Panel Discussion Form follows concept

Form follows concept © Anschlaege.de

16.12.2021
2 - 4 PM (GMT+7)

Online GoetheHaus

Trace the footsteps of Indonesian conceptual art with Asep Topan, Duto Hardono, Hendro Wiyanto, and Mella Jaarsma.

The term “conceptual art” is closely connected to Joseph Beuys. Conceptual art began to develop as a movement in Europe and the USA in the 1960s. Its representatives attach greater importance to the idea or concept of a work of art than to the artistic skill or form of a work of art. The artist Marcel Duchamp is considered one of its pioneers, and like him, conceptual artists generally do not use the criteria of beauty, uniqueness, or skill when judging the quality of an artwork. In this respect, conceptual art expanded the boundaries and definitions of the prevailing concept of art at the time. To underscore this, quite a few of these artists reduced the material presence of their works to a minimum; this is widely known as the “dematerialization” of art.

Inspired by this spirit, this event aims to trace the footsteps of Indonesian conceptual art, or conceptualism, from diverse perspectives. Even if the question of when these terms were first used in Indonesia cannot be answered precisely, certain manifestations of conceptualism appeared in the “Indonesian New Art Movement” (Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru Indonesia, GSRBI) in the 1970s. Painting was dominant at the time, and representatives of the GSRBI attached greater importance to the concept or idea of a work of art than to the “skill” of conventional art.

Physically attend the event Participate via livestream

Institutionally, the establishment of Rumah Seni Cemeti in 1988 (today Cemeti - Institute for Art and Society) was an important event that marked the continuation of the tradition of conceptualism in art in Indonesia. Since its inception, Cemeti has presented artists who foreground the concept of their work. Further, the presentation of various unconventional media—installation, media art, and performance—have been of great importance. This coincided closely with the development of contemporary art in the 1990s, which was primarily shaped by the social, economic and political turmoil in Indonesia.

In current developments, conceptualism appears in its more substantial “form”; this is because here the literal form of art disappears and the focus is on “situations” and “instructions” with the aim of creating a specific audience experience. This demonstrates an additional differentiation of the term “dematerialization” of art, the main approach in conceptual art.

Some of the questions that will be addressed in the course of the discussion:
  • Besides the work of the “New Indonesian Art Movement” (Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru Indonesia), what are other sources for researching the development of conceptualism?
  • What role do art institutions play in the spread of conceptualism in Indonesia and how do they influence the development of contemporary art today?
  • What importance do Indonesian artists attach to the term “dematerialization” in their works?

Asep Topan

is an independent curator and writer based in Jakarta, where he lectures at the Jakarta Institute of Arts. Educated as an artist, he curates contemporary art with a focus on sociopolitical subjects and transdisciplinary formats. He attended the de Appel Curatorial Programme, Amsterdam (2015-16), holds an MA in Curatorship from Bandung Institute of Technology (2017) and a BA in Fine Art from Jakarta Institute of Arts (2011). In 2015 he curated the Jakarta Biennale with six Indonesian colleagues led by Charles Esche, and in 2016 he curated the project “Young Must Make Your Death Public” at de Appel arts center in Amsterdam with a team of three. Most recently he worked as curator and Head of the Curatorial and Collection department at Museum MACAN, Jakarta (2018-21).

Duto Hardono

is an artist, experimental musician and university lecturer based in Bandung, Indonesia. He has exhibited his works and performed internationally in notable spaces including Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (Belgium), Hara Museum of Contemporary Art (Japan), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Germany), and National Gallery of Australia (Australia). He has taken part in many recognized exhibitions and events including Shanghai Biennale (2012), Biennale Jogja (2013), Saitama Triennale (2016), Europalia Festival (2017), Contemporary Worlds: Indonesia (2019), Asia TOPA (2020), presented sound installations, collages, site-specific works and his more recent immaterial works based on text and instruction scores. He teaches Sound Art and Performance in Fakultas Seni Rupa dan Desain, Institut Teknologi Bandung and runs a publication platform and music label called Hasana Editions.

Hendro Wiyanto

studied art at the Indonesian Art Institute (Yogyakarta) and philosophy at the Driyarkara School of Philosophy (Jakarta). He has curated several exhibitions in Indonesia and written about numerous artists: Alit Sembodo, Dolorosa Sinaga, F.X. Harsono, Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru, Heri Dono, Jim Allen Abel, Jogja Agropop, Mahendra Yasa, Melati Suryodarmo, Theresia Agustina, Tisna Sanjaya, S. Teddy D., and Ugo Untoro.

