Urban development Bank Architecture in Germany and Ireland

Frankfurt
Frankfurt | Photo: © Getty Images

While a raging discussion concerning banking and monetary policy within Europe continues apace as part of the European Union expansion as a whole, the architecture of its banking institutions, the European Central Bank [ECB], the German Central Bank [Bundesbank], and the Central Bank of Ireland, mirrors the divergent conditions between these bodies and serves to illustrate these growing differences.

Europe’s New Kid on the Block : the ECB Headquarters in Frankfurt am Main

At the heart of the discussion is the ECB, as it controls and influences member States‘ fiscal policy. This powerhouse is currently set to vacate its rented locations in the heart of Frankfurt’s banking district and occupy a new stronghold in Frankfurt’s Ostend, adding a new landmark to the Frankfurt skyline that is visible at great distances. A starting point for the design of the towers was the urban perspective of the city of Frankfurt. At a height of around 185 meters, the double tower, with its polygonal shape and east-west orientation, has a striking profile.

In a recent press interview entitled: ‚Towers are a Sign of Power‘,Wolf D. Prix, founder of Vienna-based architectural practice Coop Himmelb(l)au, described how the European Central Bank had expressed a wish for an iconic building ensemble which would communicate transparency. This transparency is touted by the glass-clad multi-faceted towers’ structure, reaching towards the sky joined by an atrium, also glazed, described by the architect as ‚a vertical city‘. The former market hall on the site has been refurbished and now functions as an ‘urban foyer‘, housing conference and visitor facilities. This is married to the towers by means of an entrance building structure which traverses it, clearly marking the entrance to the ECB.

The Sobriety of the Architecture of the German Bundesbank

The soaring verticality of the new ECB headquarters has been scathingly referred to by critics as a ‘Tower of Babel’ claiming that the ECB is ‘overstepping the mark’ by exceeding its mandate in Europe on fiscal matters. The bold imagery is in stark contrast to the architecture of the Bundesbank (Architects: H.G. Beckert, G.Becker). Its own headquarters in Frankfurt dating from the 1970s, in the ‘International Style’, are sober in tone and grounded through the horizontality of its architecture.

The vastly different language of the two institutions’ buildings is a vivid reflection of the ever widening rift between their ideas for the Euro project. These differences have escalated to such an extent that challenges have been taken by the Bundesbank against ECB policy all the way to the Federal Constitutional Court of Germany.

The Irish Central Bank Dilemma : Proposed Move to Toxic Bank Headquarters

In Ireland the Central Bank is set to vacate its current location at Dame Street in Dublin from its headquarters in one of Dublin’s iconic buildings by architect Sam Stephenson. This highly assertive building with its bold outline is infamous for its brashness and has evoked many passions over the years, ranging from revulsion to admiration. It was constructed in breach of planning permission with an air of defiance during a cruel recession in the 1970s and recently its plaza afforded a camping site to the ‘Occupy’ protestor’s movement.

However, although it ultimately remains a symbol of modern Ireland, the collapse of the banking system within Ireland has emasculated its robust image somewhat in tandem with the Central Bank’s perceived inability to control banks’ practices before, during and after the banking collapse in the country.

The decision by the Central Bank to purchase the partially finished structure of the proposed: ‘Bank that broke Ireland’, Anglo Irish Bank headquarters is a strategy mired in public controversy. Anglo Irish Bank deliberately misled the Central Bank in respect of the enormity of extent of its debts prior to a massive bailout, a mistake which for Irish taxpayers will be forced to continue to pay for many years to come.

Designs for the Anglo Irish Headquarters reflect its bold approach during the heady era of its excesses. The original design of the project was composed of two eight-storey buildings, slightly angular in form, both sporting fully glazed double skin facades. A German glazing company, contracted to construct these facades, was unsuccessful in its court challenge for compensation when, following the collapse of Anglo Irish Bank, the project did not proceed. Sitting at the edge of the Irish Financial Services Centre the unfinished structure has become synonymous with the failure of the Irish financial sector. Planning permission for the new design is a modified version of the original scheme for Anglo Irish Bank by The O’ Toole Partnership Architects.

The Architecture of Retreat in Banks

An award-winning competition by GKMP Architects for the Central Bank’s building following its vacation envisages the establishment of a city school at the premises of the former headquarters. The Anglo Irish Bank building on St. Stephens Green has been vacated, its workforce has retreated into the leafy suburbs. The silvered letters were dismantled and are on display at the Irish Museum of Modern Art.

