Traces in other regions Operation Shamrock: post-war relief for German children

An Irish Red Cross promotion for “Operation Shamrock”
An Irish Red Cross promotion for “Operation Shamrock” | Photo: Courtesy of Glencree archives

After the Second World War, Ireland not only provided £12 million in aid to Germany but also took in 500 traumatised children.

The first German children arrived in Ireland on 27 July 1946 and by the end of June 1947, almost 500 children between the ages of 3 and 15 had been hosted in Ireland. Most of them returned to their families two or three years later, but 50 of them stayed on. The “Operation Shamrock” children were first taken to a hostel in Glencree, in the Wicklow Mountains, until a host family was found.

The impetus for “Operation Shamrock” came from the “Save the German Children Society”, which had been founded in the Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin on 16 October 1945. The society aroused the suspicion of the British and Irish authories, however, because some of its members admitted that they were motived as much by anti-British and pro-German sentiment as by altruism.

And so the transport operation was ultimately taken on by the Irish Red Cross, who had already brought some Polish and French children to Ireland. Most of those who came to Ireland via “Operation Shamrock” were from North Rhine-Westphalia, in the British zone of post-war Germany. They were almost all Catholic.

Visitor Information:
Glencree Centre for Peace & Reconciliation
Glencree Enniskerry
County Wicklow
IRELAND

+353 (0)1 282 9711
info@glencree.ie

Spuren in anderen Regionen Hilfe für deutsche Kinder: Operation Shamrock

Werbung des Irischen Roten Kreuzes für „Operation Shamrock“.
Werbung des Irischen Roten Kreuzes für „Operation Shamrock“. | Foto: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Glencree archives

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg hat Irland nicht nur zwölf Millionen Pfund Hilfsgelder zur Verfügung gestellt, sondern auch über 500 notleidende deutsche Kinder aufgenommen.

Die ersten deutschen Kinder kamen am 27. Juli 1946 in Irland an, bis Ende Juni 1947 waren es schon fast 500 zwischen drei und fünfzehn Jahren. Die meisten gingen zwei, drei Jahre später zu ihren Familien nach Deutschland zurück, doch 50 von ihnen blieben. Die erste Station der Kinder, die an dieser „Operation Shamrock“ teilnahmen, war meist Glencree in den Wicklow-Bergen, südlich von Dublin. Hier warteten sie darauf, an Pflegeeltern vermittelt zu werden.

Die „Operation Shamrock“ beruhte auf einer Idee der „Gesellschaft zur Rettung deutscher Kinder“, die am 16. Oktober 1945 im Dubliner Shelbourne Hotel gegründet worden war. Kommentare einiger Mitglieder, dass ihre Unterstützung vor allem auf ihrer pro-deutschen und anti-britischen Einstellung beruhe, führten allerdings dazu, dass die Organisation den offiziellen britischen und irischen Stellen suspekt war.

Man wandte sich daher lieber an das irische Rote Kreuz, das die Transporte organisieren sollte und bereits einige polnische und französische Kinder nach Irland gebracht hatte. Die meisten Kinder, die nach Irland kommen sollten, stammten aus dem britisch besetzten Nordrhein-Westfalen. Sie waren fast alle katholisch.

Besucherinformation:
Glencree Centre for Peace & Reconciliation
Glencree Enniskerry
County Wicklow
IRELAND

+353 (0)1 282 9711
info@glencree.ie