executive Officer and Corporate Chief Editor of Tempo International Media. He has received many fellowships, including a Fulbright Fellowship and a New Generation Fellowship at the East West Center. He has also received numerous awards, including an Excellence in Journalism award from the Indonesian Observer Daily (1997) and the PWI Jawa Timur Pena Award (2006).

Kwartarini Wahyu Yuniarti

Kwartarini © Kwartarini Wahyu Yuniarti Since 1990, Yuniarti served at Faculty of Psychology, Universitas Gadjah Mada from Associate Professor to a Vice Dean for Research, Cooperation and Alumni. Professionally, she is associated with the International Network of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, the Network of Humanitarian Action, the Indonesian Psychological Association, and the Asian Association of Social Psychology. After having received her Doctorate Degree from the Faculty of Psychology, Hamburg University, Germany (2004), Yuniarti is still very active in researching, presenting and publishing both in Indonesia and abroad. Her main research interests are the fields of health psychology, indigenous psychology, and cross-cultural psychology.

Melani Budianta

Budianta © Jakarta Post Well known as a literary critic, especially in gender, cultural, and postcolonial studies, Budianta has published a number of scientific papers, which are adopted as a chapter in internationally published books. She holds positions including, international journal editor of Inter-Asia Cultural Studies, Routledge; editorial board member of anthology at PALA (Project of American Literature in Asia) and is a fellow at Asian Regional Exchange for New Alternative (ARENA). Budianta is currently a lecturer at the Faculty of Humanities, Universitas Indonesia.

Philippe Pirotte

Pirotte © Jakarta Biennale 2017 Pirotte is an art historian and curator. He is the Dean of the Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste Städelschule and Director of Portikus in Frankfurt am Main. Next to that he serves as Adjunct Senior Curator at the UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, and as visiting professor at the Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. He co-founded the Antwerp contemporary art center objectif-exhibitions (1999) and was director of Kunsthalle Bern in Switzerland (2005-2011). Pirotte held the position of Senior Advisor at the Rijksakademie for Visual Arts in Amsterdam (2004-2013). He was curator of La Biennale de Montréal (2016) and member of the curatorial team of the Jakarta Biennale (2017).

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Postcolonial Perspectives from the Global South© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Kommentatoren & Moderatoren

Zurück zu Postcolonial Perspectives from the Global South

Kommentatoren

Andi Achdian

Andi Achdian © Goethe-Institut Achdian ist Dozent an der Abteilung für Soziolgoie der Fakultät für Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Universitas Nasional in Jakarta. Neben seiner akademischen Arbeit ist er auch Führungsmitglied von Masyarakat Sejarawan Indonesia, leitender Redakteur des Magazins Jurnal Sejarah sowie Mitglied des Heritage Expert Teams in Jakarta. Darüber hinaus ist Achdian als Kurator und leitender Entwickler des Omah Munir Museums für Menschenrechte in Indonesien tätig. Sein Hauptinteresse gilt der kolonialen Geschichte, dem Nationalismus und der antikolonialistischen Bewegung zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts in Niederländisch-Indien.

Ayu Utami

Utami © Ayu Utami Utami ist eine preisgekrönte indonesische Schriftstellerin, die 2000 mit dem Prinz-Claus-Preis und 2018 mit dem Ahmad Bakrie Award for Literature ausgezeichnet wurde. Während der Militärdiktatur in Indonesien engagierte sich Utamials Journalistin und Aktivistin für die Pressefreiheit. Sie hat die Vereinigung Allliance Of Independent Journalists („Bündnis unabhängiger Journalisten”) mitbegründet, die später vom Militärregime verboten wurde. Sie ist überzeugt, dass religiöser Radikalismus die größte Bedrohung für die freie Meinungsäußerung in der indonesischen Demokratie darstellt. Außerdem ist sie Direktorin des Literature & Ideas Festival im Kunstzentrum Salihara und Programmdirektorin der Autorengemeinschaft Komunitas Utan Kayu.

