Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

European Languages and Cultures Programme

Because of the pandemic, the 2020 European Languages and Cultures Programme had to be held online. © Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
Traveling the European continent has never been easier: air connections to the mainland, for example, often cost less than a cab - the goal of the week-long European Languages and Cultures Program is to introduce 10th grade students to the European cultural institutes in the city of Dublin, thus facilitating their access to the cultures and languages of Europe.

Ein Tag im Istituto Italiano di Cultura, Freiraum Dublin 2018 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland To this end, the Trinity Access Programme and the Goethe-Institut Irland collaborate with a number of European Union National Institutes of Culture (EUNIC) to organize several program days for TAP-linked schools. The program is an outgrowth of the Freiraum Project, which was very successfully adopted until 2021 but has now ended.

Each partner institution organizes one day a week, resulting in a varied program. In this way, the students often have the opportunity to discover not only the food, language and literature, but also the theater and cinema of European cultures.
 

What has happened so far ...

In line with COVID19 guidelines, the Goethe-Institut Irland was delighted to host their first-ever completely digitised week of the Freiraum programme "European Languages and Cultures Festival". In co-operation with the Trinity Access Programme (TAP), this event took 80 under-represented Transition Year students on a virtual interrailing tour around Europe from the 16-20 November 2020.

The involvement of various European institutions meant that students experienced different cultures and languages throughout the week. The first stop on their tour was in Germany with the Goethe-Institut Irland, then Spain with Cervantes Dublin, France with Alliance Française Dublin and finally Italy with Istituto Italiano di Cultura. The week's events concluded with a visit to the European Commission and European Movement Ireland. By participating in the festival, the students discovered the advantages of cultural exchanges and foreign language learning.

12.11.2020 Virtual TAP Orientation
As the „European Languages and Cultures“ Programme took place completely in digital format this year, an orientation was held for the students prior to the event. The Freiraum Project was presented by Julie Deering-Kraft from the Goethe-Institut Irland and Daniel McFarlane of the Trinity Access Programme (TAP) and questions regarding how the week would proceed were clarified. Also, the students became acquainted for the first time with their “ambassadors” Peadar, Dove and Klaudia, as well as the interns of the Goethe-Institut's Cultural department, Muireann and Brit, who accompanied them throughout the week.

16.11.2020 A Virtual Day at the Goethe-Institut Irland
The first day of the “European Languages and Cultures Festival 2020” began at 9am for the students with a welcome and introduction to the Goethe-Institut Irland as the head of the institution, Ulrike Gasser, gave a presentation on Germany. This content was then tested in a quiz and the first winners of the Goethe-Institut Irland tote bags were announced. 

After a “walking debate” on the theme of freedom with the ambassadors, the students divided into smaller groups and took part in taster language classes. In these sessions, they learned how to greet someone, introduce themselves and say goodbye in German. Afterwards, the students were sent outside to take pictures of freedom in their immediate vicinity which later would be joined together to create an Insta Gallery. After lunch, everyone watched the short film “Rhinos” and a workshop was held on the topic of “Communication without Language”. As part of this, the students played charades and won other prizes.
The day ended with a live stream from Berlin as the students took part by asking many questions.

17.11.2020 A virtual day at the Instituto Cervantes Dublín
On day two, the students found themselves in Spain as the Instituto Cervantes Dublín hosted a day full of activities. In the morning, the students listened to #EuropeansAgainstCovid19 stories of solidarity, and tummies rumbled as they later discovered Spanish gastronomy. They then had a language class and learned how to introduce themselves in Spanish. After lunch, they became acquainted with Spanish literature, illustration and music. The day wrapped up with a virtual live stream from the city of Salamanca, where the students got to ask lots of questions about the Erasmus programme, university life and the standard of living in Spain.

18.11.2020 A virtual day at the Alliance Française Dublin
The Alliance Française Dublin transported the students to France on the third day. After an informative welcome session and video tour, the students took part in languages classes and prizes were won. These taster classes had a significant purpose as the students were given the language tools to then complete a virtual escape room task in groups. After a busy morning, the students relaxed as they enjoyed a "musical nap", listening to the voices and sounds which fill the streets of Paris. The day concluded with a virtual tour of the city as the students asked questions and learned about the significant monuments dotted throughout the city.

