The International German Language Olympics 2020

Language Competition for Transition Year/5th Year Students!

As we prepare for the next Internationale Deutscholympiade, congratulations to Dervla and Daragh who have been chosen to represent Ireland this year! The world’s biggest German language contest will be held this time round from 3–7 August in an innovative virtual online format. This year’s motto is "Be there! – The IDO comes to you." More than 120 second-level students from over 60 countries will be meeting up online for this year’s finals.

After being hosted in Berlin (2016) and Freiburg (2018), the IDO 2020 will be held for the first time in digital format featuring the city of Dresden as this year’s virtual host.

GIF IDO2020 © Goethe-Institut

How were our two Irish finalists chosen?

In Ireland we invited all students in Transition Year and 5th Year to send us a written/digital presentation in German on the topic: ‘My favourite town/city in Germany is…’ We were thrilled to receive beautiful pieces from over 120 candidates. The jury really struggled to pick 16 finalists to take part in the national online finals on April 25, 2020. It was through this process that Dervla and Daragh became our two Irish representatives!

This year’s IDO motto is “BE THERE! – The IDO comes to you.” What can this year’s participants look forward to?

The participants will be virtual guests in Dresden for five days. The winners of the qualifying rounds will be competing there to rank among the world’s top three German learners at three different levels of proficiency. But the IDO isn’t just about language skills: it’s also about intercultural and interpersonal skills, about the ability to work in an international team, not forgetting the challenge of working with others living in different timezones! It will even be possible for family, friends and teaching staff to become spectators! More details to follow. ****

The participants can look forward to lively workshops, getting to know Dresden through exchanging online with other young people and well-known personalities from Dresden, virtual tours, a rich cultural programme and the Olympic ideals of living together in a peaceful and fair world and appreciating the rich diversity of world cultures.

What prizes will be on offer?

The prizes at this year’s IDO are trips to Germany, including German courses at the Goethe-Institut in Dresden after the Corona Pandemic, expected in 2021.

#IDO2020

#DigitalDabei

#DabeiSein

Internationale Deutscholympiade 2020

Sprachwettbewerb für Schüler!

Bald geht’s los! Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Dervla und Daragh, die im August 2020 Irland beim weltweiten Finale der IDO im Digitalformat repräsentieren werden!

Der neue Zeitraum für den internationalen größten Wettbewerb der deutschen Sprache IDO 2020 wurde vom 03. bis 07. August im Digitalformat unter dem Motto ‘DABEI SEIN! – Die IDO kommt zu dir’ festgelegt. Über 120 Schüler*innen aus über 60 Ländern treffen sich in diesem Jahr digital zum Finale. Nach Berlin (2016) und Freiburg (2018) wird die IDO 2020 zum ersten Mal als innovatives Digitalformat mit Dresden-Bezug stattfinden.

GIF IDO2020 © Goethe-Institut

Wie wurden die beiden Finalist*innen ausgewählt?

In Irland haben wir alle Schüler*innen im Transition Year und im 5. Jahrgang eingeladen, uns eine schriftliche /digitale Präsentation auf Deutsch zu schicken. Das Thema war folgendes : Meine Lieblingsstadt in Deutschland ist… ! Nach der Anmeldung von 120 Kandidat*innen ergatterten 16 Finalist*innen einen Platz in der Onlinerunde der nationalen Deutschlolympiade, die am 25. April 2020 stattfand. Hierbei wurden Dervla und Daragh erfolgreich!

Was erwartet die Teilnehmer*innen bei der IDO unter dem Motto: DABEI SEIN! – Die IDO kommt zu dir?

Fünf Tage werden die Teilnehmer*innen im digitalen Raum in Dresden zu Gast sein. Dort wetteifern die besten Deutschlerner*innen der Qualifikationsrunden um die ersten drei Plätze der Weltbesten in drei Niveaustufen. Dabei sind nicht nur sprachliche, sondern auch interkulturelle Kompetenzen und die Fähigkeit, in internationalen Teams zu arbeiten, gefragt. Das Programm bietet einen innovativen Wettbewerb, ermöglicht das gemeinsame arbeiten und interagieren in verschiedenen Zeitzonen und wird zeitzonenübergreifende Live-Formate bieten, an denen auch Familie, Freunde, Lehrkräfte und Bekannte teilnehmen können. In unserem nächsten Update erfahren Sie weitere Details dazu. ****

Die Teilnehmer*innen erwarten lebendige Workshops, das Kennenlernen Dresdens anhand innovativer Austauschformate, virtuelle Besichtigungen, ein anreicherndes Kulturprogramm und der olympische Gedanke des friedlichen Zusammenlebens, des fairen Miteinanders und des Reichtums der verschiedenen Kulturen in der Welt.

Was kann man gewinnen?

Zu gewinnen gibt es Reisen nach Deutschland inklusive Sprachkursen am Goethe-Institut in Dresden nach der Corona-Pandemie, voraussichtlich im Jahr 2021.

#IDO2020

#DigitalDabei

#DabeiSein