Urban development Cycling in Dublin and Berlin

Cycling in Dublin
Cycling in Dublin | Photo: GI Irland

As a student and tourist I cycled around Ireland in 1988 without a care, knowing nothing about the country. In June 2013, 25 years later, I had an unusual and unbelievably enriching experience when I came back to Ireland to talk about Berlin's policies on cycle traffic at the National Bike Week in Dublin. Now that I am a traffic planner, specialising in cycle promotion, I see Dublin through quite different eyes.

Berlin and Dublin are completely different cities with their own histories. A lot is barely comparable — from the civic infrastructure to the particular economic circumstances. Nonetheless, as I explored the city on foot and by bike, I felt myself sometimes reminded of Berlin. The city seemed to be changing radically after the financial crisis, and this showed itself also in matters of traffic. In Berlin this reorganization has been going on for about 10 years. The city's traffic development plan of 2003 was intended to effect a sharp reduction in Berlin's motor traffic.

The first successes are to be seen clearly in the behaviour of the population. Only 30 per cent of journeys are now made by car, but already about 15 per cent by bicycle. That is 1.5 million journeys by bicycle every day. Cycling has become a part of an urban life-style, and dominates the street scene in many parts of the inner city. Of course, this development has something to do with general trends. But the integrated action plan encouraging cycle traffic has also contributed. Road-markings for cycle lanes; the reduction in the 'city speed limit' to 30 km/h for 75% of all roads, even arterial roads; the good co-ordination of cycle and citywide public transport, are a few examples. But there is still much to do in 'Cycle City Berlin' and the growth in cycle traffic has brought with it new problems. Not only regular bicycle traffic jams, but mainly in traffic safety and the mood on the roads where bad behaviour by cyclists has led to many conflicts and arguments. In 2012 we launched a campaign of communication about the problem.

It is perhaps not accidental that precisely during the time of my Dublin visit a leader by Fintan O'Toole in the 'Irish Times' addressed itself to that topic — bad behaviour by cyclists on the streets of Dublin. However, it neglected to say that the problem is not only that of the cyclist. This contribution to the discussion demonstrated to me: Dublin is on the way to becoming a 'Cyclist City'. And if one looks closely, then everywhere one sees early signs of it. In the city centre it is obvious that more are cycling. The bicycle rental system 'Dublin Bikes'; the first bike couriers; here and there goods bicycles; cycle rickshaws for tourists; cycle patrols by the Gardaí; the trend to high-value and many types of bicycle — all these are signs that cycling in Dublin is increasingly popular.

Much has still to be done with the infrastructure, but that is also true of Berlin. There it was important to make cycle traffic development a permanent part of the overall traffic policy by, amongst others, a unified cycle traffic strategy (the English version is at: www.stadtentwicklung.berlin.de). Dublin can perhaps get inspiration from that — but it has to find its own way. For cycling will become more important — in Dublin and in Berlin. This development needs be offensive, and also accompanied by decisions taken against motor traffic.

Stadtentwicklung Fahrradfahren in Dublin und Berlin

Radfahren in Dublin
Radfahren in Dublin | Foto: GI Irland

Unbekümmert radelte ich 1988 als Student und Tourist durch Irland, ohne viel über das Land zu wissen. Nach 25 Jahren im Juni 2013 wieder nach Irland zu kommen, um in Dublin im Rahmen der National Bike Week etwas über Radverkehrspolitik in Berlin zu erzählen, war eine gleichermaßen ungewöhnliche und ungemein bereichernde Erfahrung. Nun bin ich ein auf Radverkehrsförderung spezialisierter Verkehrsplaner, der Dublin mit ganz anderen Augen sieht.

Berlin und Dublin sind zwei ganz unterschiedliche Metropolen mit ihrer eigenen besonderen Geschichte. Vieles ist kaum vergleichbar, von der Stadtstruktur bis zu bestimmten ökonomischen Rahmenbedingungen. Und doch fühlte ich mich in Dublin, als ich die Stadt zu Fuß und per Rad erkundete, durchaus manches Mal an Berlin erinnert. Die Stadt scheint im Umbruch nach der Finanzkrise – und das zeigt sich auch im Verkehrsgeschehen.

In Berlin findet dieser Umbruch seit etwa 10 Jahren statt. Der Stadtentwicklungsplan Verkehr von 2003 möchte den Autoverkehr in Berlin deutlich reduzieren. Erste Erfolge zeigen sich schon im Verhalten der Bevölkerung. Nur noch gut 30 Prozent aller Wege legen die Berliner mit dem Auto zurück, aber schon fast 15 Prozent mit dem Fahrrad. Das sind 1,5 Millionen Wege per Rad an jedem Tag. Radfahren ist somit Teil eines urbanen Lebensstils geworden und prägt in vielen Teilen der Innenstadt bereits das Stadtbild. Diese Entwicklung hat natürlich mit allgemeinen Trends zu tun. Aber auch das integrierte Handlungskonzept zur Radverkehrsförderung in Berlin hat dazu beigetragen. Abmarkierte Radfahrstreifen auf der Fahrbahn, die Reduzierung des „Stadttempos“ auf 30 Stundenkilometer auf 75% aller Straßen, sogar Hauptstraßen, die gute Verknüpfung von Fahrrad und öffentlichem Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) sind nur einige Beispiele. Doch auch in der „Fahrradstadt Berlin“ ist noch viel zu tun und die Zuwächse beim Radverkehr bringen neue Probleme mit sich, nicht nur regelrechte Staus von Radfahrern, sondern vor allem bei der Verkehrssicherheit und beim Verkehrsklima, wo falsches Verhalten von Radfahrern zu vielen Konflikten und Diskussionen führt. 2012 haben wir dazu eine Kommunikationskampagne gestartet.

Es ist vielleicht kein Zufall, dass genau in den Tagen meines Dublin-Besuchs ein Leitartikel von Fintan O’Toole in der „Irish Times“ sich diesem Thema widmete – falsches Verhalten der Radfahrer in den Straßen von Dublin, dabei allerdings vernachlässigend, dass dies kein Problem allein der Radfahrer ist. Dieser Diskussionsbeitrag zeigt mir: Dublin ist auf dem Weg, eine „Fahrradstadt“ zu werden. Und wenn man genau hinschaut, dann sieht man überall erste Zeichen dafür. In der Innenstadt ist unübersehbar, dass mehr mit dem Rad gefahren wird. Das Fahrradverleihsystem Dublin Bikes, die ersten Fahrradkuriere, hier und da schon Lastenfahrräder, Fahrradrikschas für Touristen, Fahrradstreifen der Gardaí, der Trend zu hochwertigeren und vielfältigeren Fahrradtypen – all das sind Zeichen dafür, dass Radfahren in Dublin dabei ist, populär zu werden.

Bei der Infrastruktur ist noch viel zu tun – aber das gilt auch für Berlin. Dort war es wichtig, dass Radverkehrsförderung fester Bestandteil der übergeordneten Verkehrspolitik ist, unter anderem durch eine eigene Radverkehrsstrategie (auf Englisch zu finden unter www.stadtentwicklung.berlin.de). Davon kann sich Dublin vielleicht inspirieren lassen – es muss aber vor allem seinen eigenen Weg finden. Denn der Radverkehr wird wichtiger werden – in Dublin und in Berlin. Diese Entwicklung muss offensiv begleitet werden, auch durch Entscheidungen gegen den Autoverkehr.