Mella Jaarsma

studied visual art at Minerva Academy in Groningen (1978-1984), after which she left the Netherlands to study at the Art Institute of Jakarta (1984) and the Indonesian Institute of the Arts in Yogyakarta (1985-1986). In 1988 she co-founded Cemeti Art House, now called Cemeti Institute for Art & Society with Nindityo Adipurnomo. It was one of the first spaces in Indonesia dedicated to contemporary art. To this day it remains an important platform for young artists and art workers in the country and region. She is also an active contemporary artist and has become known for her complex costume installations and her focus on forms of cultural and racial diversity embedded within clothing, the body and food.
 

Back

Panel Diskussion Form folgt Konzept

Form folgt Konzept © Anschlaege.de

16.12.2021
14:00 - 16:00 Uhr (GMT+7)

Online GoetheHaus

Auf den Spuren der indonesischen Konzeptkunst bzw. des Konzeptualismus aus der Sicht von Asep Topan, Duto Hardono, Hendro Wiyanto und Mella Jaarsma.

Der Begriff der Konzeptkunst ist eng mit Joseph Beuys verbunden. Als Bewegung begann sich die Konzeptkunst in Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten in den 1960er Jahren zu entwickeln. Ihre Vertreter messen der Idee oder dem Konzept eines Kunstwerks eine größere Bedeutung bei als dem künstlerischen Können oder der Form eines Kunstwerks. Der Künstler Marcel Duchamp gilt als einer der Pioniere. Und so wie er bedienen sich Konzeptkünstler*innen im allgemeinen bei der Beurteilung der Qualität eines Kunstwerks nicht den Kriterien von Schönheit, Einzigartigkeit oder Können. Insofern erweiterte die Konzeptkunst die Grenzen und Definitionen des damals vorherrschenden Kunstbegriffs. Um dies noch zu unterstreichen, reduzierten nicht wenige dieser Künstler*innen die materielle Präsenz ihrer Werke auf ein Minimum - eine Richtung, die weithin als „Dematerialisierung“ der Kunst bekannt wurde.

Von diesem Geist inspiriert zielt diese Veranstaltung darauf ab, den Spuren der Konzeptkunst oder des Konzeptualismus in Indonesien von mehreren Perspektiven aus nachzugehen. Auch wenn die Frage, zu welchem Zeitpunkt diese Begriffe in Indonesien aufkamen, nicht genau beantwortet werden kann, existiert die Lesart, dass Erscheinungsformen des Konzeptualismus mit der „Bewegung für Neue Kunst in Indonesien“ (Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru Indonesia, GSRBI) in den 1970er Jahren auftraten. In jener Zeit war die Malerei dominant und Vertreter der GSRBI betonten ihre Haltung, dem Konzept oder der Idee eines Kunstwerks eine größere Bedeutung beizumessen als dem „Können“ bei der konventionellen Art des Kunstschaffens.

Physisch am Event teilnehmen Per Livestream teilnehmen

Im institutionellen Bereich stellte die Gründung des Rumah Seni Cemeti im Jahr 1988 (heute Cemeti - Institute for Art and Society, dt. Institut für Kunst und Gesellschaft) ein wichtiges Ereignis dar, das die Fortführung der Tradition des Konzeptualismus in der Kunst in Indonesien markierte. Seit seiner Gründung präsentierte Cemeti Künstler*innen, die das Konzept ihres Schaffens in den Vordergrund stellten. Des Weiteren kamen der Präsentation verschiedener unkonventioneller Medien wie Installation, Medienkunst bis hin zu Performance eine große Bedeutung zu. Dies fiel eng mit der Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Kunst in den 1990er Jahren zusammen, die vor allem auch von den sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Turbulenzen in Indonesien geprägt war.

In aktuellen Entwicklungen tritt der Konzeptualismus in seiner substantielleren „Form“ in Erscheinung, denn hier verschwindet die wörtlich zu nehmende Form der Kunst und es wird der Fokus auf „Situationen“ und „Anweisungen“ gelegt mit dem Ziel, für das Publikum ein spezifisches Erlebnis zu schaffen. Dies demonstriert eine weiterführende Differenzierung des Begriffs der ,Dematerialisierung' der Kunst, dem Hauptansatz in der Konzeptkunst.

