Traces along the Wild Atlantic Way Lola Montez, dancer and king’s mistress

Langs Pub in Grange, in vicinity to Lola Montez’ alleged place of birth.
Langs Pub in Grange, in vicinity to Lola Montez’ alleged place of birth. | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut Irland

Beautiful and frivolous, vain and extravagant, loved and hated, she caused mayhem at a Bavarian king’s court and was the subject of a Max Ophüls film.

Her real name was Eliza Gilbert. Her father, Edward Gilbert, was an officer in the British Army; her mother, Eliza Oliver, was from a landed estate in County Limerick. Young Eliza was born in Grange, County Sligo, on 17 February 1821. Most of her childhood was spent in India or in British boarding schools. At the age of 16 she eloped with a Lieutenant, but they separated a year or so later. It was after this that she learned Spanish dancing and reinvented herself as Lola Montez, the Spanish dancer, performing first in London, then on the Continent. In October 1846 she made her appearance in Munich, where Ludwig I, King of Bavaria and 35 years her senior, made her his mistress, offered her a palace as well as vast sums of money, and gave her the title Countess of Landsfeld.

But when he wanted to give her Bavarian citizenship too, his cabinet resigned in protest. Lola was openly vilified on the streets and fled Bavaria shortly before the revolution of March 1848, which led to Ludwig‘s abdication. Lola headed for Switzerland, then England. But she later fled London too, when faced with bigamy charges. She eventually settled in New York and became a very fervent Christian. She died at the age of 39. The Max Ophüls film Lola Montès premiered in 1955, starring Martine Carol and Peter Ustinov.

Visitor Information:
The house in which Lola Montez was born has not been identified yet, however, it is likely that at its alleged location a more modern private house can be found today – in close vicinity to Langs Pub.

Langs Bar & Restaurant
Grange
Co. Sligo
Ireland

+353 (0)71 916 3105
langsbar1@gmail.com

Spuren entlang des Wild Atlantic Way Lola Montez, die Geliebte des Königs

Langs Pub in Grange, in der Nähe von Lola Montez’ wahrscheinlichem Geburtsort.
Langs Pub in Grange, in der Nähe von Lola Montez’ wahrscheinlichem Geburtsort. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut Irland

Sie war schön und frivol, eitel und verschwenderisch, geliebt und verhasst. Sie brachte einen bayrischen König in Schwierigkeiten und ihr Leben ist von Max Ophüls verfilmt worden.

Eigentlich hieß sie Eliza Gilbert. Ihr Vater Edward Gilbert war britischer Offizier, ihre Mutter Eliza Oliver eine irische Landadelige aus der Grafschaft Limerick. Sie ist am 17. Februar 1821 in Grange, einem Dorf in der Grafschaft Sligo, auf die Welt gekommen. Nach Aufenthalten in Indien und verschiedenen Internaten in England brannte Eliza im Alter von 16 Jahren mit einem Leutnant durch, trennte sich aber schon ein Jahr später von ihm. In den folgenden Jahren lernte sie spanische Tänze, nahm den Künstlernamen Lola Montez an, gab sich als Spanierin aus und begann ihre Karriere als Tänzerin in London. Dann, im Oktober 1846, kam der Auftritt in München. Sie wurde die Geliebte des 35 Jahre älteren Königs Ludwig I., der sie zur Gräfin von Landsfeld machte und ihr ein Palais und erhebliche Geldsummen schenkte.

Als er ihr auch noch die bayrische Staatsbürgerschaft verlieh, trat sein Kabinett aus Protest geschlossen zurück. Von der Bevölkerung auf offener Straße angegriffen floh sie kurz vor der Märzrevolution 1848, die zu Ludwigs Abdankung führte, in die Schweiz und später nach London. Wegen Bigamie angeklagt musste sie erneut aus England fliehen. Sie ließ sich schließlich in New York nieder und wurde zur bekennenden Christin. Im Alter von 39 Jahren starb sie. Max Ophüls drehte „Lola Montez“ 1955 mit Martine Carol und Peter Ustinov.


Besucherinformation: 
Das Geburtshaus von Lola Montez in Grange konnte bislang nicht eindeutig identifiziert werden, es ist jedoch wahrscheinlich, dass sich heute ein Privathaus an jener Stelle befindet – nur einige Häuser von Langs Pub entfernt.

Langs Bar & Restaurant
Grange
Co. Sligo
Ireland

+353 (0)71 916 3105
langsbar1@gmail.com