19.11.2020 A virtual day at the Istituto Italiano di Cultura Dublino
On the fourth day, the students travelled to Italy. During a virtual mini-tour, they learned about the Istituto Italiano di Cultura in Dublin and took part in an Italian language taster lesson. The high point of the day was the entertaining pasta workshop with Giuseppe which prompted numerous students to eat pasta for lunch. As well as that, a special live stream took place from Italy as an Italian professor showed off the city of Florence from his balcony due to the lockdown restrictions.

20.11.2020 A virtual day at the European Commission and the European Movement Ireland
The final day of the language and cultural journey through Europe began with a visit to the European Commission. Here, the students acquired lots of information about the EU, its activities, the EU Parliament and multilingualism, as well as career paths. They then went on to the European Movement Ireland which was followed by a Q&A session on Erasmus and living abroad. At the closing ceremony, the Insta-Gallery from Monday was presented.
  
  • Instawalk1 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk2 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk3 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk4 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk5 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk6 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk7 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk8 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk9 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk10 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP


 
This programme was aimed at Transition Year students who are interested in discovering new cultures and art. The language class was aimed at those who had already learnt the language up to Junior Certificate level as well as absolute beginners.

This series of six workshops provided an interactive introduction to different aspects of European cultures and languages. The workshops took place on the second Thursday of the month from October 2019 to March 2020. The students participated in one morning, lunch and afternoon session at each cultural institute. The schedules for these events were as follows:

10.10.2019 A day in Trinity College Dublin
On the first day, the young people were welcomed to Trinity College Dublin and introduced to the Freiraum Project and the European Languages and Cultures Programme. They became familiar with the campus through an Insta-tour and ate lunch in the university's dining hall. During the afternoon, they were advised on their oppertunities with languages at third level. This was directly followed by a German quiz with the TCD Germanic Society. The day concluded with a poster design on the topic of Freiraum and Freedom in Europe.

14.11.2019 A day at the Goethe-Institut Irland, Dublin
The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany and operates worldwide. It promotes international cultural exchange and the study of the German language abroad. The Goethe-Institut sees itself as an institution with a European mission. It stands for a vision of European integration, proposes a common European cultural space based on multicultural diversity and autonomy, and advocates a corresponding set of values that encompasses integration, openness, generosity and justice.

05.12.2019 A day at the Alliance Francaise
The award-winning Alliance Française Dublin is the third largest in Europe and the first in a non-French speaking country. The aim of the Alliance Française in Dublin is to promote French culture and create a space for intercultural exchange between Ireland and the cultures of the French-speaking world. The branch has more than a century of history, but has existed in its current form for almost 60 years.

16.01.2020 A day at the Istituto Italiano di Cultura
The Istituto Italiano di Cultura acts as an image of Italy and a useful source of information about the Italian system. It is the driving force behind a multitude of cultural initiatives and collaborations. It is the fundamental point of reference for the Italian community abroad and the centre of the growing demand for Italian culture around the world. By supporting the work of Italian embassies and consulates, the Istituto Italiano di Cultura network efficiently promotes Italy's image as a centre for the production, preservation and dissemination of culture from the classical period to the present day.

13.02.2020 A day at the Instituto Cervantes
The Cervantes Institute is a worldwide non-profit organisation founded in 1991 by the Spanish government. It is named after Miguel de Cervantes, the author of Don Quixote, perhaps the most important figure in the history of Spanish literature. The Cervantes Institute,which is a government agency, is the largest organisation in the world responsible for promoting the study and teaching of Spanish language and culture. This organisation has established itself in over 44 different countries and 87 centres dedicated to Spanish and Hispanic-American culture and language.

12.03.2020 A day at the European Commission
The European Commission Representation in Ireland is part of the network of Commission Representations in the Member States of the European Union. It is the voice of the Commission in Ireland and aims to communicate EU matters at both national and local level. It sees its main role as explaining how EU policies will affect the people of Ireland, and also providing EU-related information to governments and other authorities and stakeholders in Ireland.
14.02.2019 A day in the European Commission Dublin
10.01.2019 A day in the Instituto Cervantes
13.12.2018 A day in the Istituto Italiano Di Cultura
15.11.2018 A day in the Alliance Française
11.10.2018 A day in the Goethe-Institut Irland
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

European Languages and Cultures Programm

Wegen der Pandemie musste das European Languages and Cultures Programm 2020 online stattfinden. © Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
Den europäischen Kontinent zu bereisen, war noch nie so einfach wie heute: Flugverbindungen zum Festland kosten zum Beispiel oft weniger als ein Taxi - das Ziel des einwöchigen European Languages and Cultures Programme ist es, Schüler und Schülerinnen der 10. Klasse an die europäischen Kulturinstitute in der Stadt Dublin heranzuführen und ihnen so den Zugang zu den Kulturen und Sprachen Europas zu erleichtern.

