Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Alice Boner International Residency Programme© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Call for Applications
Alice Boner International Residency Programme

The Alice Boner International Residency at Varanasi invites applications to stay and work at the Alice Boner Institute (ABI) for eight weeks, to incubate ongoing research or undertake new artwork/or project whilst connecting with the local art and culture scene. The call for 2022 is now closed and shall be re-published in 2023.


About the Programme

The Alice Boner Institute is located at Assi Ghat on the banks of the river Ganga in Varanasi, India. An old house with heritage architecture, this institute was once the home of the Swiss artist and scholar Alice  Boner from 1935 to 1978. Today it offers residencies for writers, artists and scholars who wish to live and work in Varanasi for a length of time.

Dr. Alice Boner (1889-1981) settled in Varanasi, India and came to be known as one of the outstanding scholars and interpreters of Indian sculpture and temple architecture. Her research led her not only to the significant discovery of the principles of composition in Indian sculpture, but also to a search for the meaning of its content. For her pioneering research on Indian art, Alice Boner was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Zürich in 1969 and the Padma Bhushan by the President of India in 1974.
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach. We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programmes encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centres, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centres, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for almost seventy years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.
International residencies are residencies for curators, art managers, and researchers from Germany. The Alice Boner International Residency at Varanasi offers the opportunity to live and work at the Alice Boner Institute (ABI) for eight weeks, to incubate ongoing research or undertake new artwork/or project whilst connecting with the local art and culture scene. Varanasi is considered to be one of the oldest cities of the world. It faces massive challenges in the field of waste and water management, traffic and infrastructure. The necessity to modernize is in contrast with the task of the preservation of cultural heritage.

Facilities at ABI

The resident artist will have one floor in the small villa at her/his disposal. The accommodation comprises a bedroom and study with an attached shower and toilet. The rooms are equipped with ceiling fans and air conditioners, shelves for books/clothes, and Wi-Fi. The consumption of alcohol on the premises is not allowed. The language of communication is English and Hindi. Other residents are accommodated on two other floors.

The ground floor also includes the Director’s office and rooms for institute employees (manager, security guards, cook, etc.).

The interior of the Institute can also host intimate exhibitions, while a modest venue on the terrace can be used for short performances and screenings.

Please note: The building is an old construction, therefore the house is not suitable for children or disabled persons (very steep steps). Residents with a history of dust/lung allergies, or asthma should take necessary precautions as air pollution levels are severe.
 

Application Requirements

You can apply with any art or research project from fields including, but not limited to, visual arts, literature, performing arts, design, cultural heritage, urbanism, and cultural theory. The project should be relevant within the Indian and international contexts, be clear, realistic, and well-planned.
You are not required to finish the project during the residency, but you will have to present the work to the local art community, Alice Boner Institute and Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan.

The format of the presentation is entirely up to you in discussion with the Alice Boner Institute. It can be an artist talk, presentation, performance, etc. The Alice Boner Institute will help you with the organizational task.
You will spend two months at the Alice Boner Institute:
1 September – 31 October 2022
OR
1 November – 31 December 2022
  • Travel cost: return tickets and travel to Varanasi (economy class)
  • Accommodation
  • Health insurance
  • Daily allowance of 26 EUR for the duration of the residency, payable in Rupees on arrival
  • The cost of materials will be covered on a case-by-case basis and will be up to a maximum of 500 EUR per resident
This call for proposals is directed at individuals for whom the engagement with India is central to their creative work, academic research or planned projects.
  • Independent and institutional art managers working with artist-run spaces as well as visual, performing, media, and cross cultural art
  • Independent and institutional art curators
  • Art researchers
  • Artists
  • Other professionals in the sphere of art
Our ideal candidate:
  • Works in the sphere of culture.
  • Has an idea for a project in fields including, but not limited to, visual arts, literature, performing arts, design, cultural heritage, urbanism, and cultural theory.
  • Is 18 or above.
  • Is a German national or has been based in Germany for the last three years.
  • Is fully vaccinated against Covid-19.
  • Is familiar with India and its general overview
  • Please provide the following documents: Application form
  • CV in PDF format (two pages maximum)
  • Portfolio (10 pages maximum)
  • Supporting letter from a university, professional or institution in the field of culture
  • Copy of the first page of your passport
  • Proof of full COVID-vaccination
Applications must be in English only. Applications in other languages cannot be considered.
Your application will go through two stages of assessment. First, your application will be reviewed technically to confirm that it was submitted on time, includes answers to all questions on the application form and has the mandatory attachments.

