Film Screening and Mulled Wine Reception German Christmas Movie @ Brooks Hotel: THE FLYING CLASSROOM (1954)

Christstollen Fotocredit: Getty Images Dalmatin

Wed, 07.12.2016

Brooks Hotel

62 Drury Street
Dublin 2

Get in the Christmas mood and join us at Brooks Hotel this December for a special screening of “Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer”. There are snowball fights, kidnappings, cakes, a parachute jump, a mysterious man called 'No-Smoking' who lives in a railway carriage and a play about a flying classroom.

This is the first of three film adaptations of the famous children’s book The Flying Classroom (German: Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer) by the German writer Erich Kästner written in 1933.
The story covers the last few days of term before Christmas in a boarding school.

As the Christmas holidays draw near, Martin and his friends - nervous Uli, cynical Sebastian, Johnny, who was rescued by a sea captain, and Matthias, who is always hungry (particularly after a meal) - are preparing for the end-of-term festivities. But there are surprises, sadness and trouble on the way - and a secret that changes everything.

The Flying Classroom is a magical, thrilling and bittersweet story about friendship, fun and being brave when you are at your most scared.

Erich Kästner, writer, poet and journalist, was born in Dresden in 1899. His first children's book, Emil and the Detectives, was published in 1929 and has since sold millions of copies around the world and been translated into around 60 languages. After the Nazis took power in Germany, Kästner's books were burnt and he was excluded from the writers' guild. He won many awards, including the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Award in 1960. He died in 1974.
Kästner not only wrote the screenplay to the movie, he also appeared in the movie as himself and is the narrator in the film. 

Booking via Eventbrite

Back

Filmvorführung und Glühwein-Empfang Weihnachtsfilm @ Brooks Hotel: “Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer” (1954)

Christstollen Fotocredit: Getty Images Dalmatin

Mi, 07.12.2016

18:45 Uhr - 21:00 Uhr

Brooks Hotel

Weihnachtsfilme machen gute Laune! Glühwein auch! Das Goethe-Institut Irland lädt wie auch im letzten Jahr wieder zum Glühweinempfang und anschließendem Weihnachtsfilm im Kino des Brooks Hotel ein. Der Film bietet Schneeballschlachten, Entführungen, Kuchen, einen Fallschirmsprung, eine mysteriöse Figur genannt „Der Nichtraucher“ und ein Theaterstück mit dem Namen „Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer“.

Dies ist die erste von insgesamt drei Verfilmungen des berühmten Kinderbuches „Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer“ (1933) von Erich Kästner.
Die Geschichte spielt an den letzten Tagen vor den Weihnachtsferien in einem Internat. Weihnachten rückt näher und näher, Martin und seine Freunde – der nervöse Uli, der abgeklärte Sebastian, Johnny, der von einem Kapitän gerettet wurde, und Matthias, der immer Hunger hat – bereiten die Festivitäten für das Semesterende vor. Aber es gibt Überraschungen, traurige und aufregende Ereignisse – und ein Geheimnis, das alles verändern wird.

„Das Fliegende Klassenzimmer“ ist eine zauberhafte, spannende und bittersüße Geschichte über Freundschaft, Spaß und Mut haben, wenn man am meisten Angst hat.

Erich Kästner – Schriftsteller, Dichter und Journalist – wurde 1899 in Dresden geboren. Sein erstes Kinderbuch „Emil und die Detektive“ wurde 1929 veröffentlicht, war weltweit erfolgreich und wurde in bis zu 60 Sprachen übersetzt. Nach der Machtübernahme der Nazis wurden seine Bücher verbrannt und er wurde aus dem Schriftstellerverband ausgeschlossen. Er gewann viele Preise, unter anderem den Christian Andersen Preis (1960). Erich Kästner starb 1974.

Kästner schrieb nicht nur das Drehbuch für den Film, er trat auch als er selbst im Film auf und fungierte als Erzähler. 

Anmeldung auf Eventbrite
 

Zurück