Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

European Book Club

 
Logo European Book Club harri kuhn (mischen) As difficult as the pandemic makes coming together at cultural events, it is absolutely exciting to see all the new formats emerging during this time. We are very proud to present one of them: The “European Book Club” - presented by the EUNIC partners in Ireland: Instituto Cervantes, Alliance Française and the French Embassy, Instituto Italiano di Cultura as well as Culture Ireland and the Goethe-Institut Dublin - is a series of events that embraces the new virtual solidarity across local borders.

The online event series consists of five parts and will take place from February to June 2021. Each event is organized by one of the partner organizations: It focuses on authors from the respective country who will present their bestselling novel. A moderator accompanies the audience in English through the evening and enters into dialogue with the author. An open Q&A session with the audience closes the event.

The "European Book Club" is supported by the EUNIC (European Union National Institutes for Culture) organisations in Ireland. The purpose of EUNIC is to create a lasting partnership and network between the participating institutions in order to enhance and promote cultural diversity and understanding between European societies, as well as to strengthen international dialogue and cooperation with countries outside Europe.

Logo EUNIC © EUNIC
 

PREVIOUS EVENTS

 

Photo Sandro Veronesi harri kuhn (mischen) Sandro Veronesi

The Instituto Italiano die Cultura hosted the first European Book Club on February 4th, 2021. The author, essayist and journalist Sandro Veronesi presented his book Caos Calmo, which celebrated great success beyond Italy. Also the film version which was shown at the Berlinale became very popular. Together with the English translator of the book Michael Morre he designed an absolutely exciting and inspiring start to the series of events.


Find the video here

Photo Anne Garréta harri kuhn (mischen) Anne Garréta

On March 4, 2021, the Alliance Française and the French Embassy Dublin invited to the European Book Club event with the French writer Anne Garréta. Together with Philippe Imbert, Professor of Comparative Literature and Sex Studies at Dublin City University, she introduced her remarkable debut novel Sphinx - a story about two lovers in the Parisian nightlife without assigning a gender to either of them. The author shared her passion for innovative writing and her role as a feminist in literature: She is one of the few female members of Oulipo - the influential and exclusive French experimental literature group that has set itself the task of designing mathematical and formal structures for literary works.

Find the video here
 

Photo Dörte Hansen Dörte Hansen

Dörte Hansen is a German linguist, journalist and writer. This House Is Mine is her debut novel in which she critically deals with the subject of homeland. Considering the fact that many townspeople move to the countryside, she deals with the construction of an idealized village life. In the European Book Club on 8 April 2021 she took the audience into the life of the main female character, living in Altes Land, a rural area near Hamburg, and gave a glimpse into her own experiences with home and foreign countries. The event was hosted by the Goethe-Institut Ireland and moderated by the Irish author Mia Gallagher.


Find the video here

Photo Andres Barba (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Andrés Barba

Andrés Barba is one of the most important contemporary Spanish writers. He became famous with the novel La Hermana de Katia, which was published in 2001 and generated great resonance, especially in Spain, but also beyond. At the European Book Club on 6 May 2021, which was organised by the Instituto Cervantes, he spoke about his book A Luminous Republic and took the audience with him to a faraway place in Argentina, shimmering with heat: To the town of San Cristobál, a supposedly prosperous and unremarkable place that is then thrown into turmoil by a group of children. Not only writing, but also storytelling is his passion, which could be experienced live at the European Book Club. The renowned literary magazine Granta also described him as one of the best Spanish-language storytellers.

Find the video here

photo anne enright (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Anne Enright

Anne Enright, one of Ireland's most successful and widely read authors, was a guest at the closing event of the European Book Club, hosted by Culture Ireland. Together with Sinéad Mac Aodha, Director of Literature Ireland, she spoke about her book The Green Road: a story about the weight of family ties, about siblings and children - and about landscapes that are home. Along the Green Road, Anne Enright led the audience on 3 June 2021 into an exciting, inspiring story. It was unique to experience the Dublin-based author, winner of numerous book awards and Professor of Creative Writing at University College Dublin, at this event.

Find the video here

 

TO BE CONTINUED...

Based on the successful and inspiring event series in 2021, we are now planning a new series starting in 2022 and are looking forward to sharing more information about the European Book Club 2022 with you here soon.


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

European Book Club

Logo European Book Club harri kuhn (mischen) So schwierig die Pandemie das Zusammenkommen im Rahmen kultureller Veranstaltungen auch macht, ist es doch spannend, welche neuen Formate in dieser Zeit entstehen: So auch der „European Book Club“ - eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die sich die neue virtuelle Verbundenheit über lokale Grenzen hinweg zu eigen macht und außerdem große Freude und Inspiration bringt!

Beteiligt am "European Book Club" sind die EUNIC-Partnerorganisationen in Irland: das Instituto Cervantes, die Alliance Française und die Französische Botschaft, das Instituto Italiano di Cultura sowie Culture Ireland und das Goethe-Institut Dublin. Die fünfteilige Veranstaltungsreihe findet einmal monatlich von Februar bis Juni 2021 online statt. Jede Veranstaltung wird von einer der Partnerorganisationen gestaltet: Im Mittelpunkt stehen europäische Autor*innen, die ihre Bestseller-Romane über die Plattform Zoom vorstellen. Ein*e Moderator*in begleitet das Publikum in englischer Sprache durch den Abend und tritt in Dialog mit dem Autor oder der Autorin. Den Abschluss jeder Veranstaltung bildet eine offene Fragerunde durch das Publikum. 