The once-confident language of the towers of Ulster Bank on Dublin’s George’s Quay no longer bears any relationship to the bank which is shouldered with bad loans and is desperately trying to pursue creditors in high profile cases abroad. Other banks have left the country permanently. Headquarters of the Royal Bank of Scotland which were completed in 2004 by architects RKD on Stephens Green are no longer occupied. The former headquarters of Danske Bank are also for sale, and are likely to follow the fate of former older bank buildings in Dublin city centre and find re-use as commercial outlets.

Graffiti at the ECB and Central Bank HQ

A recent unexpected development in relation to the new ECB towers and the Central Bank of Ireland, is the arrival of graffiti on both sites. In Frankfurt, hoarding at the ECB site has been filled with messages from many artists, including artists from crisis-hit countries like Spain and Greece. Although many of the images are critical, these have been sanctioned by the ECB as part of community projects it is funding. In June the structure of the New Central Bank of Ireland headquarters was daubed in graffiti by trespassers. Slogans included names of politicians with the words ‘Irish Traitor’ beside them.

The challenge facing the architects of banking institutions over the next years in inspiring public confidence remains a significant undertaking and one of considerable architectural ingenuity.

Stadtentwicklung Bankenarchitektur in Irland und Deutschland

Frankfurt
Frankfurt | Foto: © Getty Images

Während eine Debatte über Banken- und Währungspolitik in Europa in Rahmen der Europäischen Union als Ganzes tobt, spiegelt die Architektur der Banken, wie etwa der Europäischen Zentralbank [EZB], der deutschen Bundesbank oder der irischen Zentralbank (Central Bank of Ireland), die unterschiedlichen Bedingungen und die wachsenden Unterschiede zwischen diesen Institutionen.

Europas neues Wahrzeichen: die Zentrale der EZB in Frankfurt am Main

Im Zentrum der Diskussion steht die EZB, die die Fiskalpolitik der Mitgliedstaaten steuert und kontrolliert. Dieser Goliath wird bald seinen gemieteten Standort im Herzen des Frankfurter Bankenviertels räumen und in eine neue Hochburg im Frankfurter Ostend einziehen, die schon jetzt als neues Wahrzeichen der Frankfurter Skyline auch aus großer Entfernung zu sehen ist. Ausgangspunkt für die Gestaltung der Türme war die Perspektive auf die Stadt Frankfurt. Mit einer Höhe von rund 185 Metern hat der Doppelturm mit seiner polygonalen Form und Ost-West-Ausrichtung, ein markantes Profil.

Wolf D. Prix, Gründer des Wiener Architekturbüros Coop Himmelb(l)au, verriet kürzlich in einem Interview unter dem Titel „Türme sind ein Zeichen der Macht“, dass sich die Europäische Zentralbank ein ikonisches Gebäudeensemble gewünscht hatte, das „Transparenz“ kommunizieren sollte. Diese Transparenz wird durch die Glas verkleidete facettenreiche Turmstruktur erzielt. Sie streckt sich dem Himmel entgegen und wird von den Architekten als „vertikale Stadt“ charakterisiert. Die ehemalige Markthalle auf dem Gelände wurde restauriert und dient heute als „urbanes Foyer“. Es beherbergt Konferenzräume und Besuchereinrichtungen. Mit dem Doppelturm ist es durch das Empfangsgebäude verbunden, das es kreuzt und das den Eingang deutlich markiert.

Die Nüchternheit der Architektur der Deutschen Bundesbank

Die aufsteigende Vertikalität der neuen EZB-Zentrale wurde von Kritikern als "Turmbau zu Babel" verhöhnt. Diese Kritiker meinen, dass die EZB ihr Mandat bezüglich der Fiskalpolitik in Europa überschritten habe. Die kühne Metaphorik der EZB steht in krassem Gegensatz zu der Architektur der Deutschen Bundesbank (Architekten: H.G. Beckert, G.Becker). Die Zentrale der Bundesbank in Frankfurt am Main aus den 1970er Jahren, im Internationalen Stil gehalten, ist nüchtern im Ton und geerdet durch die Horizontalität der Architektur.

Die sehr unterschiedlichen Sprachen von EZB und Bundesbank sind ein lebendiges Spiegelbild der immer größer werdenden Kluft bezüglich der Philosophie des Euro-Projekts. Diese Unterschiede sind dermaßen eskaliert, dass die Bundesbank gegen die Politik der EZB vor dem deutschen Bundesverfassungsgericht in Karlsruhe geklagt hat.

