Live Demo
Handmade Fabric Day

Handmade Fabric Day
© Trang Nguyen

Weaving, dyeing, printing - sustainable methods for textile finishing

In conjunction with the Slow Fashion Lab exhibition, Handmade Fabric Day aims to offer the public a different kind of experience regarding several slow fashion practices in Indonesia today. By inviting four artists/designers from Jakarta and Bandung, the public has the opportunity not only to learn about slow fashion in general, but more importantly to see how interesting it has become in the hands of these artists/designers.
 
By using the format of live demonstrations for each technique and including the materials that are used, participants can ask questions and engage in the whole process throughout the event. Some of the final results and products using these techniques might be available for sale, and the participants are welcome to set up workshop appointments directly with the artists/designers if they want to find out more.
 
Sarita Ibnoe - tapesTRY

Sarita is the artist and weaver behind the brand Petang Hari. For Handmade Fabric Day, she specially creates a live demo called ‘Experiencing freestyle weaving with Petang Hari’. Each of the participants can sit down and weave for 5 minutes each using Sarita’s floor loom, creating one big collaborative piece together!
 
Nidiya Kusmaya – Hapa Zome Workshop

Nidiya is the textile artist behind Old Tjikko, one of the participants of our Slow Fashion Lab at Gudang Sarinah Ecosystem. Nidiya will share insight about Hapa Zome, a natural dye fabric method technique that takes out the natural pigments of the dying source by hitting them on the surface of the fabric.
 
Ratu Saraswati – Hand Stamping on Sateen

Ratu Sarawasti is known as a performance artist with a passion for print making. She teaches several classes for adults and children. For Handmade Fabric Day, Saras will show us how to make our own motif using linocut stamps to begin with and then design the pattern by pressing those linoleum stamps to a sateen fabric.
 
Ella Trimurti - Eco printing

Eco printing is an extension from eco fashion in making environmentally friendly fashion products. This printing then being applied on natural fiber material such as baby canvas or cotton that will absorb the colours beautifully in terms of shapes and colour mix. Ella is the designer behind Medasa, and her works have been showcased at Jakarta Fashion Week 2017. She will walk us through the whole process during our Handmade Fabric Day.
 
This event is free for the public but excludes the ticket to go inside the museum building. The event itself will be conducted in one of the buildings inside the museum complex.
 

To the project IKAT/eCUT
Fringe Events
 

Details

Language: Bahasa Indonesia
Price: Free Admission | Exclude the Museum Entrance
+62-21-23550208 - 209
Fabian.Fischer@goethe.de

Textil Museum
Jl. Aipda Ks Tubun No.2-4
Tanah Abang, Petamburan

Live Demonstration
Handmade Fabric Day

Handmade Fabric Day
© Trang Nguyen

Weben, Färben, Drucken - nachhaltige Methoden zur Stoffveredelung

In Verbindung mit der Ausstellung “Slow Fashion Lab” präsentiert die Veranstaltung “Handmade Fabric Day” dem Publikum eine Erfahrung der anderen Art bezüglich mehrerer “Slow Fashion” Methoden im heutigen Indonesien. Vier Künstler/Designer aus Jakarta und Bandung werden anwesend sein, um den Teilnehmern nicht nur mehr über “Slow Fashion” im Allgemeinen beizubringen, sondern vor allem zu zeigen, wie interessant und innovativ “Slow Fashion” in ihren Händen geworden ist.
 
Zusäzlich zu Live-Präsentationen für jede einzelne Methode – inklusive der Materialien, die dazu benötigt werden – können die Teilnehmer Fragen stellen und sich aktiv am Prozess beteiligen. Einige der finalen Produkte werden zum Verkauf angeboten, und die Teilnehmer sind herzlich dazu eingeladen, direkte Termine mit den Künstlern/Designern zu vereinbaren, wenn sie mehr erfahren wollen.
 
Sarita Ibnoe - tapesTRY

Sarita ist Künstlerin und Weberin und der führende Kopf der Marke Petang Hari. Für die Veranstaltung “Handmade Fabric Day” hat sie eine besondere Live-Präsentation geplant: Freestyle Weben mit Petang Hari. Jeder Besucher kann sich für fünf Minuten an Saritas Webstuhl setzen und weben, so dass am Ende ein gemeinsames Stück entsteht.
 
Nidiya Kusmaya – Hapa Zome Workshop

Nidiya ist Textilkünstlerin und verantwortlich für Old Tjikko, einer der Teilnehmer des “Slow Fashion Labs” im Gudang Sarinah Ecosystem. Nidiya wird uns Einblicke in Hapa Zome geben, eine besondere Methode für natürliche Farbstoffe, mit der man der Quelle die natürlichen Pigmente entnimmt, indem man sie auf die Oberfläche des Stoffes schlägt.
 
Ratu Saraswati – Stanzen auf Satin

Ratu Sarawasti ist bekannt als Performance-Künstlerin mit einer Leidenschaft für verschiedene Drucktechniken. Sie unterrichtet sowohl Kinder als auch Erwachsene. Für die Veranstaltung “Handmade Fabric Day” zeigt uns Saras, wie wir unsere eigenen Motive mit Linolschnitten herstellen und dann ein Muster entwerfen können, indem wir diese Linolschnitte auf Satin-Stoffe stanzen.
 
Ella Trimurti - Eco printing

Eco printing ist eine erweiterte Form von Ökomode und befasst sich mit der Herstellung von umweltfreundlicher Mode. Dieser Druck wird dann auf Naturfasermaterial wie Baumwolle oder Leinen angebracht, das die Farben in all ihren Formen aufsaugt. Ella ist Designerin der Marke Medasa, die bereits während der Jakarta Fashion Week 2017 präsentiert wurde. Für die Veranstaltung “Handmade Fabric Day” wird sie uns den gesamten Herstellungsprozess erklären.
 
Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich zugänglich, aber beinhaltet nicht die Eintrittskarte für das Museum. Die Veranstaltung selber wird in einem der Gebäude innerhalb der Museumsanlage stattfinden.
 

Zum Projekt IKAT/eCUT
Rahmenprogramm

 

Details

Sprache: Indonesisch
Preis: Freier Eintritt | ausgenommen Museum
+62-21-23550208 - 209
Fabian.Fischer@goethe.de

Textil Museum
Jl. Aipda Ks Tubun No.2-4
Tanah Abang, Petamburan