Der European Book Club wird unterstützt von den EUNIC-Organisationen (European Union National Institutes for Culture) in Irland. Zweck von EUNIC ist es, eine dauerhafte Partnerschaft und Netzwerk zwischen den beteiligten Einrichtungen zu erschaffen, um die Verbesserung und Förderung der kulturellen Vielfalt und die Verständigung zwischen den europäischen Gesellschaften sowie den internationalen Dialog und die Zusammenarbeit mit Ländern außerhalb Europas zu stärken.


Logo EUNIC © EUNIC

WAS BISHER GESCHAH...


Photo Sandro Veronesi (C) harri kuhn (mischen) Sandro Veronesi

Den ersten European Book Club veranstaltete am 04. Februar 2021 das Instituto Italiano die Cultura. Der Autor, Essayist und Journalist Sandro Veronesi präsentierte sein Buch Caos Calmo, welches über Italien hinaus große Erfolge feierte und dessen Verfilmung unter anderem auf der Berlinale gezeigt wurde. Gemeinsam mit dem Übersetzer seines Buches in englische Sprache, Michael Moore, gestaltete er einen spannenden und inspirierenden Auftakt der Veranstaltungsreihe.

Zum Veranstaltungsvideo

Photo Anne Garréta (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Anne Garréta

Am 4. März 2021 luden die Alliance Française und die französische Botschaft Dublin zum European Book Club ein. Zu Gast war die französische Schriftstellerin Anne Garréta. Gemeinsam mit Philippe Imbert, Professor für vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und Sexualstudien an der Dublin City Universität, sprach sie über ihren genderlosen Debütroman Sphinx - eine Geschichte über zwei Liebende im Pariser Nachtleben. Die Autorin erzählte von ihrer Leidenschaft, innovativ zu schreiben und ihrer Rolle als Feministin im Literaturwesen. Sie ist eines der wenigen weiblichen Mitglieder von Oulipo – der einflussreichen und exklusiven französischen Gruppe für experimentelle Literatur, die es sich zur Aufgabe macht, mathematische und formale Strukturen für literarische Werke zu entwerfen.


Zum Veranstaltungsvideo

Photo Dörte Hansen (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Dörte Hansen

Dörte Hansen ist eine deutsche Linguistin, Journalistin und Schriftstellerin. Altes Land ist ihr erster Roman, in welchem sie das Thema Heimat kritisch verarbeitet. In der Entwicklung, dass viele Stadtmenschen auf das Land ziehen, sieht sie die Konstruktion eines idealisierten Dorflebens. Im European Book Club am 08. April 2021 erzählte sie von dieser Beobachtung, nahm das Publikum mit in das Leben der weiblichen Hauptfigur im Alten Land und ließ auch in ihre eigenen Erfahrungen mit Heimat und Fremde blicken. Die Veranstaltung wurde vom Goethe-Institut Irland präsentiert und von der irischen Autorin Mia Gallagher moderiert.

Zum Veranstaltungsvideo

Foto Andres Barba (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Andrés Barba

Andrés Barba ist einer der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen spanischen Schriftsteller. Berühmt wurde er mit dem Roman La Hermana de Katia, welcher 2001 erschien und vor allem in Spanien, aber auch darüber hinaus, große Resonanz hervorbrachte. Im European Book Club am 06. Mai 2021, der vom Instituto Cervantes gestaltet wurde, sprach er über sein Buch A Luminous Republic und nahm das Publikum gedanklich mit an einen vor Hitze flirrenden, fernen Ort in Argentinien: In die Stadt San Cristobál, ein vermeintlich wohlhabender und unauffälliger Ort, der dann von einer Gruppe von Kindern in Aufruhr versetzt wird. Nicht nur das Schreiben, auch das Erzählen ist seine Leidenschaft, das konnte man im European Book Club live erleben. Auch die rennomierte Literaturzeitschrift Granta bezeichnete ihn als einen der besten spanischsprachigen Geschichtenerzähler.

Zum Veranstaltungsvideo

foto anne enright (c) harri kuhn (mischen) Anne Enright

Anne Enright, eine von Irlands erfolgreichsten und meist gelesensten Autorinnen, war zu Gast bei der Abschlussveranstaltung des European Book Clubs, welche von Culture Ireland organisiert wurde. Gemeinsam mit Sinéad Mac Aodha, der Leiterin von Literature Ireland, sprach sie über ihr Buch The Green Road: Eine Geschichte über die Schwere von familiären Beziehungen, über Geschwister und Kinder - und über Landschaften, die Heimat bedeuten. Entlang der grünen Straße führte Anne Enright das Publikum am 03. Juni 2021 in eine spannende, inspirierende Geschichte. Es war einmalig, die in Dublin lebende Autorin, Gewinnerin zahlreicher Buchpreise und Professorin für Kreatives Schreiben am University College Dublin, im Rahmen dieses Events zu erleben. 

Zum Veranstaltungsvideo

 

 

FORTSETZUNG FOLGT...

Inspiriert durch die erfolgreiche und interessante Veranstaltungsreihe in 2021planen wir nun eine neue Saison Anfang 2022. Wir freuen uns bald weitere Informationen zum European Book Club 2022 an dieser Stelle mit Ihnen zu teilen.


 

Top