Einige der Fragen, die im Rahmen der Diskussion beantwortet bzw. behandelt werden:
  • Gibt es neben der Arbeit der „Bewegung für Neue Kunst in Indonesien“ (Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru Indonesia) weitere Quellen für Recherchen zur Entstehung des Konzeptualismus?
  • Welche Rolle spielen Kunstinstitutionen bei der Verbreitung des Konzeptualismus in Indonesien und wie beeinflussen sie heute die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Kunst?
  • Welche Bedeutung messen indonesische Künstler*innen dem Begriff der „Dematerialisierung” in ihren Werken bei?

Asep Topan

lebt in Jakarta und arbeitet als unabhängiger Kurator und Dozent am Kunstinstitut Jakarta. Der studierte Künstler kuratiert zeitgenössische Kunst mit Schwerpunkt auf gesellschaftspolitischen Themen und transdisziplinären Formaten. Er erhielt einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Kunst am Kunstinstitut Jakarta (2011), schloss sein Kunststudium mit Schwerpunkt Kuratieren am Institut Teknologi Bandung, ITB, (2017) mit einem Master ab und besuchte das de Appel Curatorial Programme, Amsterdam (2015 - 2016). 2015 kuratierte er mit sechs weiteren indonesischen Kolleg*innen unter der Leitung von Charles Esche die Jakarta Biennale und 2016 kuratierte er im Dreierteam das Projekt „Young Must Make Your Death Public“ im Kunstzentrum de Appel in Amsterdam. Zuletzt arbeitete er als Kurator und als Leiter der Abteilung Kuration und Sammlung am Museum MACAN, Jakarta (2018 - 2021).

Duto Hardono

ist Künstler, experimenteller Musiker und Universitätsdozent in Bandung, Indonesien. Er war mit seinen Performances und Werken international an renommierten Orten wie dem Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (Belgien), dem Hara Museum of Contemporary Art (Japan), dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Deutschland) und der National Gallery of Australia (Australien) vertreten. Er war Teil einer Reihe von vielbeachteten Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, darunter der Shanghai Biennale (2012), Biennale Jogja (2013), Saitama Triennale (2016), Europalia Festival (2017), Contemporary Worlds: Indonesia (2019) oder Asia TOPA (2020). Er präsentierte Klanginstallationen, Collagen, ortsspezifische Werke und seine neueren immateriellen Werke auf der Grundlage von Text- und Anweisungspartituren. Er unterrichtet Klangkunst und Performance an der Fakultät für Bildende Kunst und Design am Institut Teknologi Bandung und betreibt eine Publikationsplattform sowie das Musiklabel Hasana Editions.

Hendro Wiyanto

studierte Kunst am Kunstinstitut Indonesien (Yogyakarta) und Philosophie an der Philosophischen Hochschule Driyarkara (Jakarta). Er hat mehrere Ausstellungen in Indonesien kuratiert und zahlreiche Texte über Künstler*innen verfasst, darunter Alit Sembodo, Dolorosa Sinaga, F.X. Harsono, Gerakan Seni Rupa Baru, Heri Dono, Jim Allen Abel, Jogja Agropop, Mahendra Yasa, Melati Suryodarmo, Theresia Agustina, Tisna Sanjaya, S. Teddy D. und Ugo Untoro.

Mella Jaarsma

studierte visuelle Kunst an der Minerva Academy in Groningen (1978 - 1984). Nach ihrem Studium verließ sie die Niederlande, um am Kunstinstitut Jakarta (1984) und am Kunstinstitut Indonesien in Yogyakarta (1985 - 1986) zu studieren. 1988 gründete sie zusammen mit Nindityo Adipurnomo das Cemeti Art House, das heute unter dem Namen Cemeti Institute for Art & Society bekannt ist und das sich als einer der ersten Orte in Indonesien der zeitgenössischen Kunst verschrieben hatte. Bis heute stellt es eine wichtige Plattform für junge Künstler*innen und Kunstschaffende regional und überregional dar. Mella Jaarsma ist als zeitgenössische Künstlerin aktiv und wurde insbesondere für ihre komplexen Kostüminstallationen bekannt. Ihr künstlerischer Schwerpunkt liegt auf Formen kultureller und ethnischer Vielfalt, die sich in Kleidung, Körper und Nahrung niederschlagen.
 

Zurück