GDI German Debating Competition 2019/20


Gewinner © Aidan Oliver Photography In 2019/20, the German Debating Competition will take place for the 24th time now and we would like to cordially invite all Irish Secondary Schools to participate in this competition. You can register until the 13th of September 2019. The first round will end on the 11st of October. The grand finale will take place in Dublin in mid-May 2020.

Participating in the debating competition is a fantastic way to motivate students and to improve their communicative skills aside from day-to-day conversations. Furthermore, taking part in the debating competition makes an ideal project for Transition Year students.

In 2018/19, there were 39 schools from all over the country participating in the competition. The winning team 2019 came from Cistercian College Roscrea (see picture above, Manus, Sean, Jack und Lorcan) the team from Scoil Mhuire Trim, came second.
 
Initiated by the Goethe Institute Ireland and the GDI, the German Debating Competition is kindly sponsored by Siemens Ireland for many years.
 
And this is how it goes:

  • Step 1:                    
    Register until Friday, the 13th of September 2019 (see below)
  • Step 2:                      
    We pair all participating schools/teams.
  • Step 3:                      
    You will get a thesis and the information whether your team is pro or contra. Moreover, you will receive a list of addresses of referees, directions for the referees and a list of useful phrases.   
  • Step 4:                  
    Let the debating begin!

GDI Debattierwettbewerb in deutscher Sprache 2019/20

Gewinner © Aidan Oliver Photography Der Debattierwettbewerb in deutscher Sprache findet 2019/20 zum 24. Mal statt und wir laden alle Sekundarschulen herzlich ein, daran teilzunehmen. Die Anmeldung ist bis zum 13. September 2019 möglich. Die erste Runde läuft bis zum 11. Oktober. Das große Finale findet Mitte Mai 2020 in Dublin statt.

Die Teilnahme am Debattierwettbewerb ist eine fantastische Möglichkeit, die Schüler*innen zu motivieren und ihre sprachlichen Leistungen vor allem im mündlichen Ausdruck spürbar zu verbessern. Darüber hinaus ist eine Teilnahme am Debattierwettbewerb auch sehr gut als Projekt im Rahmen des Transition Year möglich.

Der Wettbewerb ist mittlerweile ein fester Bestandteil der irlandweiten außerschulischen Angebote in deutscher Sprache geworden. 2018/19 haben 39 Schulen aus dem ganzen Land teilgenommen. Die Gewinner kamen vom Cistercian College Roscrea (siehe Bild oben, Manus, Sean, Jack und Lorcan) zweitplatziert war die Mannschaft von Scoil Mhuire Trim.

Der Debattierwettbewerb wird vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit der GDI organisiert und freundlicherweise seit vielen Jahren von Siemens Irland gesponsert.
Und so wird’s gemacht:

  • 1. Schritt:              
    Anmelden bis Freitag, 13. September 2019 (siehe unten)
  • 2. Schritt:     
    Wir suchen eine Partnerschule für Ihr Team.
  • 3. Schritt:              
    Sie bekommen eine These und wir sagen Ihnen, ob Ihr Team pro oder contra ist. Außerdem erhalten Sie eine Liste mit Schiedsrichteradressen, Hinweise für die Schiedsrichter und eine Liste mit Redemitteln.
4. Schritt:              
  • Die Debatte kann stattfinden!