Das Dilemma der irischen Zentralbank: Umzug in die Zentrale der „Giftbank“

In Irland wird die Zentralbank aus ihrem aktuellen Hauptsitz an der Dame Street, einem der markantesten Gebäude Dublins, ausziehen. Dieser äußerst selbstbewusste Bau von Sam Stephenson mit seinen kühnen Umrissen ist berüchtigt für seine Keckheit. Von Abscheu bis Bewunderung hat er im Laufe der Jahre unterschiedlichste Reaktionen hervorgerufen. Mitten in der grausamen Rezession der 1970er Jahren wurde diese Zentralbank mit einem Hauch von Trotz unter Umgehung von Bauvorschriften errichtet. Vor Kurzem diente sein Vorplatz den Occupy-Demonstranten als Zeltplatz. Auch wenn dieses Gebäude ein Symbol des modernen Irland bleibt, wurde sein robuster Gestus durch den Zusammenbruch des Bankensystems in gewisser Weise entwertet. Diese Umwertung verlief parallel zur Unfähigkeit der Zentralbank, vor, während und nach dem Zusammenbruch die Geschäftspraktiken der Banken zu kontrollieren.

Die Entscheidung der irischen Zentralbank, die halbfertige Struktur der Anglo Irish Bank zu kaufen, jener Bank, die Irland sozusagen in den Bankrott führte, ist in der Öffentlichkeit höchst umstritten. Die Anglo Irish Bank hatte die irische Zentralbank bei einer massiven Rettungsaktion im Hinblick auf den Umfang ihrer Schulden bewusst getäuscht - ein Fehlverhalten, für das die irischen Steuerzahler viele Jahre lang zahlen werden.

Die Entwürfe für die Zentrale der Anglo Irish Bank spiegeln die kühne Haltung der Bank während des Wirtschaftsbooms. Der ursprüngliche Entwurf besteht aus zwei achtstöckigen Gebäuden, nahezu rechteckig, mit zweischaligen Glasfassaden. Ein deutsches Verglasungsunternehmen war beauftragt worden, diese Fassaden zu konstruieren. Das Unternehmen scheiterte vor Gericht, als es versuchte, eine Entschädigung zu erzielen, nachdem das Projekt wegen des Zusammenbruchs der Anglo Irish Bank gestoppt worden war. Traurig steht das Betonskelett der halbfertigen Struktur am Rande des Irish Financial Services Centre. Es ist zum Synonym für das Scheitern der irischen Finanzwirtschaft geworden. Der genehmigte Entwurf des Architekturbüros The O‘Toole Partnership für die irische Zentralbank ist eine modifizierte Version des ursprünglichen Entwurfs für Anglo Irish Bank.

Architektur des Rückzugs bei den irischen Banken

Ein preisgekrönter Wettbewerbsbeitrag von GKMP Architekten für das Gebäude der Zentralbank an der Dame Street sieht nach dem Auszug die Errichtung einer städtischen Schule vor. Das Gebäude der Anglo Irish Bank an St. Stephen‘s Green wurde geräumt, seine Belegschaft hat sich in die grünen Vororte von Dublin 4 zurückgezogen. Die silbernen Buchstaben des Schildes wurden abmontiert. Man kann sie im Irischen Museum für Moderne Kunst zu besichtigen.

Die einst zuversichtliche Sprache der Türme der Ulster Bank am Dubliner George‘s Quay steht heute in keinem Verhältnis zur wirtschaftlichen Lage dieser Bank. Sie ist durch schlechte Kredite belastet und versucht verzweifelt, die Schuldner durch Aufsehen erregende Gerichtsverhandlungen im Ausland zu verfolgen. Andere Banken haben Irland dauerhaft verlassen. Der von den Architekten RKD 2004 fertiggestellte Hauptsitz der Royal Bank of Scotland am St. Stephen‘s Green steht leer. Der ehemalige Sitz der Danske Bank am College Green steht ebenfalls zum Verkauf. Wahrscheinlich wird er das Schicksal anderer ehemaligen Bankgebäude im Stadtzentrum von Dublin teilen und bald als Filiale einer Geschäftskette genutzt werden.

Graffiti an den Hauptquartieren EZB und Irish Central Bank

Eine neue unerwartete Entwicklung auf den Baustellen der EZB-Türme und der künftigen irischen Zentralbank sind Graffiti. In Frankfurt am Main ist die Umzäunung der EZB-Baustelle mit Malereien vieler Künstlern verziert, auch von Künstler aus krisengeschüttelten Ländern wie Spanien und Griechenland. Viele dieser Bilder sind kritisch. Gleichwohl werden sie von der EZB im Rahmen eines Gemeinschaftsprojekts erlaubt und gefördert. Im Juni wurde der Rohbau der neuen irischen Zentralbank von Unbefugten mit Graffiti bemalt. Slogans enthielten Namen von Politikern und die beiden Worte: „irischer Verräter“.

Architekten von Bankeninstitutionen stehen in den kommenden Jahren vor der Herausforderung, das Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit durch gelungene architektonische Gestaltung zurückzugewinnen.