Ein Tag im Istituto Italiano di Cultura, Freiraum Dublin 2018 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland Dazu arbeiten das Trinity Access Programme und das Goethe-Institut Irland mit einer Reihe von nationalen Kulturinstituten der Europäischen Union (EUNIC) zusammen und organisieren mehrere Programmtage für TAP-gebundenen Schulen. Das Programm ist eine Auskopplung des Freiraum-Projekts, das bis 2021 sehr erfolgreich angenommen wurde, nun aber ausgelaufen ist.

Jede Partnerinstitution organisiert einen Tag in der Woche, sodass ein abwechslungsreiches Programm entsteht. So haben die Schüler*innen oft nicht nur die Möglichkeit, das Essen, die Sprache und die Literatur, sondern auch Theater und Kino der europäischen Kulturen zu entdecken.
 

Was bisher geschah ...

Das Goethe-Institut Irland hat sich gefreut, unter Beachtung der Covid-Maßnahmen, seine erste vollständig digitale Festivalwoche im Rahmen des Freiraum-Programms "European Languages and Cultures" zu veranstalten. In Kooperation mit dem Trinity Access Programme (TAP) nahm diese Veranstaltung, vom 16.-20. November 2020, 80 unterrepräsentierte Schüler*innen im Übergangsjahr auf eine virtuelle Reise durch Europa mit.

Die Beteiligung unterschiedlicher europäischer Institutionen ermöglichte den Schüler*innen den Zugang zu verschiedenen Kulturen und Sprachen im Verlauf der Woche. Der erste Stopp ihrer Reise war in Deutschland mit dem Goethe-Institut Irland, gefolgt von Spanien mit dem Instituto Cervantes Dublìn, Frankreich mit der Alliance Française Dublin, und schließlich Italien mit dem Istituto Italiano di Cultura. Den Schluss bildete ein Besuch der Europäischen Kommission und des European Movement Ireland. Mit ihrer Teilnahme an dem Festival konnten die Schüler*innen die Vorteile von kulturellem Austausch und Fremdsprachenkenntnissen entdecken.

12.11.2020 Virtuelle Orientation im TAP
Da das „European Languages and Cultures“-Programm in diesem Jahr erstmalig komplett digital stattfand, wurde vor Beginn eine Orientation für die Schüler*innen veranstaltet. Dabei wurde das Freiraum-Projekt von Julie Deering-Kraft, Goethe-Institut Irland, und Daniel McFarlane des TAP vorgestellt und Fragen bezüglich des Ablaufs geklärt. Außerdem bekamen die Schüler hier zum ersten Mal ihre „Ambassdors“ Peadar, Dove und Klaudia sowie die Praktikantinnen der Programmabteilung am Goethe-Institut, Muireann und Brit, zu Gesicht, die sie über die Woche hinweg begleitet haben.
 
16.11.2020 Ein virtueller Tag im Goethe-Institut Irland
Der erste Tag des „European Languages and Cultures Festival 2020“ begann für die Schüler*innen um 9:00 Uhr morgens mit der Begrüßung und einer Einführung in das Goethe-Institut sowie der Vorstellung Deutschlands durch die Institutsleiterin Ulrike Gasser, woran sich ein Quiz über die Inhalte anschloss und es bereits erste Gewinner für Jutebeutel des Goethe-Instituts gab.

Nach einer „Walking Debate“ zum Thema Freiheit mit den Ambassadors, haben die Schüler*innen in kleineren Gruppen an Schnupperkursen teilgenommen und dabei gelernt, wie man sich auf Deutsch begrüßt, vorstellt und verabschiedet. Im Anschluss wurden die Schüler nach draußen geschickt, um bei sich zu Hause in der unmittelbaren Umgebung Bilder über Freiheit zu machen, und so später eine gemeinsame Insta-Gallerie zu erstellen. Nach der Mittagspause wurde gemeinsam der Kurzfilm „Rhinos“ angeschaut, und ein Workshop zum Thema „Kommunikation ohne Sprache“ durchgeführt, bei welchem die Schüler*innen unter anderem Scharade gespielt haben und weitere Preise gewinnen konnten. Als Tagesabschluss fand ein Live-Stream aus Berlin statt, an dem die Schüler sich mit vielen Fragen beteiligt haben.
 
