Concert
Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines

Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines
© Orange Ear

Experimental sewing machine music by Steffi Müller (Munich) and Lisa Simpson (Berlin)

Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines is based on a buzzing collaboration between Munich-based Steffi Müller, Berlin-based Lisa Simpson and an ever-changing combination of underground artists and musicians from all over the world. Lisa and Steffi share a fierce love for sound experiments and improvisation: During their live sessions the sewing machine turns into a sound-making tool – like an electrical guitar, a synthesizer or drums – with endless possibilities to create a range of special and delicate sounds.

Using the sewing machine during their performance also stands for Lisa’s and Steffi’s interest in crossing lines between different artistic disciplines. They use the sewing machines not only as instruments, but also create clothing during the performance, inviting the audience into the garment production process. Both are interested in using textile strategies and material to raise questions around sustainability and feminism while making music. Each garment that is produced during one of their live sessions can be read like an improvised musical score, impossible to repeat.

Lisa Simpson has been playing the Singer, her amplified musical sewing machine, since 2003. Originally from Brazil, she has a master of Applied Arts from Emily Carr University of Art and Design in Vancouver and currently lives and works – as a solo act under the name of Agente Costura – in Berlin.
Steffi Müller is a visual artist and sociological researcher based in Munich. Together with Oxford-based song-writer Laura Theis Steffi initiated the experimental music project Beißpony. In 2013 their debut album Brush Your Teeth was released on Chicks On Speed Records.
 

Details

Language: Bahasa Indonesia
Price: Free Admission
+62 21 23550208-209
Fabian.fischer@goethe.de

Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem, Hall A.2
Jl. Pancoran Timur II No.4
Cikoko, Pancoran, Jakarta Selatan

Konzert
Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines

Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines
© Orange Ear

Experimentelle Nähmaschinen-Musik mit Steffi Müller (München) und Lisa Simpson (Berlin)

Duet of Amplified Sewing Machines ist eine Kollaboration zwischen Steffi Müller (München), Lisa Simpson (Berlin) und einer sich ständig wandelnden Kombination von Künstlerinnen und Musikern aus aller Welt. Lisa und Steffi verbindet ihre Leidenschaft für Sound-Experimente und Improvisation: In ihren Live Sessions wird die Nähmaschine zum Klangwerkzeug – wie eine E-Gitarre oder ein Synthesizer – mit endlosen Möglichkeiten ungewöhnliche und zarte Töne zu produzieren.
 
Mit Nähmaschinen zu performen steht auch für Lisas und Steffis Interesse die Grenzen zwischen künstlerischen Sparten aufzulösen. Sie nutzen die Nähmaschinen nicht nur als Instrumente, sondern kreieren während der Performance auch Kleidung und laden das Publikum ein am Produktionsprozess teilzuhaben. Beide interessieren sich für textile Strategien und Materialien um im musikalischen Prozess Fragen rund um Nachhaltigkeit und Feminismus zu thematisieren. Jedes Kleidungsstück, das sie während einer ihrer Live Sessions produzieren, kann wie eine improvisierte Partitur gelesen werden, unmöglich zu wiederholen.

Lisa Simpson spielt die Singer, ihre verstärkte musikalische Nähmaschine, seit 2003. Sie stammt ursprünglich aus Brasilien und hat einen Master in Angewandter Kunst der Emily Carr University of Art and Design in Vancouver. Sie lebt und arbeitet – als Solokünstlerin unter dem Namen Agente Costura – in Berlin.
Steffi Müller lebt und arbeitet als bildende Künstlerin und Soziologin in München. Zusammen mit singer-songwriter Laura Theis (Oxford) hat Steffi das experimentelle Musikprojekt Beißpony ins Leben gerufen. 2013 erschien ihr Debütalbum Brush Your Teeth bei Chicks On Speed Records.
 

Details

Sprache: Indonesisch
Preis: Freier Eintritt
+62 21 23550208-209
Fabian.fischer@goethe.de

Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem, Hall A.2
Jl. Pancoran Timur II No.4
Cikoko, Pancoran, Jakarta Selatan