Film screening, discussion 5 Islands / 5 Villages

5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer, Der Grenzgang (Andrianus Oetjoe) © Andrianus Oetjoe

24.08.2017, 7 PM

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

5 Villages - Presentation as part of ARKIPEL International Documentary and Experimental Film Festival 2017

All films presented on this occasion are still work in progress. The official premiere date will be announced later.
Directors will be in attendance.


As the second and last part of the project 5 Islands/5 Villages, the Goethe-Institut in Indonesia and the HFBK Hamburg (Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg/University of Fine Arts Hamburg) proudly present five short documentaries, which have been shot by five Indonesian filmmakers in Germany.

Over a period of three weeks, Andrianus Oetjoe Merdhi (Sumte/Niedersachsen), Wahyu Utami Wati (Pellworm/Schleswig-Holstein), Bani Nasution (Leidingen/Saarland), Tunggul Banjaransari (Welzow/Brandenburg) and Rahung Nasution (Wildpoldsried/Bayern) lived in a distinctly German environment in five different states in Germany. They conducted their research and produced their short documentary film without any additional crew members. Each director had only one partner; a film student appointed by the HFBK Hamburg. The topic, the story, the angle, the design, and the production of the short documentary were decided on the spot by each filmmaker.
 
Like for the first part of the project - 5 Islands – where five film students of the HFBK Hamburg visited and made films about five Indonesian islands in 2016, the Indonesian directors were mentored by Oscar-winning German filmmaker Pepe Danquart and Bernd Schoch from the HFBK Hamburg. With their experience both as filmmakers and lecturers, Danquart and Schoch have been an integral part of the project, for which they share their vast knowledge with the filmmakers.

The Goethe-Institut wishes to express its gratitude to the HFBK Hamburg, the Faculty of Humanities of University of Indonesia and In-Docs for their generous support during the preparation, implementation and completion of this project.

 

5 Islands/5 Villages

The project 5 Islands/5 Villages was initiated by the Goethe-Institut in Indonesia and the HFBK Hamburg (Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg/University of Fine Arts Hamburg). The project aims to explore different perspectives of periphery and distance, time and temporality through the medium of documentary filmmaking. It is also an attempt to alter the usual perspective, which is mainly focusing on urban metropolis, and instead explore the diversity of Indonesia and Germany. Together with its partners, the Goethe-Institut would like to present the films at different festivals in Indonesia, Germany and beyond. As a final result of this project, a DVD Box will be produced and distributed non-commercially by the Goethe-Institut.

 
 

Back

Filmvorführung, Diskussion 5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer

5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer, Der Grenzgang (Andrianus Oetjoe) © Andrianus Oetjoe

24.08.2017, 19:00 Uhr

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Teil 5 Dörfer - Präsentation im Rahmen von ARKIPEL International Documentary and Experimental Film Festival 2017

Alle Filme sind noch in Arbeit. Offizielle Premiere wird später bekannt gegeben.
In Anwesenheit der Regisseure.


Das Goethe-Institut Indonesien und die HFBK Hamburg (Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg) sind stolz, den zweiten und letzten Teil des Projektes 5 Inseln/5 Dörfer zu präsentieren, für den fünf kurze Dokumentarfilme von fünf indonesischen Filmemachern in Deutschland gedreht wurden.

Für drei Wochen waren Andrianus „Oetjoe“ Merdhi (Sumte/Niedersachen), Wahyu Utami Wati (Pellworm/Schleswig-Holstein), Bani Nasution (Leidingen/Saarland), Tunggul Banjaransari (Welzow/Brandenburg) und Rahung Nasution (Wildpoldsried/Bayern) in fünf verschiedenen Bundesländern zu Besuch und sind dort in den deutschen Alltag eingetaucht. Sie haben die Recherche und die Produktion ihrer Dokumentarfilme ohne zusätzliche Crewmitglieder gemacht. Jeder Filmemacher hatte nur einen Partner; einen Filmstudent an der HFBK Hamburg. Das Thema, die Geschichte, die Perspektive, das Design und die Produktion des Kurzfilms wurden direkt vor Ort von jedem Filmemacher selbst gewählt.

Wie für den ersten Teil des Projektes 5 Inseln, für den fünf Filmstudenten der HFBK Hamburg 2016 fünf indonesische Inseln besuchten und dort ihre Filme drehten, wurden die indonesischen Filmemacher von dem Oscar-prämierten deutschen Filmemacher Pepe Danquart und Bernd Schoch von der HFBK Hamburg betreut. Durch ihre Erfahrung als Filmemacher und Regisseure sind Danquart und Schoch untrennbar mit dem Projekt verbunden, für das sie ihr breites Wissen mit den Filmemachern teilen.

Das Goethe-Institut dankt der HFBK Hamburg, der Humanistischen Fakultät der Universität Indonesien und In-Docs  für ihre großzügige Unterstützung während der Vorbereitung, der Durchführung und der Fertigstellung des Projektes.

 

5 INSELN/5 Dörfer

Das Projekt 5 Inseln/5 Dörfer wurde von dem Goethe-Institut Indonesien und der HFBK Hamburg (Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg) initiiert. Das Ziel war es, durch das Medium des Dokumentarfilms die verschiedenen Perspektiven auf Peripherie und Distanz, Zeit und Zeitlichkeit zu untersuchen. Es war außerdem ein Versuch, den Blick weg von den städtischen Metropolen, die normalerweise im Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit sind, auf die Vielfalt von Indonesien und Deutschland zu lenken. Zusammen mit seinen Partnern möchte das Goethe-Institut Indonesien die entstandenen Filme im Rahmen verschiedener Festivals in Indonesien, Deutschland und darüber hinaus zeigen. Als Endprodukt des Projekts wird eine DVD-Box entstehen, die auf nicht-kommerziellem Weg von dem Goethe-Institut vertrieben wird.


 

Zurück