If it is compliant a jury, constituted by Alice Boner Institute, Goethe-Institut and an independent juror, will choose two residents in total.
  • Motivation
  • Professional relevance
  • Project
  • Sustainability
  • Your application will go through an assessment by the jury. This process will take 4-5 weeks.
  • You will receive the results of the assessment via email.
  • If your application is successful, we will conclude a participation agreement.
  • Between September and December, you will spend two months in Varanasi

Important Dates

  • Application Deadline: 1 June 2022
  • Application Evaluation: 30 June 2022
  • Announcement of Results: 1 July 2022
  • Residency: September - December 2022


Contact

All questions related to the Alice Boner International Residency Programme must be addressed to both the following emails: Harsha Vinay directorabiv@gmail.com and Farah Batool  farah.batool@goethe.de.

The subject line of the email must read ‘Alice Boner International Residency Programme.’

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Alice Boner International Residency Programme© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Alice Boner International Residency Programme

Die Alice Boner International Residency in Varanasi lädt Sie ein, acht Wochen lang am Alice Boner Institute (ABI) zu leben und zu arbeiten, um laufende Projekte voranzutreiben oder neue Projekte zu entwickeln und dabei in die örtliche Kunst- und Kulturszene einzutauchen. Die Ausschreibung für 2022 ist nun abgeschlossen und wird 2023 erneut veröffentlicht.


Über das Programm

Das Alice Boner Institute liegt am Ufer des Ganges, in der heiligen indischen Stadt Varanasi. Das historische Gebäude war von 1935 bis 1978 das Wohnhaus der schweizerischen Künstlerin und Gelehrten Alice Boner. Heute bietet das dort ansässige Institut Residenzen für Autor*innen, Künstler*innen und Akademiker*innen, die eine Zeit lang in Varanasi leben und arbeiten möchten.

Alice Boner (1889-1981) erlangte in Varanasi Bekanntheit als eine der herausragenden Expertinnen für indische Bildhauerei und Tempelarchitektur. Ihre Forschung galt den kompositorischen Prinzipien indischer Bildhauerei ebenso wie der Interpretation ihrer Inhalte. Für ihre Verdienste um die indische Kunst wurden Alice Boner 1969 die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Zürich sowie 1974 der indische Zivilorden Padma Bhushan verliehen.
Das Goethe-Institut ist das Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit globalem Auftrag. Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland sowie die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Informationen zum kulturellen, sozialen und politischen Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme regen den interkulturellen Dialog an und befähigen zur kulturellen Teilhabe. Sie unterstützen die Entwicklung zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen sowie die weltweite Mobilität.
                                                       
Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturvereinen, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit fast 70 Jahren für viele Menschen in aller Welt der erste Berührungspunkt mit Deutschland. Unsere langfristigen Partnerschaften mit führenden Institutionen und Individuen in mehr als 90 Ländern schaffen dauerhaftes Vertrauen. Wir sind Anlaufstelle für alle, die sich mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur auseinandersetzen wollen, arbeiten dabei eigenständig und sind politisch unabhängig.
Das internationale Residenzprogramm richtet sich an Kurator*innen,  Kunstmanager*innen und Forscher*innen aus Deutschland. Die Alice Boner International Residency in Varanasi ermöglicht es ihnen, acht Wochen lang am Alice Boner Institute (ABI) zu leben und zu arbeiten, um laufende Projekte voranzutreiben oder neue Projekte zu entwickeln und dabei in die örtliche Kunst- und Kulturszene einzutauchen. Varanasi gilt als eine der ältesten Städte der Welt. Sie sieht sich großen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen der Müllentsorgung, Wasserwirtschaft, Verkehrsplanung und Infrastruktur gegenüber, wobei die notwendige Modernisierung im Kontrast steht zu dem Bestreben, ihr kulturelles Erbe zu erhalten.

Unterbringung am ABI

Zur Unterbringung steht ein Stockwerk der kleinen Villa zur Verfügung. Die Unterkunft besteht aus einem Schlaf- und einem Arbeitszimmer mit angeschlossener Dusche und Toilette. Die Räume sind mit Deckenventilatoren und Klimaanlage ausgestattet, Regale für Bücher und Kleidung sowie WLAN sind vorhanden. Der Konsum von Alkohol ist auf dem Anwesen nicht gestattet. Die Kommunikationssprachen sind Englisch und Hindi. Andere Stipendiat*innen sind auf zwei weiteren Stockwerken untergebracht.

Im Erdgeschoss befinden sich das Büro des Direktors und Räumlichkeiten für Angestellte.
In den Räumen des Instituts können kleinere Ausstellungen und auf der Terrasse Performances oder Filmvorführungen stattfinden.

Bitte beachten Sie: Das historische Gebäude ist aufgrund sehr steiler Treppen nicht für Kinder oder Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen geeignet. Stipendiat*innen mit Stauballergien, Atemwegserkrankungen oder Asthma sollten notwendige Vorkehrungen treffen, da die Luftverschmutzung gravierend ist.
 

Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen

Sie können sich mit jedem Kunst- oder Forschungsprojekt aus den Bereichen bildende Kunst, Literatur, darstellende Kunst, Design, Kulturerbe, Stadtforschung, Kulturwissenschaft oder ähnlichen bewerben. Das Projekt sollte im indischen sowie im internationalen Kontext Relevanz besitzen, klar konzipiert, realistisch und gut ausgearbeitet sein.
Sie müssen das Projekt nicht während Ihrer Residenz abschließen, es ist jedoch gefordert, dass Sie Ihr Projekt vor der örtlichen Kunstgemeinde, am Alice Boner Institute und am Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan präsentieren.

Die Form der Präsentation bleibt Ihnen überlassen, in Abstimmung mit dem Alice Boner Institute. Es kann sich um ein Künstlergespräch, einen Vortrag, eine Vorführung oder Ähnliches handeln. Das Alice Boner Institute hilft Ihnen bei der organisatorischen Umsetzung.
Sie verbringen zwei Monate am Alice Boner Institute:
1. September - 31. Oktober 2022
oder         
1. November - 31.Dezember 2022
  • Reisekosten: Hin- und Rückreiseticket nach Varanasi (Economyklasse)
  • Unterbringung
  • Krankenversicherung
  • Verpflegungspauschale von € 26 pro Tag für die Dauer der Residenz, ausgezahlt in Rupien bei Ankunft
  • Die Erstattung von Materialkosten wird im Einzelfall entschieden und beträgt maximal € 500 pro Person
Diese Ausschreibung richtet sich an Personen, für die die Auseinandersetzung mit Indien eine zentrale Stellung in ihrer kreativen Arbeit, ihrer akademischen Forschung oder ihrem geplanten Projekt einnimmt.
  • Unabhängige oder institutionelle Kunstmanager*innen, die im Bereich Projekträume, bildende oder darstellende Kunst, Medien und interkulturelle Kunst arbeiten
  • Unabhängige oder institutionelle Kunstkurator*innen
  • Kunstwissenschaftler*innen
  • Künstler*innen
  • Andere im Kunstbereich tätige Personen
Die/der ideale Kandidat*in:
  • arbeitet im Kulturbereich.
  • verfolgt ein Projekt in den Bereichen bildende Kunst, Literatur, darstellende Kunst, Design, Kulturerbe, Stadtforschung, Kulturwissenschaften oder ähnlichen.
  • ist mindestens 18 Jahre alt.
  • besitzt die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft oder lebt seit mindestens drei Jahren in Deutschland.
  • ist vollständig gegen Covid-19 geimpft.
  • ist mit Indien und den dortigen Begebenheiten vertraut.
  • Bewerbungsformular
  • Lebenslauf im PDF-Format (höchstens zwei Seiten)
  • Portfolio (höchstens 10 Seiten)
  • Empfehlungsschreiben einer Universität, Einzelperson oder Institution aus dem Kulturbereich
  • Kopie der ersten Passseite
  • Nachweis der vollständigen Covid-Impfung
Bewerbungen werden ausschließlich in englischer Sprache entgegengenommen.
Zunächst wird überprüft, ob Ihre Bewerbung termingerecht eingereicht wurde und alle auf dem Bewerbungsformular geforderten Angaben sowie die nötigen Anlagen enthält.

Aus allen vollständigen Bewerbungen sucht eine Jury aus Mitarbeiter*innen des Alice Boner Institute und des Goethe-Instituts sowie einem unabhängigen Jurymitglied zwei Personen für die Teilnahme aus.
  • Motivation
  • Berufliche Relevanz
  • Projekt
  • Umsetzbarkeit
  • Ihre Bewerbung wird durch eine Jury bewertet. Dieser Vorgang wird 4-5 Wochen in Anspruch nehmen.
  • Die Entscheidung der Jury wird Ihnen per Email mitgeteilt.
  • Sollte Ihre Bewerbung Erfolg haben, wird eine Teilnahmevereinbarung abgeschlossen.
  • Zwischen September und Dezember 2002 verbringen Sie zwei Monate in Varanasi.

Wichtige Daten

  • Bewerbungsschluss: 1. Juni 2022
  • Auswahlverfahren: 30. Juni 2022
  • Bekanntgabe der Auswahl: 1. Juli 2022
  • Residenz: September - Dezember 2022


Kontakt

Richten Sie Fragen zum Alice Boner International Residency Programme an die beiden folgenden Email-Adressen: Harsha Vinay directorabiv@gmail.com and Farah Batool  farah.batool@goethe.de.

Geben Sie als Betreffzeile an: „Alice Boner International Residency Programme.“
 

Top