Workshop and discussion Critical Playground

Critical Playground © Biennale Jogja

21-22.10.2019

Workshop: 9.30 AM - 6 PM

Public Symposium: 4.30 PM – 6 PM

Biennale Jogja XV 2019

Artist- or curator-run initiatives have been an integral part of art ecosystems worldwide. In Southeast Asia they play a vital role in providing spaces for artistic production and presentation, they allow for critical reflection, they nurture and connect communities, they engage in alternative forms of education and research, and they provide often formative experiences in terms of artistic and curatorial practice as well as in administration, communication and governance. Artist-run initiatives relate in a specific way to state institutions and infrastructures, often compensating a possible lack of professionalism, openness and provision of space for experiments and encounters with the unknown in state structures.
 
The emergence of artists/curators run spaces/initiatives in the South East Asian art scene has often been discussed as impacted by the lack of art related infrastructure in the region, especially during the first decade of their establishments. After that period, it seems that the conversations shifted to a discourse that connected to artists’ responses to social political contexts, reacting to the strong control from states and regimes, or the global situation of the art scene itself related to power relationship. Both factors have encouraged different generations of artists to create a specific art ecosystem that is different from the established western scenes.

Biennale Jogja - Public Program © Biennale Jogja In the last three decades, since the end of 1980s, artists and curators led initiatives in Southeast Asia have played an important role in developing art scenes and discourses, including their focus  on knowledge production and distribution.  During these years, external influences have changed, more institutions have been established, the political contexts in many of the countries also develop in various directions. How have those changes influenced the visions, paradigms and practice of those organizations? How has the landscape and  the map changed, how do we find new directions and can navigate new cartographies? These issues and phenomena have been addressed internationally by various exhibitions/publications, among them  Cities on the Move (1996), Gwangju Biennale (2002), or the New Museum Triennale book (2013); it seems interesting to connect these perspectives with the framework of the local.
 
Biennale Jogja in partnership with the Goethe-Institute Indonesien initiates a number of conversations between practitioners and members of artist-led initiatives from the region across generations, centering around different local contexts and exploring how those initiatives have been shaping the development of contemporary art practices and discourses in Southeast Asia. After a number of internal workshops, participants will present their views in a public roundtable discussions on 22 October.

 

Back

Workshop und Podiumsdiskussion Critical Playground

Critical Playground © Biennale Jogja

21-22.10.2019

Workshop: 09:30 - 18:00 Uhr

Öffentliches Symposium: 16:30 – 18:00 Uhr

Biennale Jogja XV 2019

Künstlerkollektive und von Kurator*innen geleitete Initiativen sind ein integraler Bestandteil globaler Kunstszenen. In Südostasien spielen sie ein wichtige Rolle in der Bereitstellung von Räumen für künstlerische Produktionen und Präsentationen, sie ermöglichen kritische Reflexionen, sie unterstützen und verbinden communities, setzen sich für alternative Formen von Forschung und Lehre ein und vermitteln häufig prägende Erfahrungen im Bereich künstlerischer und kuratorischer Praxis, aber auch in Verwaltung, PR, Organisations- und Leitungsfragen. Künstlerinitiativen stehen in einem spezifischen Spannungsverhältnis zu staatlichen Strukturen und nicht selten kompensieren sie auch Defizite dieser Strukturen in Bezug auf Professionalität, Offenheit und Experimentierfreudigkeit.

Die Entstehungsgeschichte solcher Künstlerkollektive in Südostasien ist häufig in Bezug auf ungenügende Infrastrukturen im künstlerischen Bereich beschrieben worden, insbesondere für die erste Gründungsphase. Später Erklärungsmuster konzentrieren sich auf die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit politischen Fragen, die Reaktion auf staatliche Kontrolle und generelle Fragen von Machtverhältnissen in den globalen Kunstszenen. Beide Faktoren haben unterschiedliche Generationen von Künstler*innen dazu gebracht, ein spezifisches künstlerisches Ökosystem aufzubauen, das sich markant von westlichen Szenen unterscheidet.

Biennale Jogja - Public Program © Biennale Jogja In den letzten drei Jahrzehnten, seit den späten 80er Jahren, haben diese von Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen geleiteten Initiativen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Entwicklung lokaler Kunstszenen geleistet, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Wissensgenerierung und -vermittlung. In dieser Zeit haben sich äußere Rahmenbedingungen verändert und politische Kontexte in unterschiedliche Richtungen entwickelt. Welchen Einfluss hatten die Veränderungen auf Visionen, Paradigmen und die Praxis dieser Kollektive? Auf welche Weise haben sich die institutionellen Landschaften verändert und wie lässt sich in neuen Kartographien navigieren? Ähnliche Fragestellungen sind im Laufe der Zeit in Ausstellungen oder Publikationen aufgriffen worden, u.a. bei Cities on the Move (1996), der Gwangju Biennale (2002) oder dem Buch New Museum Triennale (2013).

Die Biennale Jogja und das Goethe-Institut Indonesien präsentieren gemeinsam eine Reihe von Gesprächen zwischen Praktikern und Mitgliedern von Künstlerinitiativen aus der Region und aus unterschiedlichen Generationen, die die jeweiligen lokalen Kontexte aufnehmen und der Frage nachgehen, wie diese kollektive Diskurse und die Praxis einer südostasiatischen Kunstszene mitbestimmt haben. Nach einer Reihe von geschlossenen Workshops werden Positionen bei einer öffentlichen round-table Diskussion am 22. Oktober vertieft.

 

Zurück