Brigitta Isabella

Isabella © Brigitta Isabella Isabella arbeitet für das KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, einer Forschungsgemeinschaft aus Yogyakarta, die auf kreative Experimentierformen und spekulative Betrachtungsweisen setzt und dabei vor allem die Schnittstellen zwischen Theorie und Praxis im Blick hat. 2014 gründete Isabella From Bandung to Berlin, eine offene Plattform, die Künstlerinnen und Künstler zusammenbringt. Hauptthema dieser kollaborativen Einrichtung ist die Zeitspanne zwischen der ersten Konferensi Asia Afrika in Bandung (1955) und dem Fall der Berliner Mauer (1989).

Grace Samboh

Samboh © Wolfgang Bellwinkel Samboh hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, zu verstehen, was das kurative Arbeiten in ihrem Umfeld genau ausmacht. Sie passt nicht so recht in die existierenden Formen der Kunstszene um sie herum, vor allem, weil sie die Behauptung, dass die Kunst in Indonesien, besonders die staatliche, keine Infrastruktur hat, als überholt betrachtet. Ihrer Meinung nach geht es beim Kuratieren sowohl um das Verstehen als auch um das Handeln. 2011 hat sie Hyphen mitbegründet, eine geschlossene Diskussionsgruppe, die die bruchstückhafte indonesische Kunstgeschichte Stück für Stück wieder aneinanderfügen möchte, indem sie zeitgenössische künstlerische Praktiken in Indonesien neu betrachtet und in ihren jeweiligen historischen Kontext einordnet. Sie ist außerdem Programmgestalterin des Equator Symposium der Yogyakarta Biennale (2012-2022).

Hilmar Farid

Hilmar Farid © Hilmar Farid Farid ist Historiker, Akademiker und Aktivist. Obwohl er vorher noch nie für die Regierung tätig gewesen ist, wurde er 2015 vom Ministerium für Nationale Bildung und Kultur zum ersten leitenden Kulturminister ernannt. Er war Mitbegründer von Jaringan Kerja Budaya (1994) und Herausgeber der regelmäßig erscheinenden Publikation Media Kerja Budaya. Farid war darüber hinaus Mitbegründer und Leiter des Institut Sejarah Sosial Indonesia (2002-2007) und ist seit 2012 auch Vorsitzender der Praxis Association. Darüber hinaus ist er für die Organisation Asian Regional Exchange for New Alternatives (ARENA) und für die Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Society als Redakteur tätig.

Manneke Budiman

Budiman © Komunitas Salihara Budiman unterrichtet Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft an der geisteswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universitas Indonesia. Derzeit ist er stellvertretender Dekan für Studien und Forschung sowie Studierendenangelegenheiten. Zu seinen Hauptforschungsthemen zählen Südostasienstudien, Gender Studies, Jugend- und populäre Literatur sowie zeitgenössische indonesische Literatur und literarische Studien. Seine Forschung befasst sich vor allem mit der Globalisierung und deren unmittelbare Folgen in der Region in Bezug auf die Entstehung von Identität und Nationalität. Mit Abidin Kusno arbeitet er derzeit an deren gemeinsamem Werk Time, Power and Mobility in Urban Spatial Politics in Indonesia („Zeit, Macht und Mobilität im Bereich Urban Spatical Politics in Indonesien“), das demnächst bei Palgrave erscheint.

Marco Kusumawijaya

Kusumawijaya © Salzburg Global Seminar Kusumawijaya ist Architekt und ein bekennender Stadtmensch. In den vergangenen 30 Jahren arbeitete er an verschiedenen Orten in Indonesien und Südost- beziehungsweise Ostasien in den Bereichen Architektur, Kunst sowie Nachhaltigkeit und Wohnungsbau. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er Vorsitzender des Jakarta Arts Council (2006-2010). Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Kurator diverser Ausstellungen und Residenzprogramme für Künstler war er auch als Berater für Kunstorganisationen in zahlreichen Ländern tätig. Er ist Mitbegründer des 2010 ins Leben gerufenen Rujak Centre for Urban Studies, das er auch leitete. Seit 2018 ist er Vorsitzender des Coastal Management Committee of Jakarta Governor’s Delivery Unit. Darüber hinaus nahm Kusumawijaya bereits an vielen Konferenzen über Kunst und nachhaltige Stadtplanung in Indonesien und anderen Ländern teil.

