Conference Digital Discourses: Hoaxes and Extremism in the Internet

Digital Discourses © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

25.10.2019 | 1 PM

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Experts from Germany, Indonesia, Singapore and Myanmar discuss the complicated relationship between freedom and restriction in the internet.

Conference Livestream Fake news, black campaigns, online radicalization, hate speech, content filters: nearly every society in the world has experienced the negative side effects of our hyper-connected, digital communication systems.
 
But do far-right groups in Europe use tactics similar to those of Islamist groups in Southeast Asia to lure followers? Do Singaporeans react to fake news the same way as do Indonesians? Which governments have found ways to minimize online threats while at the same safeguarding citizens’ rights? What is the thin line between pushing back hoaxes and pushing back freedom?
 
In our first edition of the conference series Digital Discourses, experts from Germany, Indonesia, Singapore and Myanmar discuss the complicated relationship between freedom and restriction in the internet.

Nasir Abas (Indonesia):
Social Media as Recruitment Channel for Terror Networks
 
Patrick Stegemann (Germany):
The Mechanisms of Alt-Right Digital Propaganda in Germany
 
Saijai Liangpunsakul (Myanmar):
Is Facebook Responsible for Mass Killings in Myanmar? – The Role of Platforms
 
Panel discussion:
Tactics to Counter Online Extremism
 
Donny B.U. (Indonesia)
Idea of a Multi-stakeholder Approach to Govern Online Freedom of Expression
 

Kirsten Han (Singapore)
Singapore, “Fake News”, and a Shrinking Space for Civil Society
 
Markus Reuter (Germany):
Why the Struggle Against Hate Speech and Fake News is a Threat to Civil Liberties
 
Panel discussion:
Is Content Restriction the “New Normal”?
Further information

Digital discourses

The age of digital transformation breaks apart what we have taken for granted, shifts the balance of power, and brings with it new social, ethical and political questions. The conference series Digital Discourses—initiated by Goethe-Institut Indonesien, the Center for Digital Society (CfDS) and ICT Watch—explores the effects of the transformation on society, politics, the economy and the environment.

Back

Konferenz Digital Discourses: Hoaxes und Extremismus im Netz

Digital Discourses © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

25.10.2019 | 13:00 Uhr

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Expert*innen aus Deutschland, Indonesien, Singapur und Myanmar diskutieren das komplizierte Verhältnis zwischen Freiheit und Einschränkung im Internet.

Livestream der Konferenz Fake News, Black Campaigns, Online-Radikalisierung, Hate Speech, Content-Filter: Es gibt wohl kaum eine Gesellschaft, die nicht mit den negativen Auswirkungen unserer stets vernetzten digitalen Kommunikationssysteme konfrontiert ist.
 
Benutzen ultra-rechte Gruppierungen in Europa dieselben Taktiken wie islamistische Bewegungen in Südostasien, um neue Mitglieder zu ködern? Reagieren Menschen in Singapur genauso auf Fake News wie in Indonesien? Gibt es Erfolgsrezepte, um Bedrohungen im Netz einzudämmen und trotzdem die Rechte der Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu wahren? Wo genau liegt der schmale Grat zwischen der Abwehr von Hoaxes und der Beschneidung von Meinungsfreiheit?
 
Expertinnen und Experten aus Deutschland, Indonesien, Singapur und Myanmar diskutieren in unserer ersten Ausgabe der Konferenzreihe Digital Discourses das komplizierte Verhältnis zwischen Freiheit und Einschränkung im Internet.

Nasir Abas (Indonesien):
Soziale Netzwerke als Rekrutierungsmedium für Terrornetzwerke
 
Patrick Stegemann (Deutschland):
Die Mechanismen ultra-rechter digitaler Propaganda in Deutschland
 
Sijai Liangpunsakul (Myanmar)
Ist Facebook für Massenmorde in Myanmar verantwortlich? – Die Rolle sozialer Plattformen
 
Podiumsdiskussion
Taktiken gegen Online-Extremismus
 
Donny B.U. (Indonesien)
Multilaterale Ansätze zur Regulierung von Meinungsfreiheit im Internet
 
Kirsten Han (Singapur)
Fake News und schrumpfende zivilgesellschaftliche Freiräume in Singapur
 

Markus Reuter (Deutschland)
Warum der Kampf gegen Hate Speech und Fake News gefährlich für die Bürgerrechte ist
 

Podiumsdiskussion
Einschränkungen und Filter als „neue Normalität“?
Weitere Informationen

Digital discourses

Das Zeitalter der digitalen Transformation bricht Selbstverständlichkeiten auf, verschiebt Machtverhältnisse und bringt neue soziale, ethische und politische Fragestellungen mit sich. Die vom Goethe-Institut Indonesien, dem Center for Digital Society (CfDS) und ICT Watch ins Leben gerufene Konferenzserie Digital Discourses lotet die Auswirkungen der Transformation auf Gesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Umwelt aus.

Zurück