Exhibition
Fast Fashion – The Dark Side of Fashion

Fast Fashion - The Dark Side of Fashion
© Tim Mitchell

Incl. Slow Fashion Lab | Opening: Thursday, 09.03.2017, 7 PM

The exhibition Fast Fashion – The Dark Side of Fashion invites visitors to take a critical look behind the scenes of the textile industry, fashion and consumption. The exhibition endeavors a comprehensive and discerning examination of the clothing industry system and its socio-economic and ecological consequences. It sheds light on the global triangle of consumerism, economy and ecology from various perspectives: fashion and victims, poverty and affluence, global and local, wages and profits, clothing and chemicals, clothing and ecological balance.
 
The Slow Fashion Lab, attached to the exhibition Fast Fashion, focuses on a more positive approach to the topic of fashion and sustainability, inspiring visitors to take concrete action towards a more sustainable way of dealing with clothes and textiles. It presents examples of sustainable fashion, traditional and local practices from Indonesia that are attentive of the people and environment involved. Visitors to the Slow Fashion Lab are invited to feel, see and learn about sustainable alternatives to fast fashion and engage in DIY-culture.
 
A series of fringe events accompanying the exhibition make the topic of fast fashion, slow fashion and DIY-culture even more tangible. While the exhibition and permanent presentation in the lab offer insights that the visitor can individually engage with, read, look at and feel, the fringe events offer experiences of collective creation and learning.
 
Fast Fashion - The Dark Side of Fashion is an exhibition by the Museum of Arts and Crafts Hamburg curated by Dr. Claudia Banz.
 
IKAT/eCUT - Textiles between Art, Design, Tradition and Technology is a Goethe-Institut project exploring the past, present and future of textiles in Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand (and Germany). In different sub-projects it is looking at the cultural potency of textiles in many different fields – from the arts to design, from tradition to technology.

 

Details

Language: Bahasa Indonesia, English, German
Price: Free Admission
+62 21 23550208-116
maya.maya@jakarta.goethe.org

Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem, Hall A.2
Jl. Pancoran Timur II No.4
Cikoko, Pancoran, Jakarta Selatan

Ausstellung
Fast Fashion – Die Schattenseiten der Mode

Fast Fashion - The Dark Side of Fashion
© Tim Mitchell

Inkl. Slow Fashion Lab | Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 09.03.2017, 19:00 Uhr

Die Ausstellung Fast Fashion – Die Schattenseiten der Mode lädt Besucher zu einem kritischen Blick hinter die Kulissen der Textilindustrie, Mode und Konsum ein. Sie befasst sich mit einer umfassenden und anspruchsvollen Prüfung der Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie und ihren sozio-ökonomischen und ökologischen Folgen. Die Ausstellung verdeutlicht das globale Dreieck des Konsums, der Wirtschaft und der Ökologie aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven: Mode und Opfer, Armut und Wohlstand, global und lokal, Löhne und Gewinne, Kleidung und Chemikalien, sowie Kleidung und ökologisches Gleichgewicht. 
 
Das Slow Fashion Lab, das an die Ausstellung Fast Fashion angeschlossen ist, konzentriert sich auf eine positivere Betrachtung des Themas Mode und Nachhaltigkeit und inspiriert Besucher, konkrete Maßnahmen für eine nachhaltigere Behandlung von Kleidung und Textilien zu ergreifen. Es präsentiert Beispiele für nachhaltige Mode, traditionelle und lokale Praktiken aus Indonesien, die Rücksicht auf Menschen und Umwelt nehmen. Besucher des Slow Fashion Labs sind eingeladen, nachhaltige Alternativen zur schnellen Mode zu spüren, zu sehen und zu erlernen, und sich verstärkt in der DIY-Kultur zu engagieren.

Eine Reihe von Rahmenveranstaltungen, die die Ausstellung begleiten, machen die Themen Fast Fashion, Slow Fashion und DIY-Kultur noch greifbarer. Während die Ausstellung und Präsentation im Lab Einblicke liefern, die der Besucher individuell erforschen, lesen, betrachten und fühlen kann, bieten die Rahmenveranstaltungen Erlebnisse der kollektiven Kreation und des Lernens.

Fast Fashion - Die Schattenseiten der Mode ist eine Ausstellung des Museums für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, kuratiert von Dr. Claudia Banz.

IKAT/eCUT - Textilien zwischen Kunst, Design, Tradition und Technologie ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, das die Vergangenheit, die Gegenwart und die Zukunft von Textilien in Südostasien, Australien und Neuseeland (und Deutschland) untersucht. Durch unterschiedliche Veranstaltungen hebt es die kulturelle Wirksamkeit von Textilien in verschiedenen Bereichen hervor – von Kunst zu Design, von Tradition zu Technologie. 

 

Details

Sprache: Indonesisch, Englisch, Deutsch
Preis: Freier Eintritt
+62 21 23550208-116
maya.maya@jakarta.goethe.org

Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem, Hall A.2
Jl. Pancoran Timur II No.4
Cikoko, Pancoran, Jakarta Selatan