Simon Soon

Simon Soon © Simon Soon Soon ist leitender Dozent für Kunstgeschichte im Bereich Kultur der University of Malaya. Sein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf vergleichenden Studien zur Moderne in der Kunst, Städtebaugeschichte sowie Historiografie. Er hat bereits diverse Texte zu verschiedenen Themen im Bereich Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts in ganz Asien veröffentlicht und ist zeitweilig auch als Kurator von Ausstellungen tätig. Er leitet in Penang das Projekt Site and Space in Southeast Asia, ein Projekt, das von Connecting Art Histories, einer Initiative der Getty-Stiftung, initiiert wurde. Soon ist außerdem Redaktionsmitglied des Magazins Southeast Of Now: Directions in Contemporary and Modern Art in Asia und Teammitglied des Malaysia Design Archive.


Moderatoren

Bambang Harymurti

Harimurti © Bambang Harymurti Harymurti arbeitet bereits seit den frühen 1980er Jahren als Journalist im Bereich regionale und internationale Nachrichten, etwa für das TIME Magazine, die Tageszeitung Media Indonesia Daily oder die Zeitschrift Tempo Weekly News. Harymurti war Chefredakteur sowie leitender Chefredakteur von Tempo International Media und erhielt viele Stipendien. So nahm er etwa am Fulbright-Programm teil und absolvierte das New Generation Stipendium im East West Center. Er ist mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet worden: Vom Indonesian Observer Daily wurde er 1997 für herausragenden Journalismus geehrt; 2006 erhielt er den PWI Jawa Timur Pena Award.

Kwartarini Wahyu Yuniarti

Kwartarini © Kwartarini Wahyu Yuniarti Yuniarti arbeitet seit 1990 an der psychologischen Fakultät der Universitas Gadjah Mada. Ihr Weg reicht von der Assistenzprofessorin bis zur leitenden Dekanin im Bereich Forschung, Kooperation und Betreuung ehemaliger Studierender. Sie ist Mitarbeiterin des International Network of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, des Network of Humanitarian Action, der Indonesian Psychological Association und der Asian Association of Social Psychology. 2004 absolvierte Yuniarti ein Promotionsstudium an der Universität Hamburg im Fach Psychologie. Seither forscht, präsentiert und publiziert sie intensiv sowohl in Indonesien als auch in anderen Ländern. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Bereiche Gesundheitspsychologie sowie indigene und kulturvergleichende Psychologie.

Melani Budianta

Budianta © Jakarta Post Die bekannte Literaturkritikerin, die sich besonders im Bereich Gender Studies und Kulturwissenschaften sowie postkoloniale Studien einen Namen gemacht hat, verfasste zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen, die auszugsweise auch in internationalen Büchern erschienen sind. Sie ist unter anderem Redakteurin des internationalen Magazins Inter-Asia Cultural Studies, Routledge; gehört zum Redaktionsteam im Bereich Anthologien bei dem Projekt PALA (Project Of American Literature In Asia) und ist darüber hinaus Stipendiatin der Organisation Asian Regional Exchange for new Alternative (ARENA). Budianta ist derzeit zudem als Dozentin an der geisteswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universitas Indonesia tätig.

Philippe Pirotte

Pirotte © Jakarta Biennale 2017 Pirotte ist Kunsthistoriker und Kurator. Er ist Dekan an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste - Städelschule und Direktor der Ausstellungshalle Portikus in Frankfurt am Main. Pirotte ist zeitweise auch als führender Kurator am UC Berkeley Art Museum und im Pacific Film Archive tätig und Gastprofessor an der Nanyang Technological University in Singapur. 1999 hat er das Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst objectif exhibitions in Antwerpen mitbegründet. Von 2005 bis 2011 war er Direktor der Kunsthalle Bern in der Schweiz; von 2004 bis 2013 war er leitender Berater der Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten in Amsterdam. 2016 hat er die Veranstaltung La Biennale De Montréal kuratiert, bei der Jakarta Biennale 2017 war er ebenfalls als Kurator tätig.