Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Migration – Emigration – Fleeing

Never before have so many people been forced to leave their homes. Millions are on the run and in search of a safe place to stay. They're trying to escape war and conflicts. In addition to that, there are those who are forced to flee because of ecological crises, poverty, exploitation and helplessness. While all media reports about countries debating the acceptance of refugees, they seem to neglect one of the largest refugee crises and migration movements of recent history.

Children of war© pixabay.com
Rohingya Woman © UN Women/Allison Joyce

"Refugees Worldwide"
Rohingya-Women report

The Rohingya are “the Worlds’ Most Persecuted Minority,” according to the U.N. Till date an estimated 140,000 Rohingyas have been displaced from Myanmar. Some found second-class residency in Malaysia, Thailand Bangladesh and India. Different factors  have brought close to 36,000 Rohingyas Muslims to India. These are the stories of Rohingya women who continue to survive the complexities of the  sectarian divide in South Asia.

Refugee march Hungary © Joachim Seidler | Wikimedia Commons

On the run
A debate

While we have over many years witnessed the worsening situation of refugees on Europe’s borders, since summer 2015 we have come to realize how severe, how serious, how tragic the situation has actually become, and the true scope of the problem of refugees entering Europe has assumed. This situation raises some essential questions – what are the problems and consequences being faced by these Central European nations incessantly flooded by an influx of humanity? How wide ranging is the migration? For how long and for whom should the European nations open their borders?
Indian journalist Aman Sethi and German journalist Georg Diez explore these issues and attempt to answer some of the questions by way of an exchange.
 

Logo Inherited memories © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Forgotten and Recalled
My Parents' World

As the world is now gripped with the Syrian refugee crisis and debates rage on their acceptance in various countries in Europe, it may be the right time to look back into some of the biggest refugee crises and human migration in recent history. The debates centre mostly around the broader theme of what impact the refugees would have if they are allowed to settle in a particular society.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Migration – Emigration – Flucht

Noch nie waren so viele Menschen gezwungen, ihr Zuhause zu verlassen. Millionen sind auf der Flucht für ein sicheres Zuhause. Sie fliehen vor Krieg, Konflikten und Verfolgung. Dazu kommen jene, die aufgrund ökologischer Krisen, Armut, Ausbeutung und Chancenlosigkeit zur Migration gezwungen sind. Während Europa über die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen in den verschiedenen Ländern debattiert, scheint eine der größten Flüchtlingskrisen und Migrationsbewegungen in der jüngeren Geschichte von den internationalen Medien vergessen.

Kinder des Krieges© pixabay.com
Rohingya-Frau © UN Women/Allison Joyce

"Refugees Worldwide"
Rohingya-Frauen erzählen

Die Rohingya sind laut der UN „die am meisten verfolgte Minderheit der Welt“. Bis jetzt wurden schätzungsweise 140.000 Rohingya aus Myanmar vertrieben. Einige fanden vorübergehend Zuflucht in Malaysia, Thailand, Bangladesch oder Indien. Fast 36.000 Rohingya hat es nach Indien getrieben. Dies sind Geschichten von Rohingya-Frauen, die mit ihrem unerschütterlichen Lebenswillen den verheerenden Folgen der konfessionellen Spaltung in Südasien trotzen.

Flüchtlinge auf dem Weg nach Ungarn © Joachim Seidler | Wikimedia Commons

Auf der Flucht
Eine Debatte

Seit Jahren lesen wir über die sich verschlimmernde Situation an Europas Außengrenzen. Doch im Sommer 2015 wurde wohl allen klar, welche Dimensionen das Thema Flüchtlinge tatsächlich birgt. Was tun angesichts der Probleme, die der gewaltige Strom an Menschen in Richtung Europa mit sich bringt? Wie weit, für wen und für wie lange sollen die europäischen Nationen ihre Grenzen öffnen? Darüber debattieren an dieser Stelle der indische Journalist Aman Sethi und der deutsche Journalist Georg Diez.
 

Logo Inherited memories © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Erinnern und Vergessen
Meiner Eltern Welt

Während die weltweite Aufmerksamkeit gegenwärtig der syrischen Flüchtlingskrise gilt und den Debatten über die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen in den verschiedenen europäischen Ländern, scheint dies auch der richtige Moment zu sein, auf eine der größten Flüchtlingskrisen und Migrationsbewegungen in der jüngeren Geschichte zurückzublicken. 

Top