Residency Program Curator Residency Programme 2017

Pinar Yoldas »An Ecosystem of Excess« (2014), exhibition view »Exo-Evolution«, 2015 © ZKM Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie/ Jonas Zilius

02.11-01.12.2017

OK.Video
Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem

in cooperation with OK. Video

Through its annual scholarship, the Goethe-Institut gives German curators the opportunity to spend four weeks in a foreign country. The guiding idea of the residence is to develop a concept for the presentation of the host country’s art scene in Germany and a way to present the German art scene in the respective country. In addition, it offers the chance to further develop and realize specific projects and productions, as well as to deepen sustainable contacts with cultural institutions and creative professionals, which ultimately strengthens the intercultural dialogue between the parties involved. 
 
OK. Video – will act as the curator’s host residency in Jakarta. It focusses on the media technology development that affects people’s perspective and behavior towards their surrounding. OK. Video is a division of ruangrupa, a contemporary art organization based in Jakarta. Its projects aim at advancing art ideas in the urban context and the broad scope of culture through various formats, such as exhibitions, workshops etc.
 
Art in the urban context and the connection between art and technology has also been the main focus of several exhibitions that have been curated by Sabiha Keyif (*1985), who has received the scholarship in 2017. Sabiha graduated from the University of Fine Arts in Braunschweig, Germany in 2012. After her first working experiences in several art galleries and museums, she hold a two-year scientific trainee position at the ZKM (Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe) in Karlsruhe, Germany. In this context, Sabiha was involved in the exhibition “global aCtIVISm” (2013), which shows objects and different forms of documentation of global activism. She recently curated the exhibitions “Exo-Evolution” (2015) and “Hybrid Layers” (2017) for the ZKM. While the former displays the artistic application of new technologies and offers an insight into the future, the latter explores the multiple aspects of the so-called “digital condition” making the digital to the a priori that opens up the cultural and conceptual dimensions of the artworks.

Back

Residenzprogramm Kuratorenresidenz-Programm 2017

Pinar Yoldas »An Ecosystem of Excess« (2014), exhibition view »Exo-Evolution«, 2015 © ZKM Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie/ Jonas Zilius

02.11-01.12.2017

OK.Video
Gudang Sarinah Ekosistem

in Zusammenarbeit mit OK. Video

Das Goethe-Institut bietet mit seinem jährlichen Stipendium Kulturschaffenden aus Deutschland die Möglichkeit vier Wochen im Ausland zu verbringen. Die Idee hinter diesem Residenzprogramm ist es einerseits ein Konzept für die Präsentation der Kunstszene des Gastlandes in Deutschland zu erstellen und andererseits einen Weg zu entwickeln, die deutsche Kunstszene in dem jeweiligen Land zu präsentieren. Außerdem ermöglicht es spezifische Projekte und Produktionen weiterzuentwickeln und zu realisieren sowie nachhaltige Kontakte mit Kulturinstitutionen und Kulturschaffenden zu vertiefen. Dies stärkt schließlich den interkulturellen Dialog zwischen den involvierten Parteien.
 
OK. Video – fungiert als Gastresidenz für die Kuratorin/den Kurator in Jakarta. Das Festival konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung von Medientechnologie, die die Perspektive und das Verhalten der Menschen gegenüber ihrer Umgebung nachweislich beeinflusst. OK. Video ist Teil von Ruangrupa, einer Organisation für zeitgenössische Kunst in Jakarta. Ihre Projekte zielen darauf ab, künstlerische Ideen im urbanen Kontext und den kulturellen Bereich durch verschiedene Formate, wie Ausstellungen, Workshops etc. voranzutreiben.
 
Kunst im urbanen Raum und die Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Technologie stehen auch im Mittelpunkt der verschiedenen von Sabiha Keyif (*1985) kuratierten Ausstellungen, die das Stipendium 2017 erhalten hat. 2012 schloss Sabiha ihr Studium an der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste in Braunschweig ab. Nach ihren ersten Arbeitserfahrungen in unterschiedlichen Kunstgalerien und Museen machte sie ein zweijähriges Volontariat am ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medien) in Karlsruhe. In diesem Zusammenhang war Sabiha in die Ausstellung „global aCtIVISm“ (2013) involviert, die Objekte und verschiedene Formen der Dokumentation von globalem Aktivismus präsentiert. Kürzlich kuratierte sie für das ZKM die Ausstellungen „Exo-Evolution“ (2015) und „Hybrid Layers“ (2017). Während erstere die künstlerische Anwendung neuer Technologien zeigt und einen Ausblick in die Zukunft gibt, erkundet letztere die verschiedenen Aspekte der sogenannten „global condition“; das Digitale wird zum Apriori, das die kulturelle und konzeptionelle Dimension der Kunstwerke eröffnet.

Zurück