Concert Music from Sisworo Gautama Putra‘s filmography

Alur Bunyi - Sisworo Gautama Putra © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

27.11.2019 | 8 PM

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Contemporary experimental music

In its fourth instalment, this year’s Alur Bunyi concert series features a new ensemble of pianists/composers Adra Karim and Aryo Adhianto, and vocalists Jesslyn Juniata, Kathleen Malay, and Puti Chitara. In honour of Indonesian film director Sisworo Gautama Putra, the musicians take the stage to perform a composition beautifully assembled from the director’s selected film scores.
 
Tensions between love and mysticism, dramatized folklore, and the representation of human’s enormity often characterize Sisworo’s films and were used to discuss social dilemma in the New Order period. The role of music and sound used to exploit themes considered subversive in 1980’s Indonesia deserves a place in contemporary audio-visual works.
 
Through this performance, the musicians seek to re-evaluate the wild imagination and daring creativity that colored this period of Indonesia’s film history. In responding to issues that remain relevant until today, excerpts from the film scripts are used as a point of departure in creating a sonic narrative from the musicians’ point of view.

Pianists/Composers:
Adra Karim and Aryo Adhianto
 
Vocalists:
Jesslyn Juniata
Kathleen Malay
Putri Chitara
To Project Alur Bunyi

In the series Alur Bunyi, the Goethe-Institut presents and discusses contemporary positions of experimental (not just) electronic music from Indonesia and Germany. This year's edition of Alur Bunyi is curated by Harsya Wahono.

Back

Konzert Musik aus der Filmographie von Sisworo Gautama Putra

Alur Bunyi - Sisworo Gautama Putra © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

27.11.2019 | 20:00 Uhr

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Zeitgenössische experimentelle Musik

Die vierte Ausgabe der diesjährigen Alur Bunyi Konzertreihe präsentiert ein neues Ensemble, bestehend aus den Pianisten und Komponisten Adra Karim und Aryo Adhianto, sowie den Sängerinnen Jesslyn Juniata, Kathleen Malay und Puti Chitara. Zu Ehren des indonesischen Filmregisseurs Sisworo Gautama Putra bringen die Musiker*innen eine Komposition ausgewählter Filmmusiken des Regisseurs auf die Bühne.
 
Spannungen zwischen Liebe und Mystik, dramatisierte Folklore und die Darstellung menschlicher Größe prägen Sisworos Filme und wurden eingesetzt, um soziale Dilemmata zu Zeiten der Orde Baru zu diskutieren. Die Rolle von Musik und Klang bei der Platzierung von Themen, die in den 1980er Jahren als subversiv galten, verdient einen Platz in zeitgenössischen audiovisuellen Werken.
 
Die Performance versucht eine Neubewertung der wilden Imagination und gewagten Kreativität, die diese Periode der indonesischen Filmgeschichte geprägt hat. Auszüge aus den Drehbüchern bilden den Ausgangspunkt für eine akustische Erzählung, geschaffen aus der Sicht der Musiker*innen, die an heute aktuelle Themen anknüpft.

Pianisten/Komponisten: 
Adra Karim und Aryo Adhianto
 
Sängerinnen:
Jesslyn Juniata
Kathleen Malay
Putri Chitara
Zum Projekt Alur Bunyi

In der Reihe Alur Bunyi präsentiert und diskutiert das Goethe-Institut zeitgenössische Positionen experimenteller, (nicht nur) elektronischer Musik aus Indonesien und Deutschland. Die diesjährige Ausgabe von Alur Bunyi wird von Harsya Wahono kuratiert.

Zurück