Reading group Unsubtitled*

Unsubtitled* © Cecil Mariani

01.07.2021
8 PM

Online

Public Program

Curator Grace Samboh and Nathalie Johnston of Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive (MARCA) host a reading group to discuss The Time is Out of Joint (2016) with Khairunnisa, Mary Pansanga and Ruth Noack. The session is moderated by Enin Supriyanto. 

As a curatorial conversation concerning four different collection-based exhibitions, reading lists and bibliography exchanges have been a big part of the Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories process. We’d read and understand these resources alone in our private (or secluded) space and time. Our upcoming public program Unsubtitled* intends to exercise the act of reading, digesting information, capturing the immediate afterthoughts and having conversations about these readings.
 
From the library of Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive (MARCA), curator Grace Samboh chose a two-volume publication that is part of an exhibition and public programs project of the same name—The Time is Out of Joint (Sharjah: Sharjah Art Foundation, 2016)—curated by Tarek Abou El Fetouh and Ala Younis. Featuring contributions from 37 arts and cultural practitioners from across Asia, the publication reflects the focus of the project that “adopts spatial and temporal strategies inspired by the idea of time as a fluid space and space as a frozen time”.
 
The event title is taken from Nguyễn Trinh Thî’s multi-channel video installation work that allows viewers to experience being around a number of people who eat while standing up. Eating is a simple everyday event, and, as Thi puts it, needs no explanation. Much like reading, even when it is done collectively or technically in the presence of others, we digest and process food alone. If we are to do it together, yet somehow apart at the same time, what can we learn from each other?

Live on these channels:

Facebook:
Galeri Nasional Indonesia
Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Goethe-Institut Singapore
Goethe-Institut Thailand
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum
Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive - MARCA
Singapore Art Museum

Youtube:
Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive (MARCA)


to the Project

Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories

Back

Lesekreis Unsubtitled* („Ohne Untertitel*”)

Unsubtitled* („Ohne Untertitel*”) © Cecil Mariani

01.07.2021
20:00 Uhr

Online

Die Kuratorinnen Grace Samboh und Nathalie Johnston vom Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive (MARCA) veranstalten eine Lesegruppe, um mit Khairunnisa, Mary Pansanga und Ruth Noack über The Time is Out of Joint (2016) zu diskutieren. Die Sitzung wird von Enin Supriyanto moderiert.

Als eine Art kuratorische Konversation über vier verschiedene Kollektionsausstellungen waren Leselisten und der Austausch innerhalb der Bibliotheken ein wichtiger Teil des Prozesses Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories, sprich, des Zusammentragens von Verflechtungen und verkörperter Geschichte. Normalerweise versteht man unter dem Begriff „Lesevorgang“ ein Lesen, Verstehen und Begreifen, das in einer privaten oder gar abgeschiedenen Zeit- und Raumsituation vor sich geht. Unser demnächst stattfindendes Programm Unsubtitled* möchte hingegen dazu anleiten, zu lesen, Informationen zu verarbeiten, unmittelbar auftretende Nachgedanken zu formulieren sowie Gespräche über das Lesen zu führen.
 
Zu diesem Zweck hat die Kuratorin Grace Samboh aus der Bibliothek des Myanmar Art Resource Center And Archive (MARCA) eine zweibändige Publikation ausgewählt, die im Rahmen der Ausstellung und des gleichnamigen öffentlichen Programmprojekts The Time Is Out Of Joint („Die Zeit ist aus den Fugen geraten”), die 2016 in der Sharjah Art Foundation in Sharijah stattfand und von Tarek Abou El Fetouh und Ala Younis kuratiert wurde. Sie umfasst Beiträge von 27 Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden aus ganz Asien und verdeutlicht das Ziel das Projekts, das „räumliche und zeitliche Strategien annimmt, die von der Vorstellung von Zeit als durchlässigem Raum bzw. Raum als gefrorener Zeit inspiriert sind.”
 
Der Name der Veranstaltung geht auf die Multikanal-Videoinstallation von Nguyễn Trinh Thî zurück, bei der die Zuschauenden sich inmitten zahlreicher anderer Menschen befinden, die im Stehen essen. Essen ist eine einfache, alltägliche Geste, die, so Thi, keinerlei Erklärungen bedarf. Auch wenn wir es gemeinsam oder mit technischer Hilfe in Gegenwart anderer tun, so verdaut und verarbeitet man ganz wie beim Lesen alleine. Wenn wir es jedoch zusammen und gleichzeitig voneinander entfernt tun, was können wir dann voneinander lernen?

"live auf diesen Kanälen":

Facebook:
Galeri Nasional Indonesia
Goethe-Institut Indonesien  
Goethe-Institut Singapore  
Goethe-Institut Thailand
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum
Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive - MARCA
Singapore Art Museum

YouTube:
Myanmar Art Resource Center and Archive (MARCA)


Zum Projekt

Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories

Zurück