17.11.2020 Ein virtueller Tag im Instituto Cervantes Dublín
Am zweiten Tag ging es mit dem Instituto Cervantes Dublín für die Schüler*innen nach Spanien. Vormittags sahen und hörten die Schüler*innen Geschichten über die #EuropeansAgainstCovid19-Bewegung. Außerdem haben viele Mägen geknurrt, als es später um die spanische Gastronomie ging. Anschließend besuchten sie einen virtuellen Sprachkurs und erfuhren sie wie man sich auf Spanisch vorstellt. Nach dem Mittagessen folgte ein Workshop zu spanischer Literatur, Illustration und Musik. Der Tag endete mit einem Live-Stream aus der Stadt Salamanca, wobei die Schüler*innen vielen Fragen über das Erasmus-Programm, sowie das Universitäts- und Alltagsleben stellten.
 
18.11.2020 Ein virtueller Tag in der Alliance Française Dublin
Die Alliance Française Dublin brachte die Studenten am dritten Tag nach Frankreich. Nach einer informativen Begrüßung und Video-Tour durch die Institution, nahmen die Studenten an Sprachkursen teil, wo Preise gewonnen werden konnten. In diese Schnupperkursen wurden die Schüler*innen ebenfalls auf den darauf folgenden Escape Room vorbereitet, den sie in Gruppen lösen sollten. Nach einem vollen Vormittag entspannten die Studenten beim „Musical Nap“. Sie hörten den Klängen und Stimmen zu, die die Straßen von Paris füllen. Der Tag endete
mit einem virtuellen Rundgang durch Paris, bei dem sie die bedeutsamen Denkmäler kennenlernten, die überall in der Stadt verteilt sind.
 
19.11.2020 Ein virtueller Tag im Istituto Italiano di Cultura Dublino
Am vierten Tag ging es für die Schüler*innen nach Italien. Sie lernten in einer virtuellen Mini-Tour das lokale Istituto Italiano di Cultura kennen und nahmen an einer Schnupperstunde Italienisch teil. Der Höhepunkt des Tages war der unterhaltsame Pasta-Workshop mit Giuseppe, der zahlreiche Schüler*innen dazu veranlasst hat, zum Mittag Pasta zu essen. Außerdem fand ein Livestream der besonderen Art nach Italien statt, in dem ein italienischer Professor aufgrund des Lockdowns von seinem Balkon aus Florenz vorgestellt hat.
 
20.11.2020 Ein virtueller Tag in der Europäischen Kommission und dem European Movement Ireland
Der abschließende Tag der sprachlichen und kulturellen Reise durch Europa begann mit einem Besuch bei der Europäischen Kommission, wo die Schüler*innen viele Informationen über die EU, deren Aktivitäten, das EU-Parlament und Mehrsprachigkeit sowie Karrierewege erlangen konnten. Anschließend ging es weiter zum European Movement Ireland, woran sich eine Q&A-Runde über Erasmus und Auslandsaufenthalte anschloss. Bei der Abschlusszeremonie wurde die Insta-Gallerie mit den Freiheits-Bildern von Montag präsentiert.
 
  • Instawalk1 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk2 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk3 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk4 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk5 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk6 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk7 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk8 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk9 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
  • Instawalk10 (C) Goethe-Institut Irland, TAP
Dieses Programm richtete sich an Schüler*innen der 10. Klasse, die daran interessiert sind, neue Kulturen und Künste zu entdecken. Der Sprachunterricht richtete sich sowohl an diejenigen, die die Sprache bereits bis zum Niveau Junior Cert. gelernt haben, als auch an absolute Anfänger.

Die Reihe von sechs Workshops bot eine interaktive Einführung in verschiedene Aspekte der europäischen Kulturen und Sprachen. Die Workshops fanden am zweiten Donnerstag im Monat von Oktober 2019 bis März 2020 statt. Die Schüler*innen nahmen dabei an einer Vormittagssitzung, einem Mittagessen und einer Nachmittagssitzung an jedem Kulturinstitut teil. Die Termine für diese Veranstaltungen waren wie folgt:

10.10.2019 Ein Tag im Trinity College Dublin
Am ersten Tag wurden die Jugendlichen im Trinity College Dublin begrüßt und in das Freiraum-Projekt und in European Languages and Cultures eingeführt. Mit einer Insta-Tour haben sie den Campus kennengelernt und in der Dining Hall des Colleges zu Mittag gegessen. Während des Nachmittag wurden ihnen ihre Möglichkeiten zu Sprachen im third level erläutert, was direkt von einem Deutschquiz mit der TCD Germanic Society gefolgt und anschließend von einer Plakatgestaltung zum Thema Freiraum und Freiheit in Europa beschlossen wurde.

14.11.2019 Ein Tag im Goethe-Institut Irland, Dublin
Das Goethe-Institut ist das Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und weltweit tätig. Es fördert den internationalen Kulturaustausch und das Studium der deutschen Sprache im Ausland. Das Goethe-Institut versteht sich als eine Institution mit einer europäischen Mission. Es steht für eine Vision der europäischen Integration, schlägt einen gemeinsamen europäischen Kulturraum vor, der auf multikultureller Vielfalt und Autonomie beruht, und setzt sich für ein entsprechendes Wertegefüge ein, das Integration, Offenheit, Großzügigkeit und Gerechtigkeit umfasst.

05.12.2019 Ein Tag in der Alliance Francaise
Die preisgekrönte Alliance Française Dublin ist das drittgrößte in Europa und das erste in einem nicht französischsprachigen Land. Ziel des Alliance Française in Dublin ist es, die französische Kultur zu fördern und einen Raum für den interkulturellen Austausch zwischen Irland und den Kulturen der französischsprachigen Welt zu schaffen. Die Branche hat mehr als ein Jahrhundert Geschichte, existiert aber in ihrer heutigen Form seit fast 60 Jahren.

16.01.2020 Ein Tag im Istituto Italiano di Cultura
Das Istituto Italiano di Cultura fungiert als Bild Italiens und als nützliche Informationsquelle über das italienische System. Sie ist die treibende Kraft hinter einer Vielzahl von kulturellen Initiativen und Kooperationen. Es ist der grundlegende Bezugspunkt für die italienische Gemeinschaft im Ausland und Zentrum der wachsenden Nachfrage nach italienischer Kultur auf der ganzen Welt. Durch die Unterstützung der Arbeit der italienischen Botschaften und Konsulate fördert das Netzwerk Istituto Italiano di Cultura effizient das Image Italiens als Zentrum der Produktion, Erhaltung und Verbreitung von Kultur von der Klassik bis zur Gegenwart.

13.02.2020 Ein Tag im Instituto Cervantes
Das Cervantes-Institut ist eine weltweite gemeinnützige Organisation, die 1991 von der spanischen Regierung gegründet wurde. Es ist nach Miguel de Cervantes benannt, dem Autor von Don Quijote, der vielleicht wichtigsten Figur in der Geschichte der spanischen Literatur. Das Cervantes-Institut, eine Regierungsbehörde, ist die größte Organisation der Welt, die für die Förderung des Studiums und des Unterrichts der spanischen Sprache und Kultur zuständig ist. Diese Organisation hat sich in über 44 verschiedenen Ländern etabliert und 87 Zentren, die sich der spanischen und hispanisch-amerikanischen Kultur und Sprache widmen.

12.03.2020 Ein Tag in der Europäischen Kommission
Die Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Irland ist Teil des Netzes von Vertretungen der Kommission in den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union. Es ist die Stimme der Kommission in Irland und zielt darauf ab, EU-Angelegenheiten sowohl auf nationaler als auch auf lokaler Ebene zu kommunizieren. Es versteht es als ihre Hauptaufgabe zu erklären, wie sich die EU-Politik auf die Menschen in Irland auswirken wird, und auch EU-bezogene Informationen für Regierungen und andere Behörden und Interessengruppen in Irland bereitzustellen.
14.02.2019 Ein Tag in der Europäischen Kommission Dublin
10.01.2019 Ein Tag im Instituto Cervantes
13.12.2018 Ein Tag im Istituto Italiano Di Cultura
15.11.2018 Ein Tag in der Alliance Française
11.10.2018 Ein Tag im Goethe-Institut
Top